PDA

View Full Version : RIAA is evil

jasenj1
2006-02-16, 10:11
A few articles for your reading... pleasure?

http://arstechnica.com/news.ars/post/20060215-6190.html

http://www.eff.org/deeplinks/archives/004409.php

Since SlimDevice's product depends on copying CDs (and other sources) to computers, I think this opinion from the RIAA that such copying is not "fair use" is rather relevant to those of us with Squeezeboxes.

If you feel so inclined, you can probably write your congressperson and ask them to tell the RIAA to go get stuffed.

- Jasen.

SMWinnie
2006-02-17, 08:55
Disclaimer: I am not your lawyer. I am not an expert in copyright law. This message is a gross overgeneralization.

Put this in context. The RIAA and MPAA do not like the results of two court decisions, Universal v. Sony, 464 U.S. 417 (1984) (the "Betamax Case") and RIAA v. Diamond Multimedia, 180 F.3d 1072 (9th Cir. 1999) (the "Diamond Rio Case"). Put simply, the Betamax Case is what you point to when defending time-shifting and the Diamond Rio case is what you point to when defending place-shifting.

Not only do the RIAA and MPAA dislike those decisions, but there's good reason for the RIAA and MPAA to think that they might be able to get the results changed. For one thing, the courts in question were (mostly) doing statutory analysis. That is, the courts were deciding what Congress meant and if you lobby Congress to change the rules (a la the Sonny Bono/Mickey Mouse act) then the court decisions go out the window.

There is a theoretical limit below which fair use cannot go ("constitutional fair use"), but I believe the consensus view is that your TiVo and your FLAC rips depend on statutory, not constitutional, fair use and can be taken away by Congress.