PDA

View Full Version : Problems with WinXP Firewall???



hifisteve
2006-04-18, 00:09
Morning all.

As per usual I'm in need of help again...

I made the (foolish?) decision to rebuild up my PC recently, including a load of mirrored RAID storage for all my music.

That cause me nearly 2 weeks of keyboard-chewing frustration in trying to get all the new bits to play nicely with each other and Windoze XP, but yesterday all finally seemed well until I re-installed Slimserver....

In short my SB3 can't connect to my PC (although it connected to the wireless network perfectly) and on my PC the system tray just says 'starting Slimserver'

I've read both the SB manual and several threads here but none seem to offer any answers.

The fault seems to lie with the Windoze firewall (XP Pro, SP2 with all the trimming) as before I 'improved' my PC I was using Zonelabs security suite and it was fine.

For various boring reasons I'd like to stick with the XP firewall and I wondered if anyone ever worked out how to get it to cooperate with Slimserver.

Incidentally, under the exceptions tab in the firewall setting, the 3 specific Slimserver ports already seemed to have been configured automatically but it still is working...

mherger
2006-04-18, 02:04
> In short my SB3 can't connect to my PC (although it connected to the
> wireless network perfectly) and on my PC the system tray just says
> 'starting Slimserver'

Reinstall SlimServer - this should fix this problem.

> Incidentally, under the exceptions tab in the firewall setting, the 3
> specific Slimserver ports already seemed to have been configured
> automatically but it still is working...

You mean "is _not_ working"? Could you please give us the usual
information about your system: SlimServer version, network configuration
etc. Can you access SqueezeNetwork?

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------
Help translate SlimServer by using the
SlimString Translation Helper (http://www.herger.net/slim/)

hifisteve
2006-04-18, 03:21
Hi Michael,

Thanks for replying.

Right then, (hopefully) relevant info:

Latest version (i.e. 'official' release not Beta) straight from the SD site, version 6.2.1 I believe.

Not exactly sure what you want to know about the network set-up but here goes:

Belkin wireless route and PCI LAN card (also Belkin), WEP encrypted with dynamic IP address thingy, working on channel 6 (to avoid interference from other nearby networks). I'm NOT using windows to manage network settings because the Belkin utility manages to not randomly drop the connection.

I've got no other firewall software installed apart from XP's own and I use current AVG anti-virus software.

Internet access is fine and yes, my SB can access the Squeeze Network OK which is why I assume the XP firewall is to blame.

Haven't tried the uninstall/reinstall of Slimserver yet but this was a fresh download and install in the first place so would it still help?

Cheers

Siduhe
2006-04-18, 03:35
One other thing (non-Firewall related) to check is that you don't have any of the Security settings enabled in the Slimserver web interface.

Server Settings / Security / Incoming Connections set to Do Not Block.

This caught me out once on reinstalling slimserver and setting up a new PC.

mherger
2006-04-18, 04:05
> Not exactly sure what you want to know about the network set-up but
> here goes:

I was thinking about IP configuration: "ipconfig /all" from a command
window, and Settings on the player.

> Internet access is fine and yes, my SB can access the Squeeze Network
> OK which is why I assume the XP firewall is to blame.

This is good to know. Can you verify you're not connecting to your
neighbour's network? This would allow for SQN, but not access to your
local server.

> Haven't tried the uninstall/reinstall of Slimserver yet but this was a
> fresh download and install in the first place so would it still help?

Yes. There have been many reports of slimserver "starting" forever, where
a simple reinstall would fix the issue.

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------
Help translate SlimServer by using the
SlimString Translation Helper (http://www.herger.net/slim/)

hifisteve
2006-04-18, 04:33
>I was thinking about IP configuration: "ipconfig /all" from a command window, and Settings on the player.

Ah right. Don't know and can't check as I'm at work at the mo' Certainly have changed it from whatever the default setting is.

>This is good to know. Can you verify you're not connecting to your neighbour's network? This would allow for SQN, but not access to your local server.

No it's defo mine because it's showing my network name.

>Yes. There have been many reports of slimserver "starting" forever, where
a simple reinstall would fix the issue.

OK I'll give that a try when I get home and let you know