PDA

View Full Version : Newbie - Linux: Cannot scan library

dhunt
2006-02-25, 19:59
I'm a double newbie... I recently discovered squeezebox and bought one, and then decided that this would be a good time to learn Linux. I'm not so sure I should have tried both at the same time.

Anyway... Linux is installed and I'm crawling through it. I finally got Slimserver installed (using tips I gained through the forum) but now cannot get Slimserver to find the music that I recently ripped to my new Linux box.

I found another post that suggested it could be a permissions problem... I checked that, and with my little Linux experience I don't think that's it.

I go into the management interface and specify my music library as "/home/dhunt/music" and tell it to rescan my for new songs, and it doesn't find a thing. I've also tried to add a "/" after "music" and get the same results. I'm now stumped.

dhunt
2006-02-25, 20:07
I had to add "Execute" rights to the "others" category.

FWIW I'm running Debian.

notanatheist
2006-02-25, 20:19
Are you running Slimserver as "root" (not safe) or as user? Are you running a desktop on your linux box so you can launch something like XMMS to see if you can play back your music there? File extensions? I'd be happy to take a poke at it via SSH. Don't give your passwords on the forums though. Is it safe to assume you have high speed internet and a router? Do you know how to open a port? 22 or any other port forwarded to 22 on your linux box will allow outside access. If that's something you're willing to give a shot bring up a terminal (console) and type "dmesg |grep sshd". If you get a return of two lines then you have SSH running and are a step closer to having remote help.

Oops, posted a few minutes too late.

methane
2006-04-18, 09:03
Newb here,