PDA

View Full Version : SqueezeBox2 or SqueezeBox3



mtatl
2006-03-06, 16:26
I recently purchased a SqueezeBox. The SlimServer software identifies it as a SqueezeBox2. It is clearly not.

I am experiencing some dropouts in music playback. My wireless network is uncongested and working well, the software is running on a G5 Mac with 1.5Gb of memory. Could the misidentification of the SqueezeBox be causing a buffer style that is producing these dropouts?

Thanks

Ben Sandee
2006-03-06, 16:41
On 3/6/06, mtatl <mtatl.249uc01141687803 (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com>
wrote:
>
>
> I recently purchased a SqueezeBox. The SlimServer software identifies it
> as a SqueezeBox2. It is clearly not.
>
> I am experiencing some dropouts in music playback. My wireless network
> is uncongested and working well, the software is running on a G5 Mac
> with 1.5Gb of memory. Could the misidentification of the SqueezeBox be
> causing a buffer style that is producing these dropouts?


No, the software treats the SB2 and SB3 hardware the same. Their buffering
characteristics should be identical.

What version of SlimServer are you running? What type of wireless network
are you running? What type of files are you playing?

Ben

snarlydwarf
2006-03-06, 16:45
The only way the server can tell an SB2 from an SB3 is the MAC address. They are functionally identical (which is why the boot screen now says 'Squeezebox' instead of the 'old' logo with a '2' over the 'Squeezebox').

As for dropouts, what sort of music are you streaming and at what bitrate?

Is the network 802.11b or 802.11g?

mtatl
2006-03-06, 20:39
The network is 802.11g. The files are AAc and Apple Lossless. Server software is 6.2.2.

Morbo
2006-03-06, 23:04
Is it a recent build of 6.2.2? Make sure that the player fw is v35. Player performance in that rev is much improved.

snarlydwarf
2006-03-07, 00:03
Also I believe 6.2.2 has the 'Server and Network Health' plugin.

For apple lossless, you're going to be sending a lot of data or do on-the-fly encoding to FLAC. One will take substantial wireless bandwidth, the other will take a hit on your CPU... You may want to make sure that you have sufficient bandwidth.

It's listed under the Help items.

And just a side note: if you have a single 802.11b device on your network, it's an 802.11b network. Every device will be penalized.

(Yet another reason I chose the SB over competition.. 802.11b sucks. :P)