PDA

View Full Version : Slimserver starts on one computer, not the second



rocket j squirrel
2006-03-18, 10:31
I've downloaded and installed Slimserver (version number? How do you find the version number?). Anyway, this version was downloaded three days ago, if that's any help.

I used the same installer on two laptops in my house. Both Win XP, SP2, latest updates, same browser (Firefox) on both, same firewalls. Slimserver installed fine on both with no complaints, and punched the same openings through both firewalls.

On laptop #1, Slimserver starts fine, and fires up the web browser interface. On Laptop #2, Slimserver "sticks" at "starting Slimserver," no browser interface launches.

-- Rocket J Squirrel

dean
2006-03-18, 10:53
Dear Mr. Squirrel,

On Mar 18, 2006, at 9:31 AM, rocket j squirrel wrote:
> On laptop #1, Slimserver starts fine, and fires up the web browser
> interface. On Laptop #2, Slimserver "sticks" at "starting Slimserver,"
> no browser interface launches.
Try running the installer again on the failing machine. There's an
issue on some machines where the first time the installer is run, it
doesn't start the service properly. Anything else that's different
about the machines that might be a clue about why they behave
differently? Speed? Memory?

rocket j squirrel
2006-03-18, 14:31
Hi, thanks. The two machines are not the same brand, one being a Fujitsu laptop (Slimserver runs), the second being a little travel laptop from PC Club. Both Wintel, both with lots of memory, and plenty fast. I will re-install slimserver and see if that helps.

But one BIG difference between the two machines is that the browser on the one that slimserver is having a problem starting on cannot access http://localhost:9000, while the okay one can. Same browsers on both machines (Firefox, current release). I disabled the problem machine's firewall, and no change - still no access to localost:9000. I'm sitting here trying to figure out what its problem is. I can ping the squeezebox just fine from the problem machine.

- rocket J squirrel

rocket j squirrel
2006-03-18, 14:36
Hey -- that was it: needed to run the slimserver install proggie again. Now it works as advertised. Many thanks for the tip!

-- rocket j squirrel

Michaelwagner
2006-03-18, 17:36
Dear Mr. Squirrel:

I'm not sure what it is you're trying to do, and maybe with them both being laptops this makes sense, but I hope you do realize that one instance of the server can run both (actually many more) squeezeboxes.

Michaelwagner
2006-03-18, 17:40
I've downloaded and installed Slimserver (version number? How do you find the version number?).
From the web user interface, go to server options (left pane), then bottom of the resulting page.
From the player itself, with the remote,
get to squeezebox home (easiest way is left from Now Playing)
settings/Information/Server Information/Version is the first item up.

rocket j squirrel
2006-03-18, 18:39
Oh ho -- there it is! Lurking at the bottom of the page, as described. Thanks!

PS -- My dad's name is "Mr. Squirrel." I'm just Rocky.

-- rocket j squirrel

Michaelwagner
2006-03-18, 19:01
Did you have any delivery problems with the SB there in Frostbite Falls? According to the wikipedia article, there's only one road in and out ...