PDA

View Full Version : Possible to remotely stream Pandora?



rgbyhkr
2006-03-01, 14:18
I've looked through the FAQs and did a few searches here on the forums without finding a clear answer. I haven't jumped onboard with a SB yet. My first test was to downloaded and setup the SlimServer a couple of days ago and try out the web UI. I was able to stream music to my Treo 700w over EVDO and it works very well. I'll probably pick up a few SBs for the house and I really like the Pandora idea so I'll definitely jump onboard with it.

I know I'll be able to access Pandora stations from the SB, but will you be able to remotely stream those stations as well? Pandora's website requires Flash 7 or 8 and Adobe only offers up to Flash v6 for Windows Mobile 5 at the moment. So, I was hoping to be able to remote stream the pandora stations after I got my SB, Squeezenetwork account and Pandora account setup. Anyone know?

Jeff

andyg
2006-03-01, 14:37
I assume you're talking about the http://server:9000/stream.mp3 stream?

Pandora audio is directly streamed by the player. The "stream.mp3" feature of SlimServer is not available with SqueezeNetwork as the audio streams don't pass through any central server.

rgbyhkr
2006-03-01, 14:42
I assume you're talking about the http://server:9000/stream.mp3 stream?

Pandora audio is directly streamed by the player. The "stream.mp3" feature of SlimServer is not available with SqueezeNetwork as the audio streams don't pass through any central server.

Yeah, that's the stream I was referring to. Hmm, that's unfortunate. Well, I've sent an email to Pandora asking if they have plans for WM5 support. That would be pretty cool and another great use for EVDO.

Jeff