PDA

View Full Version : What's the difference between SS 6.2 and 6.5?



j.e.f.f
2006-03-12, 17:23
Hi folks

I've been trying to figure out what SlimServer 6.5 has that 6.2 doesn't. From what I've been able to find over the last few days, 6.5 has "a bunch more features"... what are these features? Are they worth installing 6.5 and putting up with its beta status for the next little bit? I don't mind providing feedback to aid its development, but I also won't trade a potentially unstable system for features I won't use.

Thanks!

jlynch3
2006-03-12, 18:21
http://bugs.slimdevices.com/show_bug.cgi?id=2823

It hasn't worked for me on MacOS for a few months now... I think there's a bunch of database tweaks (enhanced MySql support) and other improvements...

However, I just saw this thread:

http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=21969

If something has changed that fixes the crash bug, could someone update bugzilla?




Hi folks

I've been trying to figure out what SlimServer 6.5 has that 6.2 doesn't. From what I've been able to find over the last few days, 6.5 has "a bunch more features"... what are these features? Are they worth installing 6.5 and putting up with its beta status for the next little bit? I don't mind providing feedback to aid its development, but I also won't trade a potentially unstable system for features I won't use.

Thanks!

Gildahl
2006-03-13, 12:15
Hi folks

I've been trying to figure out what SlimServer 6.5 has that 6.2 doesn't. From what I've been able to find over the last few days, 6.5 has "a bunch more features"... what are these features? Are they worth installing 6.5 and putting up with its beta status for the next little bit? I don't mind providing feedback to aid its development, but I also won't trade a potentially unstable system for features I won't use.

Thanks!

I'd like to know as well.

ModelCitizen
2006-03-13, 12:56
I've been trying to figure out what SlimServer 6.5 has that 6.2 doesn't.
Yup, I'd like to know this too. I'd also like to know if it is stable on XP, if it takes more memory and resources than 6.22 and if it might be faster than 6.22 on low spec machines. Is there any comparison info anywhere? If so, I can't find it. :-(
Maybe I'll just have to try it. I guess I can copy my 6.22 files in case I need to revert.
MC

kdf
2006-03-13, 12:59
- major rework of skins, using css and template toolkit more.
- complete rework of the CLI, using a request/dispatch model and
broader access to slimserver control and status
- nokia770 skin
- server/player settings ui changes (pulldown menu instead of tabs,
for one. more to come)
- "now playing" menu options are more flexible. you can choose how
many and what order
- optional fade-in for alarm clock
- Musicmagic mood control, reject/genre match parameter control (6.2
uses only a fixed param for rejects and genre match), and using
playlists as mix seeds.
- bitrate limited players get send a fixed lower bitrate silence
stream until playback starts
- some animation/IR optimisations (some have worked down into 6.2.2 as well)

There are more, but I can't remember them all. The first three, so
far, are the largest of the changes. Some smaller feature adds have
eventually worked into 6.2 after spending time in 6.5
-k

Ben Sandee
2006-03-13, 15:17
On 3/13/06, ModelCitizen <
ModelCitizen.24mja11142280004 (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com> wrote:
>
>
> j.e.f.f Wrote:
> > I've been trying to figure out what SlimServer 6.5 has that 6.2 doesn't..
> Yup, I'd like to know this too. I'd also like to know if it is stable
> on XP, if it takes more memory and resources than 6.22 and if it might
> be faster than 6.22 on low spec machines. Is there any comparison info
> anywhewre? If so, I can't find it. :-(
> Maybe I'll just have to try it. I guess I can copy my 6.22 files in
> case I need to revert.


When the beta is actually released, SlimDevices will issue release notes.
Until then you'll have to be content with what kdf, or anyone else can
remember and various people's opinions of the current stability, which will
vary day-by-day and even hour-by-hour. Don't hold SlimDevices responsible
if these opinions don't jive with your experience.

If you are going to get pissed off if 6.5 *doesn't* work on the first try
then please don't try it -- for everyone else's sake. Wait for the beta
release.

Ben

JJZolx
2006-03-13, 16:14
Add:

Browse Artwork is now actually usable. First, there's a sort preference, so you can sort by artist, then year, then album name. Second, text has been added to the listing to display the artist, album and year.

This alone is worth the price of admission.

NWP
2006-03-13, 21:20
On 3/13/06, ModelCitizen <

If you are going to get pissed off if 6.5 *doesn't* work on the first try
then please don't try it -- for everyone else's sake. Wait for the beta
release.

Ben


I'm not going to get pissed off, but any idea when the 6.5 beta will be released?

JJZolx
2006-03-13, 21:23
I'm not going to get pissed off, but any idea when the 6.5 beta will be released?
Months.....

Robin Bowes
2006-03-14, 03:06
JJZolx wrote:
> Add:
>
> Browse Artwork is now actually usable. First, there's a sort
> preference, so you can sort by artist, then year, then album name.
> Second, text has been added to the listing to display the artist, album
> and year.

Hmmm. This isn't working for me - I've chosen "artist, year, album" in
preferences and the albums still display in album name order in browse
artwork.

R.

Robin Bowes
2006-03-14, 03:22
Robin Bowes wrote:
> JJZolx wrote:
>
>>Add:
>>
>>Browse Artwork is now actually usable. First, there's a sort
>>preference, so you can sort by artist, then year, then album name.
>>Second, text has been added to the listing to display the artist, album
>>and year.
>
>
> Hmmm. This isn't working for me - I've chosen "artist, year, album" in
> preferences and the albums still display in album name order in browse
> artwork.

Clarification: this is with fishbone - it works fine with Default skin.

R.

j.e.f.f
2006-03-14, 07:51
Thanks for all your replies.

I didn't want to start a pissing fight, just wanted to get a better feel if I should jump on the 6.5 bandwagon early, or just wait until it's released. All your input helps!

kdf
2006-03-14, 09:44
On 14-Mar-06, at 2:22 AM, Robin Bowes wrote:

>>
>
> Clarification: this is with fishbone - it works fine with Default skin.
>
skins have nothing to do with the sorting
-k

Robin Bowes
2006-03-14, 10:19
kdf wrote:
>
> On 14-Mar-06, at 2:22 AM, Robin Bowes wrote:
>
>>>
>>
>> Clarification: this is with fishbone - it works fine with Default skin.
>>
> skins have nothing to do with the sorting

Well how come the sorting works OK with the default skin but not with
fishbone?

R.

kdf
2006-03-14, 10:45
Quoting Robin Bowes <robin-lists (AT) robinbowes (DOT) com>:


> Well how come the sorting works OK with the default skin but not with
> fishbone?

dunno. I am not seeing any problem at all. In fact, the Default
skin, light skin, and Fishbone are all being generated from the EN
templates. The server returns an array, and the templates simply
iterate through. The Fishbone and Default skins simply apply styles
and some TT wrappers for all of the browse pages.

Granted, when I first changed the setting, I do think it took a few
refreshes to get it to show.
-k

JJZolx
2006-03-14, 11:19
Quoting Robin Bowes <robin-lists (AT) robinbowes (DOT) com>:


> Well how come the sorting works OK with the default skin but not with
> fishbone?

dunno. I am not seeing any problem at all. In fact, the Default
skin, light skin, and Fishbone are all being generated from the EN
templates. The server returns an array, and the templates simply
iterate through. The Fishbone and Default skins simply apply styles
and some TT wrappers for all of the browse pages.

Granted, when I first changed the setting, I do think it took a few
refreshes to get it to show.
-k
Works for me as well, but now I'm having a different skin problem. From Firefox I switched to Fishbone just to test that out, and now that I've switched back to the Default skin, I'm getting what looks to be the Default skin, but with Fishbone colors and images. I have a black/gray/yellow/red color scheme, with the Default controls and page layouts. I can't get it back to the old Default, even after closing and reopening Firefox. If I open the page in IE, the Default skin appears as it should be.

Robin Bowes
2006-03-14, 12:03
kdf wrote:
> Quoting Robin Bowes <robin-lists (AT) robinbowes (DOT) com>:
>
> Granted, when I first changed the setting, I do think it took a few
> refreshes to get it to show.
> -k

It's working now. The thing that made the difference was to set
slimserver to display placeholders for missing artwork. It now works
even if I switch back to "don't display placeholders" (Or whatever the
option is!)

R.

stoobie-doo
2006-03-14, 12:44
The other side of the equation is what has changed from FW 28 to 35 and are there compelling reasons to upgrade the server to get the updated firmware? (And if I downgrade the server back to 6.2.1, would I need to downgrade the firmware as well?)

kdf
2006-03-14, 13:03
Quoting Robin Bowes <robin-lists (AT) robinbowes (DOT) com>:

> It's working now. The thing that made the difference was to set
> slimserver to display placeholders for missing artwork.

I suspect the TT caches will have to be flushed on certain setting
changes. Maybe there isn't enough with a simple sort order change to
make TT think anything is different. Soemthing for testing much
further down the road.
-k

kdf
2006-03-14, 13:09
the stylesheets seem to need a bit more refreshing to clear out. This was lessened for a while when the Default skin used skin.css and fishbone used slimserver.css. I changed this last night to make it easier to maintain the alternate styles. The common styles for the skin are now in slim.css and the changeable styles are in slimserver*.css. Also, now that the skins are moving toward using a more css-friendly EN base, the skin use the same style names, thus showing more clearly the delayed application of the stylesheet.

kdf
2006-03-14, 13:10
The other side of the equation is what has changed from FW 28 to 35 and are there compelling reasons to upgrade the server to get the updated firmware? (And if I downgrade the server back to 6.2.1, would I need to downgrade the firmware as well?)

FW35 is in 6.2.2 AND 6.5, so the firmware is not part of the differences. The changes from 28 to 35 are mostly for fixing some wireless issues. If you revert, the firmware will need to revert as well
-k

Ben Sandee
2006-03-14, 17:31
On 3/14/06, stoobie-doo <
stoobie-doo.24od8z1142365501 (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com> wrote:
>
>
> The other side of the equation is what has changed from FW 28 to 35 and
> are there compelling reasons to upgrade the server to get the updated
> firmware? (And if I downgrade the server back to 6.2.1, would I need to
> downgrade the firmware as well?)


I believe most of the firmware changes are bug fixes and unless you're
actually being bitten by one of the bugs it shouldn't matter at all. There
are a few minor updates such as an updated vumeter.

http://svn.slimdevices.com/trunk/server/Firmware/squeezebox2.version?rev=6323&view=log

Ben