PDA

View Full Version : Mac user needs ripping advice

brocomm
2006-02-24, 08:49
Hi. I'm a beginner with all this stuff, but I'm also a classical music lover with lots of classical CDs. So, about 2 weeks ago, after reading all the reviews, I purchased the Squeezebox 3 and fell in love right away. I immediately started ripping many of the (mostly classical) CDs that have been sitting on my shelf all these years.

My issue is that I'm a Mac owner, using iTunes, and when I first starting ripping CDs a year or so ago, I only knew about MP3. At that time then, I set the iTunes importing preference to the MP3 encoder, at the highest quality (160 kbps). So, 2 weeks ago, when I went on my Squeezebox-driven ripping rampage, I didn't change that preference.

Yesterday, I read in "The Beginners Guide to Classical" in the Slim Devices Wiki Community that it's essential for classical music lovers to play music "gapless" and thus use a lossless format. The Guide goes on to specifically say that MP3 is lossy and thus NOT good and that I should use FLAC.

So, here are my questions: (1) Given that Macs do not support FLAC (I think), what should I use?; (2) Should I take this advice in the first place? That is, should I re-rip all of the CDs (about 150 of them) that I've already ripped as MP3? and (3) If not, should I rip all future classical CDs in the lossless format that you recommend in #1?

I hope this all makes sense and thanks so much for your input!

danco
2006-02-24, 09:08
If you think that your MP3s are satisfactory, there'sno ned to rip them again. It's up to you.

I would use FLAC for future rips, though. Then you can decide if the quality is sufficiently better to make it worth reripping your old CDs.

xACT will produce FLAC format. I've not actually used it on CDs, but I believe it works. It seems fine on conversion of already existing aiff files into FLAC, which is all I've used it for.

aubuti
2006-02-24, 09:17