PDA

View Full Version : Radio Stopped



MarkusW
2006-02-25, 18:27
Hello,
Just having purchased a Squeeze Box, I'm very excited to get going. Playlists work fine with music that's save onto the HD. But if I attempt to listen to internet radio, it simply says "Stopped". It won't connect. But it connects fine through iTunes. Running WindowsXP.

Anyone else encounter this?
Thanks,
MarkusW

danco
2006-02-26, 00:58
In the Web interface go to Server Settings, Network, where there is an entry for Radio Station Timeout. It can't harm to increase this, and might solve your problem.

MarkusW
2006-02-26, 06:52
Excellent suggestion, but still no luck. The only radio stations I see are from ioradio (others require login, are empty, or.. Shoutcast won't come up. Something about web page unavailable (99)). I'm wondering if something else could interfere. iTunes?

mherger
2006-02-26, 07:47
> Excellent suggestion, but still no luck. The only radio stations I see
> are from ioradio (others require login, are empty, or.. Shoutcast won't
> come up. Something about web page unavailable (99)). I'm wondering if
> something else could interfere. iTunes?

If you have a firewall running on your server, be sure slimserver is
allowed to access the internet. Does none of the radio stations work? The
error you get from the Shoutcast plugin means that the plugin was unable
to get the list from Shoutcast - mostly due to network errors.

What's your setup? Is slimserver running on the same machine as iTunes?

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------
Help translate SlimServer by using the
StringEditor Plugin (http://www.herger.net/slim/)

MarkusW
2006-02-26, 19:55
I don't believe I'm running a firewall. iTunes is running on the same machine as slimserver. iTunes works fine accessing the internet and radio, but slimserver cannot access any internet radio.

mherger
2006-02-27, 03:00
> I don't believe I'm running a firewall.

Don't you _believe_ or don't you _know_? Windows XP SP2 by default turns
on the firewall (though this does imho not block outgoing traffic).

> iTunes is running on the same
> machine as slimserver. iTunes works fine accessing the internet and
> radio, but slimserver cannot access any internet radio.

You aren't behind a proxy server, are you?

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------
Help translate SlimServer by using the
SlimString Translation Helper (http://www.herger.net/slim/)

MarkusW
2006-02-27, 17:51
I had turned off the XP firewall. I did have some other (Norton) antivirus/firewall software on here, but I had removed it earlier. No proxy, this is a home pc connected to a cable modem.

It sounds like this is purely a problem on my machine, and not some larger "heres how you do it". Unfortunately that sounds like I have some debugging to do. I had tried running in Safe mode (with networking), but then SlimServer wouldn't start up.
Thanks for the help anyway,
Markus

mherger
2006-02-28, 01:45
> It sounds like this is purely a problem on my machine, and not some
> larger "heres how you do it".

I fear so.

> Unfortunately that sounds like I have
> some debugging to do. I had tried running in Safe mode (with
> networking), but then SlimServer wouldn't start up.

Can you run the following command from a command prompt:

telnet www.shoutcast.com 80

If you get a big black box, type "get /" (even if you can't see what you
type). Do you get an answer?

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------
Help translate SlimServer by using the
SlimString Translation Helper (http://www.herger.net/slim/)

MarkusW
2006-03-04, 12:02
I tried the telnet and I get "could not open connection to the host, on port 80: connect failed"

I'm confused because I have the firewall turned off. Any thoughts?

By the way, I'm originally from Zuri.
Tschuess,
Markus

mherger
2006-03-04, 12:37
> I tried the telnet and I get "could not open connection to the host, on
> port 80: connect failed"

But you can access www.shoutcast.com in a web browser? And what happens if
you "telnet forums.slimdevices.com 80"? There's definitely something wrong
with your network. Please double check your firewall settings.

> I'm confused because I have the firewall turned off. Any thoughts?

You could try to add telnet.exe and slim.exe to the firewall's exceptions,
allowing outgoing traffic.

> By the way, I'm originally from Zuri.

And I hardly dare say: ich bin Aargauer :-)

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------
Help translate SlimServer by using the
StringEditor Plugin (http://www.herger.net/slim/)

MarkusW
2006-03-05, 10:34
Yes!
I had disabled Norton Internet, as well as the windows firewall. But that was not enough. I had to uninstall Norton completely before it would work. Now it works fine!

I wish I knew how to fine streams for radio stations that are not on shoutcast now. Such as Radio24 and Radio Z from Zurich.
I can get them playing from their website. Is there a way to find the stream that way?

Mark Lanctot
2006-03-05, 11:24
I had to uninstall Norton completely before it would work. Now it works fine!

Yes, apparently both Norton and ZoneAlarm leave components of themselves running even after you've disabled them. Usually you just have to disable and reboot to get rid of them, but disabling and uninstalling works too.



I wish I knew how to fine streams for radio stations that are not on shoutcast now. Such as Radio24 and Radio Z from Zurich.
I can get them playing from their website. Is there a way to find the stream that way?

Someone recently suggested the following program, which does just that:

http://www.donationcoder.com/Software/Mouser/urlsnooper/index.html

mherger
2006-03-06, 01:03
> I wish I knew how to fine streams for radio stations that are not on
> shoutcast now. Such as Radio24 and Radio Z from Zurich.
> I can get them playing from their website. Is there a way to find the
> stream that way?

Theoretically the two playlist links they publish should work (can't test
from at work):

http://www.radio24.ch/webradio/stream_hi.asx (128kb)
http://www.energyzueri.ch/energy.asx

Pretty often radios only expose a browser window with an integrated media
player. You'd then have to open the page's source code and search for
anything like ".asx". In the case of DRS3 you'll find
http://asx.skypro.tv/asx/radio-drs/DRS3.asx embedded into the html code.

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------
Help translate SlimServer by using the
SlimString Translation Helper (http://www.herger.net/slim/)

NWP
2006-03-06, 01:47
Someone recently suggested the following program, which does just that:

http://www.donationcoder.com/Software/Mouser/urlsnooper/index.html

I was looking for something exactly like that. Unfortunately it didn't work on either of the stations I tried it on first. I'll mess around with it more tomorrow.

Mark Lanctot
2006-03-06, 16:15
I was looking for something exactly like that. Unfortunately it didn't work on either of the stations I tried it on first. I'll mess around with it more tomorrow.

I have also heard of people using Proxomitron (http://www.proxomitron.info/) for this, but the program seems to be a "web-filtering proxy", whatever that is. :-)

MrC
2006-03-07, 11:35
I have also heard of people using Proxomitron (http://www.proxomitron.info/) for this, but the program seems to be a "web-filtering proxy", whatever that is. :-)

That was me.

For those interested, a proxy is a service that makes requests on behalf of a program (network client). For example, rather than having your browser make direct connections to websites, it instead makes requests to the proxy service, which itself then makes the requests on behalf of the client. This is useful in a variety of situations, ranging from security, access control, and caching commonly accessed content to reduce download traffic.

Once your network client (eg. your web browser) is configured to connect to the Proxomitron proxy instead of via direct connection, Proxomitron acts as a middleman, and makes the web requests and passes the results to the client.

The web-filtering capabilities in Proxomitron allow real-time injection / deletion of content. This allows users to customize what is ultimately presented to their browsers or passed to web servers. A common example is the removal of banner ads, blocking ad sites, or modifying styles sheets, all based on user-defined custom rules.

The key aspect of Proxomitron that I indicated was its log capability. You can capture and see all the requests your browser makes to a web server, and all the replies sent back to the browser. This gives you a quick ability to view the ULRs oft-hidden within javascript, service-side cgi's, etc. You open the log just before connecting to the station, make the connection, and then just search the log for the streaming URLs.

SoundBoy
2006-03-07, 12:03
your favorite radio stations were a give away... Cheers


I tried the telnet and I get "could not open connection to the host, on port 80: connect failed"

I'm confused because I have the firewall turned off. Any thoughts?

By the way, I'm originally from Zuri.
Tschuess,
Markus

SoundBoy
2006-03-07, 12:07
http://dms-cl-011.skypro-media.net/radio24-hi




Yes!
I had disabled Norton Internet, as well as the windows firewall. But that was not enough. I had to uninstall Norton completely before it would work. Now it works fine!

I wish I knew how to fine streams for radio stations that are not on shoutcast now. Such as Radio24 and Radio Z from Zurich.
I can get them playing from their website. Is there a way to find the stream that way?