PDA

View Full Version : Replay Gain seriously screwed up!



ezkcdude
2006-03-26, 16:39
I just analyzed and adjusted the replay gain in my entire library using MP3Gain. I assumed that the gain info could be disabled, but it clearly changes the gain even when the option for Replay gain is disabled in SlimServer. Has anyone else had this problem? Is this a bug I should report, or am I doing something wrong here?

Robin Bowes
2006-03-26, 17:17
ezkcdude wrote:
> I just analyzed and adjusted the replay gain in my entire library using
> MP3Gain. I assumed that the gain info could be disabled, but it clearly
> changes the gain even when the option for Replay gain is disabled in
> SlimServer. Has anyone else had this problem? Is this a bug I should
> report, or am I doing something wrong here?

MP3Gain <> Replaygain

I'm not sure that slimserver supports MP3Gain tags.

I'd check it out AS I've had a feature request to add mp3gain support to
my apply_replaygain script, but it appears to be windows-only (I'm on
linux).

R.

Ben Sandee
2006-03-26, 17:34
On 3/26/06, ezkcdude <ezkcdude.25aw4n1143416401 (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com>
wrote:
>
>
> I just analyzed and adjusted the replay gain in my entire library using
> MP3Gain. I assumed that the gain info could be disabled, but it clearly
> changes the gain even when the option for Replay gain is disabled in
> SlimServer. Has anyone else had this problem? Is this a bug I should
> report, or am I doing something wrong here?


As Robin said, MP3Gain is not replaygain. When you apply MP3gain you are
trying to do a similar thing to replaygain but the volume of the MP3 file is
directly changed so that the MP3 player itself doesn't need to know anything
about the 'gain' adjustments. You can't blame SlimServer for this -- it's
just how mp3gain is.

Ben

ezkcdude
2006-03-26, 17:52
On 3/26/06, ezkcdude <ezkcdude.25aw4n1143416401 (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com>
wrote:
>
>
> I just analyzed and adjusted the replay gain in my entire library using
> MP3Gain. I assumed that the gain info could be disabled, but it clearly
> changes the gain even when the option for Replay gain is disabled in
> SlimServer. Has anyone else had this problem? Is this a bug I should
> report, or am I doing something wrong here?


As Robin said, MP3Gain is not replaygain. When you apply MP3gain you are
trying to do a similar thing to replaygain but the volume of the MP3 file is
directly changed so that the MP3 player itself doesn't need to know anything
about the 'gain' adjustments. You can't blame SlimServer for this -- it's
just how mp3gain is.

Ben

Thanks, I just realized it, and now realize it was a HUGE freakin' mistake to use it. I'm afraid I've irreversibly screwed up my library.

Mark Lanctot
2006-03-26, 18:48
Thanks, I just realized it, and now realize it was a HUGE freakin' mistake to use it. I'm afraid I've irreversibly screwed up my library.

No, the changes can be undone. Load the files and select Modify Gain - Undo Gain changes.

To do this in a more flexible way for SlimServer, select Track Analysis or Album Analysis, do not select Apply Track Gain or Apply Album Gain. That way SlimServer will perform the adjustment, not MP3Gain. It does work, all my MP3s analyzed this way show volume adjustment data in SlimServer.

ezkcdude
2006-03-26, 19:08
Thanks, Mark! I will try this.