PDA

View Full Version : Volume from SqueezeBox through Tabletob system



tharrison
2006-04-11, 20:46
I installed a SqueezeBox in my kitchen, RCA connectors from the box to my Bose Wave Radio RCA connectors.

When the Bose volume is set to a "normal" level for radio or CD listening, the SqueezeBox volume needs to be set nearly to the maximum to get the same volume level. SlimServer volume is also set to the maximum.

This is not a big deal, but it does limit the usefulness of the volume control on the remote. Sure I could turn up the volume on the Bose, but then if I switched to radio, it would be too loud.

Any thoughts?

Tom

Michaelwagner
2006-04-11, 21:21
Which squeezebox?

As I recall, the SB1s were a bit quiet, but I thought that was fixed in the 2s and 3s.

Kevin O. Lepard
2006-04-11, 21:39
>I installed a SqueezeBox in my kitchen, RCA connectors from the box to
>my Bose Wave Radio RCA connectors.

This is my set up in my Den (SB2 to Bose Acoustic Wave via RCA
cables). I've used it with both a SB1 and SB2. I didn't have this
problem.

Recall, however, that there are at least 2 places you can change the
volume for the SB. One is using the remote (goes up to 40), and the
other is in the web interface (goes to 11). I have both turned all
the way up and control the volume on the Bose. I don't have to
change it much when I switch sources.

You might make sure yours is turned up both places.

I've always thought it was a bad idea to have two different places
with two different scales for controlling the output, but obviously
others--including the designers--disagree. Not all that big a deal,
but potentially confusing to be sure.

Anyway, I suggest you check that and see what happens.

HTH

Kevin
--
Kevin O. Lepard

Happiness is being 100% Microsoft free.

radish
2006-04-11, 21:55
Recall, however, that there are at least 2 places you can change the
volume for the SB. One is using the remote (goes up to 40), and the
other is in the web interface (goes to 11).

They're controlling the same thing, turn one up the other goes up too.



I've always thought it was a bad idea to have two different places
with two different scales for controlling the output,

Well, yes, it would be.

To answer the original poster, think of it this way. If you plugged a regular CD player into your box it would be the "correct" volume, right? That's full line level, so the SB can only be that or quieter (you can't get louder than max). When your SB is at max volume (40) it's equivalent to a regular CD player.

So you should choose which remote to use (SB or Bose) and set accordingly. In your case, set the SB to max and just use the Bose to adjust volume.

tharrison
2006-04-11, 23:17
Which squeezebox?

As I recall, the SB1s were a bit quiet, but I thought that was fixed in the 2s and 3s.
Not sure which version squeezebox, but it arrived new from SlimDevices this week, so I assume the latest :-)

Thanks --

Tom

Michaelwagner
2006-04-12, 05:29
If you got it from Slim this week, it's a 3.

See Radish's explanation for what maximum volume is and what it means - he explained it better than I can.

tharrison
2006-04-12, 19:28
If you plugged a regular CD player into your box it would be the "correct" volume, right? That's full line level, so the SB can only be that or quieter (you can't get louder than max). When your SB is at max volume (40) it's equivalent to a regular CD player.

Radish -- I am the original poster, and I believe you identify the problem correctly. However, my situation is that sound from the SquezeBox at full volume is quieter than sound from the radio or CD player built into the Bose all other things being the same. To wit:

Example 1:
* Tune radio and set Bose volume to "50".
* Connect SqueezeBox to Bose via RCA cables
* Start SqueezeBox, set volume to max and play a song
* Press "Aux" on Bose to switch to SB, then FM to switch back to radio.
--> Sound from SqueezeBox is softer than radio

Example 2:
* Tune radio and set Bose volume to "50".
* Connect iPod dock to Bose via RCA cables, and plug in iPod
* Start iPod and play a song (same mp3 as in example 1)
* Press "Aux" on Bose to switch to iPod, then FM to switch back to radio.
--> Sound from iPod is same level as the radio

So something is either a) attenuating the signal from the SB, or b) amplifying the signal from the iPod. I don't believe it's the latter.

One other note: when I first tried this experiment, I plugged the mini-jack that I normally use for the iPod into the headphone output of the SB, and sound was considerably lower. Going from RCA-to-RCA improved things, but there is still a difference.

Is there anything I can do to increase the signal from the SB to the Bose?

Thanks --

Tom

radish
2006-04-12, 21:11
One thing would be to make sure you don't have replaygain switched on. Where did your rips come from? Are they the same rips the iPod is playing?