PDA

View Full Version : SB2 = dead



MagicK
2006-03-26, 08:11
Hi all,

I bought my SB2 in october last year. Installed it and it worked excellent..... for 5 months. And now it's dead :-(

I've tried some things, new batteries, shut down power for some time, even checked if there was anything loose (http://www.seanadams.com/loose_cpu/) within the SB. But nothing worked. Any ideas ? Or do I have to return my box to the USA ?

Please help, because I'm missing this great device !

Thnx,
MagicK

ceejay
2006-03-26, 08:15
Some things to confirm...

- when you say its dead, is that because there's nothing on the display (think how embarassing it would be if you had the brightness down to zero...)?

- have you checked that there is some voltage on the end of the power supply? Do you have another power block of the same spec you could try?

- always worth trying email to the support desk (which this forum isn't!!)

- and if they can't help you fix it then you may indeed need to send it back to whereever you bought it from (this is a reason for buying locally, but you probably don't want to know that just now!)

Good luck

Ceejay

MagicK
2006-03-26, 08:32
Hi Ceejay,
Thanks for your quick reply. Here are some confirms:

- when you say its dead...
no display, no player found by Slimserver (also after restart), no reaction on any button of the remote (incl. brightness :-))

- have you checked voltage
The box get's some warmth, so I gues there is power. Unfortunatelly I don't have another block to test with

- try email to the support desk
ok I will sent them the same question.

- and if they can't help you fix it then you may indeed need to send it back to whereever you bought it from (this is a reason for buying locally, but you probably don't want to know that just now!)

Thnx for that, but it was a little hard to buy one locally in Holland :-(

jaap114
2006-03-26, 12:12
In the Netherlands the devices is sold by mcintoys (http://www.macintoys.nl/artikelen/audio/squeezebox3.php).

I don't know where you bought the devices but you also could contact them for repair information.

I bought 2 devices from them with no problems at all.

snarlydwarf
2006-03-26, 14:14
- have you checked voltage
The box get's some warmth, so I gues there is power. Unfortunatelly I don't have another block to test with


It's not very high power, so you should be able to safely do my usual electric test: lick the 5v end of the cable. You should get a nice tingly on your tongue.

It may hurt slightly so keep it short.

tass
2006-03-26, 19:26
I'd be careful with the tongue test. The PSU is 2 amps isn't it?

Voltage doesn't hurt... current does

snarlydwarf
2006-03-26, 19:40
Voltage hurts, current kills :)

(10k volts from a car spark coil won't kill you... but.. ow. 12v from the car battery, though, with a ton of amps behind it, will kill you.)

Jacob Potter
2006-03-26, 20:07
On 3/26/06, snarlydwarf
<snarlydwarf.25b4oz1143427501 (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com> wrote:
> Voltage hurts, current kills :)
>
> (10k volts from a car spark coil won't kill you... but.. ow. 12v from
> the car battery, though, with a ton of amps behind it, will kill you.)

E = IR: It's not just a good idea, it's the law!

Wirrunna
2006-03-26, 20:17
Its the volts that jolts,
the mills that kills !

was how it was tought in Oz.

Michaelwagner
2006-03-26, 22:03
Wouldn't a voltmeter be a better solution?
And it would spare me from all this poetry :-)

One could wish for a power good Led on the circuit board, but there doesn't seem to be one.

On my Sb1s and SB3s, there's a red light coming from the digital port (it's covered with a little flap). That kinda qualifies as a power-good light. Is yours lit? (I assume the SB2 has one -- I don't have an SB2).

MagicK
2006-03-28, 09:37
Thnx for all the advice. At least I know the difference between current and voltage now ;-)

Unfortunately there is no led on the SB2 (at least I didn't find it). Maybe it's time to look for a voltmeter.

Anyone knows if there is some sort of systemreset possible for SB2 ?

Lucky that I still have my cd's....

karthik
2006-04-06, 16:57
I bought my sbabout 3-4 months back and it's been great. I had a power outage a couple of days back, and the sb's been pretty much dead since then (same symptoms as descibed in previous posts). I did have the sb connected to a very good surge protector and none of my other, more expensive components on the surge protector were affected by this.

I spoke to tech. support, who was very helpful. Made me try a few "idiot" steps, but was very polite. Finally gave up and suggested that I send in an RMA request. Hopefully, I'll get my new sb soon...I've gotten so used to this wonderful device, it sucks not to have it.

One thing the tech. support guy had me try that I hadn't already: Hold down the + button (Add button) and see if that does anything.