PDA

View Full Version : Issue while trying to connect to Squeezenetwork



drumkid
2006-02-23, 11:57
Hello,

I have received my Squeezebox 3 Wireless last week and so far I am very happy about it.

The Squeezebox can access my computer and play my music collection with no problem.

However, for some reason, it won't connect to SqueezeNetwork.
The following error message is displayed when I try to connect:
" Problem: Can't find address for SqueezeNetwork"


I searched on this forum for threads mentionning similar problems and I tried a few things but nothing worked out.
I am sure I am just missing something small, like changing a parameter for my router.

I connect to the Internet with a cable modem (through RoadRunner - Time Warner Cable) and I have a Microsoft MN-700 Wireless Router.

Below, I have copied all the information displayed on the Squeezebox and in the Utility for my wireless router.
Hope this helps.

Does anyone have a clue about why the Squeezebox can't connect to SqueezeNetwork?

Sorry if this problem has been answered a million times already!

THANKS!



----------------------------------------------------------------
SQUEEZEBOX SETTINGS
----------------------------------------------------------------

Current Network Settings

- Connect via: Wireless
- Obtain IP address: Automatically (DHCP)
- IP address: 192.168.2.119
- Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.0
- Gateway: 192.168.2.1
- DNS Server: 192.168.2.1
- SlimServer: johnringler (192.168.2.153)
- SSID: MSHOME
- Wireless signal strength: 83%
- Wireless encryption: 128 bit
- Bridge wireless to ethernet: No
- MAC address: 00 04 20 06 4c 72
- Auto Upgrade: Off
- Firmware version: 28



----------------------------------------------------------------
MICROSOFT BROADBAND NETWORK UTILITY (FOR MN-700 WIRELESS ROUTER)
----------------------------------------------------------------


Wide area network (WAN) settings - Dynamic

Broadband connection: Connected
WAN IP address: 192.168.102.102
Subnet mask: 255.255.255.0
Default gateway: 192.168.102.1
Primary Domain Name System (DNS): 192.168.2.1
Secondary DNS: 66.75.164.90



Local area network (LAN) settings

Local IP address: 192.168.2.1
Subnet mask: 255.255.255.0
DHCP server: Enabled



Local Area Network Settings

Device name: MN-700
IP address: 192.168.2.1
Subnet mask: 255.255.255.0
DHCP server: Enabled
DHCP starting address: 192.168.2.2
DHCP ending address: 192.168.2.199
Lease time for assigned IP address: two weeks



Wide Area Network Settings
Internet connection type
Dynamic Obtains an IP address dynamically from your ISP


Dynamic connection
MAC address: 00 - 11 - 11 - B3 - 46 - 56 (0-9, A-F)
Obtain DNS address: Automatically
Primary Domain Name System (DNS) address: 192.168.2.1
Secondary DNS address (optional): 66.75.164.90



----------------------------------------------------------------
IPCONFIG
----------------------------------------------------------------

C:\>ipconfig

Windows IP Configuration


Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.153
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1

Ethernet adapter {9014CE91-5805-4B4E-A41D-74E7CE7C3BA1}:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 0.0.0.0
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 0.0.0.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :

Mark Lanctot
2006-02-23, 12:24
When you get a "can't find address" error on SqueezeNetwork, it's due to problems with the DNS server.

In this case, you're using your router as a DNS server. I could not get this to work with my Squeezebox or my computer, although the DNS server was activated in the router.

The DNS server is also activated in my DSL modem. I can use that as a DNS server on my computer but it won't work every time on the Squeezebox - I'm thinking because it's slow and the Squeezebox has a narrow timeout window.

It looks in your case, however, that you've got the router looped back to itself as a DNS server. It's 192.168.2.1 and you have its primary DNS server as 192.168.2.1, i.e. itself. It's only marginally working as a DNS server, using the secondary DNS server at 66.75.164.90. You get this DNS data automatically from your ISP, so I'm not sure why 192.168.2.1 is in here. If you wipe it and reboot the router you'll probably get a good address and it may work.

Your DSL modem appears to be at 192.168.102.1. Surf to it like you would your router - it probably has correct entries for both primary and secondary DNS servers direct from your ISP. You may want to use it as your Squeezebox DNS server.

Or you could do like I do - I'm using my external DNS server directly in the Squeezebox. So you'd enter 66.75.164.90 as the DNS server, or an external primary DNS server found in your DSL modem or your router (after you fix it). The danger is, if your ISP moves this around you won't pick it up. If you use your router or modem they should pick it up if your ISP changes it.

To recap, you have 3 options:

1. Get your router DNS server working by wiping its primary DNS server entry and rebooting it. Use your router IP address, 192.168.2.1 as the DNS server in your Squeezebox.

2. Use your DSL modem's IP address, 192.168.102.1 as the DNS server in your Squeezebox.

3. Use an external DNS server as the DNS server in your Squeezebox, finding this out either by fixing the router's primary DNS server or using the primary DNS server listed in your DSL modem.

drumkid
2006-02-23, 15:01
Hi,
Thanks for your reply.

I am not sure I follow you: you are saying that the problem is that the router loops back to itself as a DNS server because the router IP address (192.168.2.1) is the same as the DNS primary server.
But your solution (in option 1) is:

"Use your router IP address, 192.168.2.1 as the DNS server in your Squeezebox."

Isn't it exactly the same as what I currently have?

Anyway, in my router utility under the WAN settings, I asked for the DNS address to be obtained AUTOMATICALLY.

Now my primary DNS address is: 66.75.164.90
(and the secondary DNS address is empty)

But the Squeezebox still can't connect to SqueezeNetwork!!

I looked in the settings of the Squeezebox and the DNS Server address is still: 192.168.2.1

How do I change this number? ie: Is there a way to enter the DNS address manually in the Squeezebox?

I thought it would update automatically using the DNS Server address specified in the router's utility (66.75.164.90)

Any advice?

Thanks.

drumkid
2006-02-23, 15:19
OK I just figured it out:

In order to change the DNS server address in the Squeezebox, I had to switch to "Manual IP".

Now SqueezeNetwork works just fine! Youpiiiii!

Mark Lanctot
2006-02-23, 16:17
I am not sure I follow you: you are saying that the problem is that the router loops back to itself as a DNS server because the router IP address (192.168.2.1) is the same as the DNS primary server.
But your solution (in option 1) is:

"Use your router IP address, 192.168.2.1 as the DNS server in your Squeezebox."

Isn't it exactly the same as what I currently have?


I should have added "after fixing it". ;-)

Looks like you have it sorted out now.

drumkid
2006-02-23, 17:43
Yes, thank you so much for your help!
See you around on this forum...