PDA

View Full Version : problem playing mp3 - winamp media file



rick's cafe
2006-02-19, 08:31
Weird problem.. I have ripped an album into mp3 and all tracks play fine in Winamp.. but for some reason only about 5 of 13 tracks will play on SB3.... the tracks that do not play do not appear to have any tagging on them... SB3 says it cannot open file type.. despite it being the same as those tracks in the album (first 5) which it will play. The tracks that it does play has all tagging info... I have tried to re-rip the cd but problem still happens.. has anyone experience this before.. and what can be doent to fix it?

Mark Lanctot
2006-02-20, 13:05
What do the files look like? Do they have a proper name and a proper extension?

What ripper are you using? Sounds like it screwed up.

rick's cafe
2006-02-22, 07:29
hi mark... although the tracks were ripped as mp3's using winamp they were not given traditional .mp3 extensions... not sure why that is the case.. should i try to rename each file? however all tracks play fine with winamp... it is just sb3 which says it cant open file.

also any idea on why the tagging would differ between those which do play on sb3 and those that do not... although I am not infront of SS right now.. I am fairly certain that the tracks that do play on sb3 do not have proper extensions either - although I will double check that.

Mark Lanctot
2006-02-22, 11:41
hi mark... although the tracks were ripped as mp3's using winamp they were not given traditional .mp3 extensions... not sure why that is the case.. should i try to rename each file? however all tracks play fine with winamp... it is just sb3 which says it cant open file.

Yeah, I would think that'd be all that would be required.



also any idea on why the tagging would differ between those which do play on sb3 and those that do not... although I am not infront of SS right now.. I am fairly certain that the tracks that do play on sb3 do not have proper extensions either - although I will double check that.

Bizarre, but it could be due to an old database entry, although I think it takes into account file names (and those obviously changed).

I'd change all extensions to .mp3 and rescan, using the "clear library and rescan" option.

Funny, I have never heard of ripping in Winamp. It either doesn't work very well or you have a setting amiss.

rick's cafe
2006-02-23, 03:18
i will try renaming as suggested and hopefully that will sort it out... I agree it is very weird and will try alternative rippers

regarding the databse .. not sure if that is so much of an issue in this case ... as I use BMF option when looking for albums /tracks to play.. which as I understand it does not utilize the database