PDA

View Full Version : connect sb2 to router



egizzi
2006-02-26, 16:05
Hi-

my wireless router is in my basement. my sb2 is on the second floor. wireless signal is weak. i'd like to run an ethernet cable from the basement router lan port to the sb2 (have open conduit to do this).

that will connect the sb2 to the wireless router via wired cable. but i'd like to be able to surf from my laptop on the second floor wirelessly. i believe that means the sb2 will have to act as a bridge. yes?

do i need a crossover cable for this? thanks

Mark Lanctot
2006-02-26, 16:40
You don't need a crossover cable when going from a router/switch/hub to a device. A crossover is for computer-to-computer (or computer-to-Squeezebox) connections with no router/switch/hub in between.

Your wireless network will still be available when you wire your SB2. You wouldn't set your SB2 up as a bridge anyway, that bridges wireless on the SB2 side to some wired device on the other side - your SB2 would be wireless in this case, which is what you don't want.

The SB2 acts as a wireless receiver, not a wireless transmitter. So it can receive packets wirelessly and forward them to a wired device in bridged mode, but not the other way around, i.e. it doesn't act as an access point.

egizzi
2006-02-26, 22:36
Well then what I'll do is run another wireless router up to the attic and then connect the sb2 to that. Then I'll be able to use the sb2 wired and surf wirelessly upstairs. I thought it acted like an access point, but I misunderstood the use of the term bridge. Thanks.