PDA

View Full Version : OT: WZC affecting WPA but not WEP??



aubuti
2006-04-21, 09:02
Okay, apologies up front because this is really a wireless question, and not a SqueezeBox question. But my google searches so far haven't yielded the answer, and I figure some of you know the answer.

My home network has been running solidly, albeit insecurely, with WEP for a few years. I didn't go to WPA because of an old laptop that's still running Win2K, and being too cheap to buy supplicant software. Now that I've learned there's free software (from McAfee) that will let me run WPA-PSK, I decided to switch the wireless security to WPA (2 XP laptops, 1 Win2K laptop, and one wireless SB3). The wireless router is a Netgear WGR614v3, with the latest firmware.

Almost as soon as I switched to WPA, I started getting dropped connections on the 2 XP laptops. They would usually reconnect after a fashion, but it was bad enough to be a real pain. I didn't notice the SB3 or the Win2K laptop having problems, although I wasn't paying a lot of attention to them, either. Reading up it seems that XP's Wireless Zero Configuration (WZC) is to blame for a lot of this kind of connection problem. And that would be a good explanation since it seems that only the XP boxes were affected.

But what is not clear to me is why WZC has not been a problem with WEP. Does WZC come into play (if you let it) only with WPA and not with WEP?

This weekend I'll try turning off WZC, but I'd appreciate any insights from the gang here. Thanks.

Michaelwagner
2006-04-21, 14:46
What service pack are you running? SP1's implementation of wireless config leaves a lot to be desired ... fixed (mostly) in SP2

Michaelwagner
2006-04-21, 14:59
Does WZC come into play (if you let it) only with WPA and not with WEP?
No, I use WZC with 801.11b cards, which can only run WEP.

aubuti
2006-04-21, 18:36
What service pack are you running? SP1's implementation of wireless config leaves a lot to be desired ... fixed (mostly) in SP2

Thanks for the reply. The XP laptops are both SP2. So I'll keep experimenting to figure out why switching to WPA made things so unstable.

aubuti
2006-12-10, 21:37
Just in case this helps anyone else who has a similar problem and does a search in these forums.... I had been hiding my SSID, and recently read somewhere that hiding the SSID could sometimes cause problems with WPA. I can't see the logic there, but I gave it a whirl and voila, suddenly my WPA seems stable (knock wood). Go figure.