PDA

View Full Version : Help with pc server.

steven33
2006-02-15, 13:14
I am looking at building a mini-itx server for slimserver use only (as a form of NAS). What do I need to run slimserver?

It will be connected to my wireless network (other pc's running windows). I don't want to waste processing power running programs/applications that I am not going to use.

As a complete novice, what do I need to do?

Thanks

mattybain
2006-02-15, 14:09
I guess it depends what you want to do with it, how many GB's of music you will havee, whether it will be left on 24/7, whether you can remote desktop or need a monitor.

I have a small ITX motherboard PC which is on all the time but goes into standby when not needed (the squeezebox brings it back to life) and has no monitor. CPU was a cheap Celeron 2.8 with 512mb of RAM and a 300Gb Hard disc, total cost about 300.

Re-reading your post however it seems that you may just have been asking what software you need to run. In this case just slimserver, you don't have to have anything running at all hence you don't need a fantastically powerful cpu.

steven33
2006-02-15, 16:28
Sorry, perhaps I needed to be a bit more specific. If I take my bare pc with no OS, what is the minimum software I need to run slimserver?

I want the PC to behave like a NAS (but with a bit more oomph). I am worried that Windows XP will use up valuable resources and won't really use hardly any of it's functions. I don't know anything about Linux.

All I want it to do is store my music files (which will be ripped on my laptop) and run slimserver.

ceejay
2006-02-15, 16:36
Sorry, perhaps I needed to be a bit more specific. If I take my bare pc with no OS, what is the minimum software I need to run slimserver?

I want the PC to behave like a NAS (but with a bit more oomph). I am worried that Windows XP will use up valuable resources and won't really use hardly any of it's functions. I don't know anything about Linux.