PDA

View Full Version : Rescan speed - is this normal?



Jon
2006-02-26, 20:54
I am in the process of ripping 800 CDs. I have been rescanning for "new and changed music" after ripping 30 to 50 CDs. When I had 300 to 400 CDs ripped, it seemed to me that a rescan for new and changed music would take maybe 15-20 minutes. My last two rescans, however, are taking multiple hours; the latest one, where I had 500 CDs in the library and about 40 newly ripped ones to add, has been running for 4.5 hours now - the CDs I had ripped (artists from H to K) are all in the database, but the scanning continues (I am sure it is just working it's way through the rest of the alphabet).

Do these speeds sound normal? I am surprised at how the time seems to have increased by an order of magnitude once I topped 400 CDs. I am running on an AMD Sempron Processor 3100+ with 768MB memory and WinXP Home. There is no other activity on the system, and the rescan has the CPU pegged at 100%.

This is not really a problem (I'll just kick off my rescans before I go to bed), I am just curious if this is normal.

Michaelwagner
2006-02-26, 22:04
No, it's not normal. Not for any processor faster than a slug.

Check to make sure you don't have any loops in your music database.

A "loop" would be a windows shortcut pointing back "up" the directory tree, or a playlist referring to songs that had moved and are no longer there, or a playlist that had been moved from it's original directory, or a cue sheet with similar errors (I don't know enough about cue sheets to know how to make them "loop").

These things will cause some versions of SlimServer to fail (actually to loop forever).

Some of the new beta versions of the server incorporate "self-defence" code that traps some of these situations but not all.

stinkingpig
2006-02-26, 22:10
>
> I am in the process of ripping 800 CDs. I have been rescanning for "new
> and changed music" after ripping 30 to 50 CDs. When I had 300 to 400
> CDs ripped, it seemed to me that a rescan for new and changed music
> would take maybe 15-20 minutes. My last two rescans, however, are
> taking multiple hours; the latest one, where I had 500 CDs in the
> library and about 40 newly ripped ones to add, has been running for 4.5
> hours now - the CDs I had ripped (artists from H to K) are all in the
> database, but the scanning continues (I am sure it is just working it's
> way through the rest of the alphabet).
>
> Do these speeds sound normal? I am surprised at how the time seems to
> have increased by an order of magnitude once I topped 400 CDs. I am
> running on an AMD Sempron Processor 3100+ with 768MB memory and WinXP
> Home. There is no other activity on the system, and the rescan has the
> CPU pegged at 100%.
>
> This is not really a problem (I'll just kick off my rescans before I go
> to bed), I am just curious if this is normal.

Seems excessive to me -- 786 albums with 8996 songs by 835 artists, I
haven't measured my full scan time because it isn't enough to be annoying.
My machine is a two-year-old Athlon with 1gb RAM and a bunch of other
services (Linux). Probably in the 10 or 15 minute range? I do recall that
rescans sped up a lot when I switched to MySQL, but I don't think they
took more than an hour with the built-in SQLite. I wonder if you've
accidentally introduced a recursion loop, or a corrupt file?

--
Jack Coates At Monkeynoodle Dot Org: It's A Scientific Venture!
"I spent all me tin with the ladies drinking gin, so across the Western
ocean I must wander" - traditional

Jon
2006-02-26, 22:18
Thanks. I don't have any Windows shortcuts (at least, none I created intentionally)in my music folder ... I do have a playlist sitting on one of my Squeezeboxes that might possibly be referring to a file I moved. If I have a loop, would the rescan always loop forever? In both of my recent rescans (the second of which JUST finished), the rescan eventually finished.

Might doing a "Clear library and recan everything" help?

Michaelwagner
2006-02-26, 22:31
Hmm...a few things to check:
1. what version of slimserver are you running?
2. are your music files on a local hard disk or somewhere else?
3. Under Server / Performance / Database Temporary File Tuning (SQLite), make sure it's set to "Use RAM"
4. next down, Database Cache Size Tuning , 10,000 is the default and it works for me at about 8000 tracks. You might try increasing it to 20,000 or 30,000.

Jon
2006-02-27, 04:59
1. what version of slimserver are you running?
2. are your music files on a local hard disk or somewhere else?
3. Under Server / Performance / Database Temporary File Tuning (SQLite), make sure it's set to "Use RAM"
4. next down, Database Cache Size Tuning , 10,000 is the default and it works for me at about 8000 tracks. You might try increasing it to 20,000 or 30,000.
1. V6.2.2
2. Local hard disk
3. It is
4. I currenty have the cache size set to 50,000

A few folks have mentioned the possibility of a recursive loop ... any ideas on how I might look for that, short of opening up 538 folders and inspecting them one at a time, manually?

Thanks ...

mherger
2006-02-27, 07:12
Have you tried shutting down the server, removing slimserversql.db and
restarting it again?

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------
Help translate SlimServer by using the
SlimString Translation Helper (http://www.herger.net/slim/)

Jon
2006-02-27, 11:25
Have you tried shutting down the server, removing slimserversql.db and
restarting it again?

Thank you for the suggestion ... this did the trick. After removing slimserversql.db, the initial scan of 584 albums took about 20 minutes ... and the re-scan for new and changed (after ripping one more CD) took about 2 minutes ... much better!

Michaelwagner
2006-02-27, 17:20
Hey, Michael. How come that worked? I thought that was only for switching versions. ...

mherger
2006-02-28, 01:19
> Hey, Michael. How come that worked? I thought that was only for
> switching versions. ...

Slimserver will always create the db file if it can't find it. I have
experienced strange scan results which would not disappear with a simple
rescan. I delete my file whenever I'm doing an update (I don't update
daily on my main server).

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------
Help translate SlimServer by using the
SlimString Translation Helper (http://www.herger.net/slim/)