PDA

View Full Version : Moose 0.25 now up



Dr Lovegrove
2006-03-02, 10:46
Just uploaded a new version of my windows front-end Moose to the usual
place: http://www.rusticrhino.com/drlovegrove

It's been a month, so quite a few tweaks and changes:

* Now supports MySQL databases. Works much better than the SQLite
support, but obviously you need to have MySQL'd your slimserver for it
to work (well worth it !)

* I've moved Moose from .Net 1.1 to .Net 2.0.. Feels much quicker and
internally things are a bit nicer too..

* Re-jigged the NowPlaying UI again - added a menubar, removed some
buttons, tidied up the remaining buttons, added bitmaps, etc.. Oh, and
cover-art now resizes as you resize the window.

* Added an Amazon lookup feature which attempts to find the currently
playing album. It's a bit work in progress, but seems to work quite
well.

* Added SoftSqueeze integration so you can fire up SoftSqueeze without
hunting about on the website.

* Fixed some directory scanning problems and a few other bits and pieces.

Enjoy,

--
- Dr Lovegrove
http://www.rusticrhino.com/drlovegrove

Browny
2006-03-02, 14:44
MySQL support....SWEET!!!

Downloading it now.....

mattybain
2006-03-02, 16:39
Don't seem to be able to download 0.25, for me the links are still all 0.24.

Can anyone else confirm this or is it just my ISP and a caching issue?

ezkcdude
2006-03-02, 18:55
Love the updates. However, my playlist is not showing up. The songs are playing in the correct order (which I can see on the SlimServer browser). Not sure what's going on.

Edit: I realized the bug has something to do with the shuffle function. When Shuffle is off, the playlist disappears.

mattybain
2006-03-02, 22:21
Still no joy downloading 0.25 :( what am I doing wrong (apart from waking up at 4.30!!!)

Did you enjoy the cake by the way? any pieces left?

mattybain
2006-03-03, 06:30
Okay it is just my cr*ppy ISP (bloody NTL), seems fine from work.

Dr Lovegrove
2006-03-03, 08:19
On 03/03/06, mattybain
<mattybain.243isb1141392901 (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com> wrote:
>
> Okay it is just my cr*ppy ISP (bloody NTL), seems fine from work.

Hmmm, interesting..

I've just duplicated the file online now which should fix things with NTL..
I'll try and remember to do this for the next version too.. It's now there
as both Moose.zip and Moose025.zip

--
- Dr Lovegrove
http://www.rusticrhino.com/drlovegrove

0xdeadbeef
2006-03-03, 16:05
0.25 is a big step forward. It feels much smoother and also doesn't seem to crash the server anymore (which the previous versions did more or less instantly for me).
However I find the "pause" feature pretty annyoing when clicking on the traybar icon.
I would expect that the main screen ("now playing") would open up when double clicking on the tray icon. However this stops the music most of the times. Also if I use the right mouse button and select anything (like windows-now playing), the music stops.
Maybe I'm stupid, but for me it's impossible to do anything with the tray icon without stopping the music.

mattybain
2006-03-04, 00:24
My tray icon works fine, all the controls work and are responsive.

However my album art in the moose now playing dialog box is not showing, it previously worked fine on 0.24. Album art in the library window works fine.

Browny
2006-03-04, 04:15
Ok - downloaded it and it worked first time. I'm now very happy - one of the downsides to switching to MySQL was loosing Moose. Thanks for all your efforts....

Just a question for the future - If your running on MySQL is there any need to snapshot the whole database into a moo file? I appreciate in the past this was necessary due to SQLite locking issues. MySQL takes that limitation away and its also a lot quicker as well.

Could a future version just use the database directly?

Browny

kweller
2006-03-04, 04:23
You may remember I reported:

In article <VA.00000853.0fdc16c0 (AT) thewellers (DOT) net>, Kevin Weller wrote:
> I really like Moose but whenever I use it synchronisation drifts very
> quickly, often within the first track after I start it.

Well it seems to be resolved with v0.25 of Moose. It's been playing all
morning with Moosee running and is still in sync. Thank you :)

Did you decide not to progress getting the track number displayed on
'now playing' and the pop-up or have you just been too busy?

If I may also make a suggestion re. 'now playing'it would be nice if F5
did a refresh so it's the same as other Windows programs.

Kevin

bossanova808
2006-03-05, 19:17
As usual, it's definitely moving in the right direction - the UI side of it is way, way improved over a couple of months ago.

The two biggest problems are lack of support for Various Artists, and the fact it regularly crashes slimserver if one loads up a REALLY big playlist (eg. I have one I made for New Years, it spans 25 pages on the slimerserver web interface - if I start Moose while this is loaded up, the music stutters and then soon after the server crashes).

It may be this would work fine on a really responsive server rather than my readyNAS.

I'm really looking forward to a bugfix release of slimserver, and then the mySQL version after that, will be interesting to see how that affects performance on the NAS.

Thanks as ever for your fine work

Cheers
JD

Dr Lovegrove
2006-03-06, 03:32
On 04/03/06, Kevin Weller <SlimDML (AT) thewellers (DOT) net> wrote:
> You may remember I reported:
>
> Well it seems to be resolved with v0.25 of Moose. It's been playing all
> morning with Moosee running and is still in sync. Thank you :)

Good stuff.. Not sure what's changed to fix this though.. Might be
a side effect of moving to .net 2.. Also the new UI puts much less strain
on the client PC.. It's still firing messages at the server every second or
so..

> Did you decide not to progress getting the track number displayed on
> 'now playing' and the pop-up or have you just been too busy?

Ah, oops, yup, meant to add that in.. Got a bit sidetracked with the other
stuff..

> If I may also make a suggestion re. 'now playing'it would be nice if F5
> did a refresh so it's the same as other Windows programs.

Good plan.. I'll pop that in too..

--
- Dr Lovegrove
http://www.rusticrhino.com/drlovegrove

Dr Lovegrove
2006-03-07, 10:43
On 02/03/06, Dr Lovegrove <drlovegrove (AT) gmail (DOT) com> wrote:
> Just uploaded a new version of my windows front-end Moose to the usual
> place: http://www.rusticrhino.com/drlovegrove

Ok, just put up a new build.. 0.26..

One big new feature and bunch of little fixes:

* F5 refreshes playlist.

* Optimised redraw requests in Now Playing.

* Added 'Icon Pause' option in Tray menu to turn off the pause/play
icon click feature.

* Tracknums now displayed on tooltips and in playlist window.

* Changes to some of the button text.

and the big new feature..

* Queued CLI requests - previously Moose tried to be nice to
Slimserver by sending out one CLI message at a time. Maintaining this
was becoming a bit of a nightmare and there were some instances,
particularly on startup, where often a couple would hit the server at
the same time. On a slow server machine this would sometimes take it
out. Not ideal. Enter the new Queued CLI Request feature which should
hopefully fix this. It also paves the way for multiple operations on
the playlist, adding album tracks in the correct order, and a whole
host of other features which need multiple CLI messages... Now, it's a
bit of a scary change, so I've added an option in the preferences
dialog to turn it off.. Hopefully it wont break too much, and should
speed some things up, particularly startup speeds..

Enjoy,

--
- Dr Lovegrove
http://www.rusticrhino.com/drlovegrove

kweller
2006-03-07, 14:01
In article <67fb4bc40603060232kc0b9d63g (AT) mail (DOT) gmail.com>, Dr Lovegrove
wrote:
> Good stuff.. Not sure what's changed to fix this though..

I spoke too soon although this may be related to the 0.26 update. My
Squeezeboxes stopped playing earlier. I tried starting the web
interface but it was taking forever so I left it for a couple of hours.
I've just come back to the machine and the web page is still loading
and there's no music. I then exited Moose and the music started
immediately and the web page loaded. This is on 0.26 with queuing
enabled - I've just disabled that to see what happens. I should have
thought to enable logging before exiting Moose, sorry.

Kevin

mattybain
2006-03-08, 04:55
0.26 working a treat here. The only thing annoying me know is the lack of album art in the now playing window. Does anybody else experience this? when browsing the library the album art is fine so I don't really understand what is happening.

ezkcdude
2006-03-08, 06:28
Also, what happened to the background colors? Is there a reason for the drop-down menu for this option being disabled?

Dr Lovegrove
2006-03-08, 07:35
On 08/03/06, ezkcdude
<ezkcdude.24crvz1141824601 (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com> wrote:
>
> 0.26 working a treat here. The only thing annoying me know is the lack
> of album art in the now playing window. Does anybody else experience
> this? when browsing the library the album art is fine so I don't really
> understand what is happening.

Dont understand this.. I know there was a problem with 6.5 nightlies
a few weeks back that would cause the problem - you'd sometimes
get art on the first couple of tracks from an album, but non after that.
Is this what you're seeing ?

Otherwise, if you're server's not set to look for artwork, it could cause
a problem.. If it works in the web ui though it should work in Moose.

Contact me off-list if you like and we can work out what's going on..

> Also, what happened to the background colors? Is there a reason for the
> drop-down menu for this option being disabled?

Well, the moving backgrounds were consuming too much CPU time, so
I optimised the code for a flat background. I'll put the grad fill background
back in at some point.. I could put the animated ones back in too if people
liked them ?

--
- Dr Lovegrove
http://www.rusticrhino.com/drlovegrove

Mark Lanctot
2006-03-09, 08:37
So I decided to drink the Kool-Aid and tried Moose.

I guess the thing that was holding me back was .NET. Last time I installed it, it was pretty obnoxious, adding a user, lengthening boot-up time, etc. So I armed myself with a complete system and registry backup and found relevant web pages for automatic logon.

.NET 2.0 is a huge improvement. No impact on boot-up times and no annoying 'ASP .NET' user.

And Moose? Wow! What a cool app! Fast, efficient, clean, uncluttered UI, bug-free. Up and running in two minutes flat. At first I thought "seeing as I still have to run SlimServer, why try Moose?" but I realize that Firefox with the SlimServer interface loaded takes up 23 MB, Moose takes up 10 MB - so SS + Moose is lighter.

Rescan is FAST! 1900 tracks in 2 seconds! Whoa! I thought I missed something and rescanned again, which barely blinked up on the screen.

I have a few minor niggles:

1. Stop does not work. Pause does, but pressing the Stop button on the bottom right has no effect.

2. Changing players is not as intuitive or simple as other operations. I guess this has to be done by the radio button in preferences? Personally I'd prefer a simple button somewhere in the main UI. Something that would call up a drop-down list.

3. I couldn't get the external tagger to work (Mp3tag). It errored out with a German dialog. I've seen this issue mentioned before, I just have to look for the solution.

4. It waits a fairly long time for the server response when starting up. 10-15 seconds. No big deal, but I thought there was a problem when I first started it.

I haven't experienced any problems others have experienced like flickering when dragging or excessive processor usage.

Dr Lovegrove, thank you so much for this fantastic app!

Mark Lanctot
2006-03-09, 09:10
Ah...Moose seems to work fine with playlists SlimServer has generated, but when I try to get Moose to generate a playlist on its own, problems.

It seems that Moose has not picked up any tags. No Artist or Album tags. They are all labelled Artist "My Documents", Album "My Music". All songs are length 0 and nothing will play.

I guess this is due to the flat directory structure I'm using. I have never seen the need for multiple directories and I have everything in one directory. This has never caused problems for SlimServer so I haven't thought twice about it. But I guess it's what Moose relies on to identify Artist - Album.

Oh well. It's way too late for me to change now and I don't expect Moose to be changed for something one foolish user has done.

I still like the program though.

Yannzola
2006-03-09, 10:34
I guess this is due to the flat directory structure I'm using. ... But I guess it's what Moose relies on to identify Artist - Album.


Have you tried changing your "moo" library data source in Preferences? The default is based on folder structure, but the MySQL and SQLite methods look at the same tags SS does. Note: For SQlite you need to put in the =full path= to wherever slimserversql.db is located on your machine. For some reason, this wasn't immediately clear to me when I first installed Moose. Duh.

Mark Lanctot
2006-03-09, 11:26
Have you tried changing your "moo" library data source in Preferences? The default is based on folder structure, but the MySQL and SQLite methods look at the same tags SS does. Note: For SQlite you need to put in the =full path= to wherever slimserversql.db is located on your machine. For some reason, this wasn't immediately clear to me when I first installed Moose. Duh.

Ohhhh yeah! So it uses SlimServer's database!

Yup, seems to work well! Thanks.

About the only thing that's missing now is something with the functionality of the SlimServer random mix plugin. I see where you can add one random track at a time, but new tracks are not added automatically.

Kyle
2006-03-09, 16:00
Dr. L, I miss the background. Are we going to get it back? Great work on the improvements.

bossanova808
2006-03-09, 23:00
Any chance the icon pause setting could be remembered across sessions? I keep forgetting to turn it on, so it doesn't work, so my music is still blasting out when the I go to answer the phone...

mattybain
2006-03-10, 01:26
]

Dont understand this.. I know there was a problem with 6.5 nightlies
a few weeks back that would cause the problem - you'd sometimes
get art on the first couple of tracks from an album, but non after that.
Is this what you're seeing ?

Otherwise, if you're server's not set to look for artwork, it could cause
a problem.. If it works in the web ui though it should work in Moose.



Yeah my bad, artwork was turned off and I had not properly scanned, why do users never think of the obvious things first?

Would it be possible to make the delete key delete the currently selected track in the playlist as it is a pain to have to go up to the menu every time.

Also is it going to be possible to allow multiple selections in the playlist? (moving, deleting etc) in my mind that is the last piece that makes the software the only thing I will use!

kweller
2006-03-10, 02:55
In article <mattybain.24g3c01141979402 (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com>,
Mattybain wrote:
> (moving, deleting etc) in my mind that is the last piece that
> makes the software the only thing I will use!

Random play and the ability to cue an album by track number (both like
the Fishbone interface) will finish it off nicely. :) During normal
usage they are the only things I reach for the SlimServer web interface
for.

Kevin

Dr Lovegrove
2006-03-10, 04:23
On 09/03/06, Mark Lanctot
<Mark.Lanctot.24eskn1141918801 (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com> wrote:
>
> So I decided to drink the Kool-Aid and tried Moose.

Oh dear, you dont wanna do that.. Welcome on board though.. ;-)

> .NET 2.0 is a huge improvement. No impact on boot-up times and no
> annoying 'ASP .NET' user.

Yeah, I was quite suprised at the difference it seems to make.. The only
downside is Im going to need a faster machine to speed up MS's new
development environment.. Shiny but slow..

> And Moose? Wow! What a cool app! Fast, efficient, clean, uncluttered
> UI, bug-free.

Cool, glad you like it.. Dont know about bug-free, but it's getting there.. :-)

> I have a few minor niggles:
>
> 1. Stop does not work. Pause does, but pressing the Stop button on
> the bottom right has no effect.

Hmm, I'll check this out.. Those buttons just do the same as the ones
on the remote (in theory).. Things keep changing on the server, so maybe
something's broken..

> 2. Changing players is not as intuitive or simple as other operations.
> I guess this has to be done by the radio button in preferences?
> Personally I'd prefer a simple button somewhere in the main UI.
> Something that would call up a drop-down list.

Yes, currently it's a bit tucked away.. The original intention was to have
a Now Playing window for each unit.. Then you could drag/drop playlists
between them, etc.. I think a simple switcher - maybe just a submenu of
players - might be the simplest/quickest solution in the short-term..

Hmmm, testing could be a problem here.. If SD fancy donating a
few SB3's to the cause, dont be shy.. ;-)

> 3. I couldn't get the external tagger to work (Mp3tag). It errored
> out with a German dialog. I've seen this issue mentioned before, I
> just have to look for the solution.

Ahh, just tried mp3tag.. Seems not to like spaces in its arguments..
Just fixed Moose to get round this, so should work in the next release..

> 4. It waits a fairly long time for the server response when starting
> up. 10-15 seconds. No big deal, but I thought there was a problem
> when I first started it.

10-15 seconds seems pretty slow.. Which server version are you
running ? With 6.5 nightlies and MySQL it takes roughly 2 seconds
for Moose to appear and show the playlist and album-art on my
machine here..

--
- Dr Lovegrove
http://www.rusticrhino.com/drlovegrove

Dr Lovegrove
2006-03-10, 04:27
On 09/03/06, Mark Lanctot
<Mark.Lanctot.24f0fz1141929001 (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com> wrote:
>
> Ohhhh yeah! So it uses SlimServer's database!
>
> Yup, seems to work well! Thanks.

Yup.. BTW, if you're using SQLite, make sure you either stop slimserver
briefly, or point Moose at a copy of the db file - SQLite only likes 1 program
talking to it at a time.. If you dont, one in five times (ish) it seems to crash
the server or just not fully populate the library.. Not a problem with MySql
though..

> About the only thing that's missing now is something with the
> functionality of the SlimServer random mix plugin. I see where you can
> add one random track at a time, but new tracks are not added
> automatically.

There's a bit on the website about assigning the blank 'popcorn' button to
launch random-mix.. Sadly random-mix and other plugins arent directly
accessible to the CLI, so control is a little limited.

--
- Dr Lovegrove
http://www.rusticrhino.com/drlovegrove

Dr Lovegrove
2006-03-10, 04:38
> Dr. L, I miss the background. Are we going to get it back? Great work
> on the improvements.

Ta, yup, i'll pop it back in the next version..

> Any chance the icon pause setting could be remembered across sessions?
> I keep forgetting to turn it on, so it doesn't work, so my music is
> still blasting out when the I go to answer the phone...

Ah heck, it's meant to remember the setting - there's even code.. I'll
fix this..

> Would it be possible to make the delete key delete the currently
> selected track in the playlist as it is a pain to have to go up to the
> menu every time. Also is it going to be possible to allow multiple selections.

Yup, both of these should be in the next version.. Multi-selection deletion
is currently working quite well.. Multi-selection drag needs a little more work
I think..

--
- Dr Lovegrove
http://www.rusticrhino.com/drlovegrove

Mark Lanctot
2006-03-10, 12:15
Hmm, I'll check this out.. Those buttons just do the same as the ones on the remote (in theory).. Things keep changing on the server, so maybe something's broken..

Obviously it's not doing the same on yours, nor has anyone else mentioned this, so it may be just me. Pause works fine though and I'm getting by using it.

I started out with 6.2.2 (Jan. 30th build) and I upgraded yesterday's latest build, 6.2.2 March 9th.



Yes, currently it's a bit tucked away.. The original intention was to have a Now Playing window for each unit.. Then you could drag/drop playlists between them, etc.. I think a simple switcher - maybe just a submenu of players - might be the simplest/quickest solution in the short-term..

Hmmm, testing could be a problem here.. If SD fancy donating a few SB3's to the cause, dont be shy.. ;-)

I'd be pleased to do multiple-unit beta testing for you. I have an SB2 and an SB3.



Ahh, just tried mp3tag.. Seems not to like spaces in its arguments..Just fixed Moose to get round this, so should work in the next release..

Good to hear, thanks!



10-15 seconds seems pretty slow.. Which server version are you
running ? With 6.5 nightlies and MySQL it takes roughly 2 seconds
for Moose to appear and show the playlist and album-art on my
machine here..

Server versions were noted above.


BTW, if you're using SQLite, make sure you either stop slimserver briefly, or point Moose at a copy of the db file - SQLite only likes 1 program talking to it at a time.. If you dont, one in five times (ish) it seems to crash the server or just not fully populate the library.. Not a problem with MySql though..

I followed the directions on your site and used a copy of the DB.


There's a bit on the website about assigning the blank 'popcorn' button to launch random-mix..

Awesome, I'll give it a try.

Thanks!

Mark Lanctot
2006-03-10, 14:24
BTW linking the popcorn button to the Random Mix plugin as you describe on your website works perfectly. Thanks.

bgriffis
2006-03-11, 20:54
I actually came to the forums earlier this afternoon with the intent of asking/suggesting about making a nicer interface than the web page through which I currently talk to my SB2. A quick search brought up this thread and it really grabbed my attention.

I've installed Moose v0.26 on two of my computers now and am happy to report that it is working quite well for the most part. What a fantastic program! Anyone out there who is looking for a nice GUI front-end to Slim Server should try this out! This program is great for being able to scroll through your music and add songs to the playlist. It's a heck of a lot nicer to look at than that boring web page. It makes SS feel a lot more like the media players I've become accustomed to.

Thank you, Dr. Lovegrove for putting this together! This application has breathed new excitement into my SB2!

I did have one problem -- I'm trying to scan the Slim Server library from a *different* computer using the SQlite mode. Every time I do this Moose crashes! I worked around this by doing the "folder" mode.

Other things that are non critical but would be nice would be to have the option to be able to view all albums (currently you can only view all artists and then by clicking on an artist you can see their albums). It would also be nice to be able to right-click on songs in the library and choose Add/Insert/Play. Same goes for right-clicking on an artist or an album... The current layout of the library makes it very "laborsome" to click on a song way down at the bottom left of the screen and then go way up to the top right to add it to the play list. Minor things, but would be nice.

Anyways, kudos to Dr. Lovegrove on his application. Very nice! A big thank you to him for all the hours he put into making this a useful program.

Dr Lovegrove
2006-03-12, 02:23
On 12/03/06, bgriffis
<bgriffis.24jfxn1142135701 (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com> wrote:
>
> I've installed Moose v0.26 on two of my computers now and am happy to
> report that it is working quite well for the most part. What a
> fantastic program! Anyone out there who is looking for a nice GUI
> front-end to Slim Server should try this out!

Excellent, glad you like it.. :-)

> I did have one problem -- I'm trying to scan the Slim Server library
> from a *different* computer using the SQlite mode. Every time I do
> this Moose crashes! I worked around this by doing the "folder" mode.

Ah, yes, sounds like the standard SQLite problem.. Trouble with SQLite
is that each database only reliably supports one application at a time.
When Slimserver is running, that's the application, so when Moose comes
along and jumps in, it's just luck whether something happens.

The way round this is either to stop slimserver whilst scanning, or to
make a copy of the db file, and point Moose at that copy. Neither are
ideal, but it's just the way SQLite is.

Other ways round are to change your server to use MySql or, as you've
found, the folder mode.

> Other things that are non critical but would be nice would be to have
> the option to be able to view all albums (currently you can only view
> all artists and then by clicking on an artist you can see their
> albums).

If you type any character in the library filter control, then quickly
delete that
character so the control's empty, the album list will do a filter based on
nothing - the result is that it shows all the artists on the left and all the
albums on the right. I think this is the state it's in when you first open the
window.

It's not ideal though and Im hoping to add some more view modes shortly.

> It would also be nice to be able to right-click on songs in
> the library and choose Add/Insert/Play. Same goes for right-clicking
> on an artist or an album... The current layout of the library makes it
> very "laborsome" to click on a song way down at the bottom left of the
> screen and then go way up to the top right to add it to the play list.
> Minor things, but would be nice.

Indeed, it does need popup menus.. If you double-click items it plays
them without the need for clicking the buttons.. I think if you ctrl+click it
appends too - I've not got moose to hand though, so cant check that.

Hope that helps,

--
- Dr Lovegrove
http://www.rusticrhino.com/drlovegrove

MeSue
2006-03-12, 07:36
Moose doesn't seem to take my Windows taskbar into account when it opens, which means I always have to move the window up a little to get to the buttons along the bottom. This is a minor annoyance, but maybe easily fixable?