PDA

View Full Version : Budget SlimServer Hardware

kkitts
2006-03-22, 12:09
Hi All,
Like many people, I generally just post to the forum when I have a question. But I thought that, for a change, I'd drop a short note about a success I had building a "budget" slimserver box. Actually, my goal was not the absolute cheapest possible - because while the slimserver is the only full time process currently running I may use it for some other minor purposes in the future.

I selected a Short Form Factor computer by Shuttle - the SK21G. It has video, audio and ethernet all built-in for $179.00 at newegg and other places. Just add memory, CPU, disk and a DVD for software installation and you are all set. I added 512M, a "budget" sempron 3000 and an inexpensive Asus DVD player. I splurged and spent $119.00 on a 320G Western Digital HD (Model # WD3200JD) because I'd seen a review that said it was very quiet. I'm a bit of novice at building computers - but the directions from shuttle were very straightforward.

Using the shuttle it is possible to disable the check for keyboard in the bios (hit del on boot to get into the bios). Therefore, there are only 2 connections that go into this box - power and ethernet. One thing that really astounds me - the box is virtually silent. I always kept servers in a wiring closet at my house out of habit - but this box could really be placed anywhere.