PDA

View Full Version : SB3 with NAS Server



JMan
2006-03-17, 13:06
Hi there!
I intend to buy one of those sexy Squeezeboxes. I'd like to run it on a NAS server. In the forum I mainly read about users having troubles getting the Box running on a NAS.

Does anybody has it happily working with a NAS? I have a big music collection, about 10K songs. How much RAM is required? Furthermore the NAS should be handy (not a rack) and silent, preferrably without a fan.

Any recommendations?
Thanks a lot!

aubuti
2006-03-17, 13:37
A lot of us have slimserver running happily on a NAS. I use a Buffalo LinkStation HD-HG250. It has 128MB RAM and a 266MHz PowerPC processor (forget the model number). It does fine serving up my 3k or so track music collection, and I expect it would do fine with a collection of 10k tracks.

It has a fan and it's not silent. It's not really loud, either, but I don't need it within easy reach, so I just keep it in the basement. There are hacks/tweaks to reduce fan noise, but not eliminate it.

It's perfect for my needs, but you might want something quieter.

JMan
2006-03-17, 15:02
thanks for you answer!
Does the Linkstation stream the media information like artist, album and trackname? as far as i know it does not support upnp.

Mark Lanctot
2006-03-17, 20:09
thanks for you answer!
Does the Linkstation stream the media information like artist, album and trackname? as far as i know it does not support upnp.

If you run SlimServer on it, it will work exactly like SlimServer running on your PC. So you get artist, album, trackname, whatever you want. :-)

Squeezebox does not support UPnP (thank God) so it isn't required.

JMan
2006-03-19, 12:12
If you run SlimServer on it, it will work exactly like SlimServer running on your PC. So you get artist, album, trackname, whatever you want. :-)

Squeezebox does not support UPnP (thank God) so it isn't required.

ok, I didn't know that, that's great!
How do I know whether I can install additional Software on the NAS? (sorry about the stupid question)

Mark Lanctot
2006-03-19, 13:04
How do I know whether I can install additional Software on the NAS? (sorry about the stupid question)

There's the tough question.

There's one NAS box that supports SlimServer right out of the box. It's the Qnap (http://www.advancedmp3players.co.uk/shop/product_info.php?products_id=1038) and it's only available in the UK.

In the U.S., the Infrant ReadyNAS (http://www.infrant.com/) supports it with the download of their modified SlimServer. However, these NASes are at least as expensive as a desktop.

Other than that, you'll have to hack your way into the box. You'll void your warranty for sure, and some manufacturers put roadblocks in place to stop you. One exception is the Kurobox (http://kurobox.com/), which is an open/hackable Buffalo Linkstation.

And once you've hacked in, you have to figure out how to install SlimServer, LAME (MP3 encoder) and Perl. It usually requires Linux command-line skills.

That said, there are guides for installing SlimServer on a Buffalo Linkstation here: http://fieldnetworks.com/slim/linkstation.html and on a Linksys NSLU2 here: http://www.nslu2-linux.org/wiki/Applications/SlimServer