PDA

View Full Version : Live365 and ShoutCast



brucegrr
2006-02-18, 15:48
I am having a problem with Live365 and ShoutCast. This problem started today. Prior to today I have had no problem connecting to either of these services. All other internet based connections work fine.

Live365 gives me a log-in error. My username and password are correct. I can go to their website and log-in without problem. I can not log-in, either from the Squeezebox or the slim server interface.

Shout Cast gives me a website not found error from the Squeezebox. From the slim server interface I get the following "There was an error parsing the stream information. Try reducing the number of streams if you've set a great number. (2)"

I am using the latest beta from the download page and I am using the latest firmware update.

I am connected wirelessly with a 99% signal. I am using Windows XP sp2 and a DI-624 Router (with super g turned off)

Suggestions?

Thank you
Bruce Gerencser

brucegrr
2006-02-18, 20:29
Removing the beta and returning to the previous version and deleting the .pref file fixed the problem

Not sure what CAUSED it but I do know what FIXED it.

Any insight is greatly appreciated

Bruce Gerencser

mherger
2006-02-18, 23:35
> I am having a problem with Live365 and ShoutCast. This problem started
> today. Prior to today I have had no problem connecting to either of
> these services. All other internet based connections work fine.

Did you update your slimserver today? What exact version are you running?
And what was the previous release you were successfully using?

If you didn't change anything on your side, chances are there was a
networking problem.

> Live365 gives me a log-in error. My username and password are correct.

Did you re-enter it to be sure?

> Shout Cast gives me a website not found error from the Squeezebox. From
> the slim server interface I get the following "There was an error
> parsing the stream information. Try reducing the number of streams if
> you've set a great number. (2)"

Did you follow this advice? This error usually happens when there's a
station submitting information which is breaking the XML's structure
(mostly badly encoded non latin characters). Pretty often these are little
popular streams. In reducing the number of total streams you can get rid
of that station, resulting in a clean XML file.

> I am using the latest beta from the download page and I am using the
> latest firmware update.

6.5 or 6.2.2? Don't mess with 6.5 if you're not ready to live with some
bugs. It's still considered experimental.

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------
Help translate SlimServer by using the
StringEditor Plugin (http://www.herger.net/slim/)

brucegrr
2006-02-19, 06:04
I was using 6.5 and I returned to 6.2.2. The problems began when I started using 6.5

I triple checked my username and password with Live 365.

Thank you for answering my post. I appreciate the information received in these forums

Bruce Gerencser