PDA

View Full Version : For people who use the COMPOSER tag...



axiomatic
2006-04-01, 22:18
I've posted a bugzilla request for an enhancement to SlimServer, and if you use the COMPOSER tag, you may well want to vote for it.

Bug 3229: Add COMPOSER to "Title format" choices
http://bugs.slimdevices.com/show_bug.cgi?id=3229

I've asked that COMPOSER data be added to the information displayed for the track that is playing. (This display is controlled in the "Title format" section of Home/Server Settings/Formatting.)

If you select music from a disc of Beethoven piano sonatas, you can see what you're listening to. But if you select a recital with music by various composers, you'd better know the composers in advance or be willing to scroll down throught the track data to find out; ditto for random or shuffle modes.

Please vote! This would be an excellent enhancement for classical music fans.

ceejay
2006-04-02, 00:59
Hi

Actually this capability is already there, its just not referred to in the blurb. You can use the keyword COMPOSER in a title format string and Slimserver will happily use it in both the web interface and the standard UI.

So the request should probably be "add COMPOSER to the blurb so we know we can use it"

In testing this, however, I ran into what looks like a different issue, which if confirmed would be a real bug. Using Softsqueeze (tho I expect it would be the same for a real player) to select Song Title Format, I should be able to select any of the formats defined in the web form: however I seem to be getting just four to choose from - apparently a random four. To get my "COMPOSER" test case to come up I had to delete several formats until the one I wanted became one of the lucky ones.

I am using 6.2.2 5549

If you are interested in the use of COMPOSER, you might also want to look at my enhancement requests http://bugs.slimdevices.com/show_bug.cgi?id=2698 http://bugs.slimdevices.com/show_bug.cgi?id=2699 http://bugs.slimdevices.com/show_bug.cgi?id=2701

Ceejay

axiomatic
2006-04-02, 11:53
Thanks ceejay. I guess I should have been more enterprising and just tried adding COMPOSER!

I did vote for your bugs. Obviously "classical" music fans share a lot of the same frustrations in a TITLE/ARTIST/ALBUM world, and I hope others will make the (tiny) effort to vote for your suggestions too.

You're right: the "Title format" management seems buggy. I had a heck of a time getting my SB3 to find the format I added. I finally resorted to supplying the same value 4 times:
TRACKNUM. TITLE (ARTIST) COMPOSER - ALBUM
And now "Settings>Song Title Format" on my SB3 displays this value on two lines and blanks on the next three lines.

But the good news is that COMPOSER now displays for every track that has the tag.