PDA

View Full Version : Low volume on Squeezenetwork ?



westiebj
2006-03-12, 10:39
Hi all

I have been playing around recently with Squeezenetwork and notice that the volume is very low compared to the normal streaming of my music collection, including radio via the internet.

I'm using an external DAC via the optical out ( and store all my music lossless (apple) and dont use any replaygain style tags. )

I'm using SB3 Firmware v35 and slimserver v6.2.2

Any ideas ?

andyg
2006-03-12, 10:44
On Mar 12, 2006, at 12:39 PM, westiebj wrote:

>
> Hi all
>
> I have been playing around recently with Squeezenetwork and notice
> that
> the volume is very low compared to the normal streaming of my music
> collection, and even radio via the internet.
>
> I'm using an external DAC via the optical out ( and store all my music
> lossless (apple) and dont use any replaygain style tags. )

The volume defaults to 20 on SN, so you should just increase it.
Fixed digital volume will be added as an option soon.

http://bugs.slimdevices.com/show_bug.cgi?id=2340

-Andy

westiebj
2006-03-12, 10:47
Hi Thanks for the reply

I have the volume setting disabled as I use an external DAC.

Does your answer still apply ?

Many thanks

andyg
2006-03-12, 10:52
On Mar 12, 2006, at 12:47 PM, westiebj wrote:

>
> Hi Thanks for the reply
>
> I have the volume setting disabled as I use an external DAC.
>
> Does your answer still apply ?

Yes, your local SlimServer settings have no relation to the settings
on SN. The volume setting can't be disabled on SN (yet).

westiebj
2006-03-13, 12:55
Doh!

Realised that just as I was about to read your reply. ( Squeezenetwork doesn't use slimserver )

Hadn't noticed the local volume setting ... many thanks

andyg
2006-03-17, 17:29
A new build of SN is up, and includes a digital volume control preference.

westiebj
2006-03-18, 05:39
Many thanks .....works a treat.