PDA

View Full Version : Help - SB3 Networking Issues



Skwark
2006-02-14, 12:33
Hi,

Just bought a SB3 (wireless) and I'm having problems getting it to talk to a) the SqueezeNetwork and b) the SlimServer.

It connects to the router fine (Netgear) but oddly it obtains an external IP address... which may be the root of the problems.

Any ideas?? I was hoping to just plug and go...

snarlydwarf
2006-02-14, 12:44
An external IP? You mean 169.254.something?

This is basically a sign that it couldn't make DHCP work.

The first thing to check (since it's the first thing that happens) is encryption protocols. Are you sure you've entered the correct keys on the SB3? To delete characters use the Add key, and make sure there are no trailing spaces in the key: "password " is not the same as "password" and seeing the difference is tricky.

The other thing to check is to make sure any "super duper extended modes" are turned off on your router. In order to sound cooler, many routers come with nonstandard "enhancements" that work only with their products. (ie, Linksys's enhancements won't work if you have a Dlink card, or the other way around). These often tend to confuse other devices.

Skwark
2006-02-14, 15:40
Ok, thanks for the tips.

I have manually set the IP and DNS and at least the server is talking now... however the SqueezeNetwork issue has moved on to "Can't find SqueezeNetwork address" or similar when it trys to connect...

The RSS feeds seem to work... is this a router/firewall issue?

snarlydwarf
2006-02-14, 16:01
That error sounds like you have the wrong IP for your DNS server.

(Or something like the wrong gateway.)

The gateway should be the IP of your router.

abdomen
2006-02-14, 16:03
... is this a router/firewall issue?
Have you double-checked the default gateway address and subnet mask you entered into the squeezebox?

Skwark
2006-02-15, 02:27
The gateway should be the IP of your router.

It is now but still no luck...

To confirm current settings:

Router:-
LAN IP: 192.168.0.1
IP Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.0

PC:-
IP: 192.168.0.2

Squeezebox:-
IP: 192.168.0.3
SlimServer IP: 192.168.0.2
IP Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.0
Gateway: 192.168.0.1
DNS: 192.168.0.1

Anything not right above?

Skwark
2006-02-15, 02:42
Right, used the DNS IP of my ISP (obtained from router config) and all appears to be OK now.

Is this a Netgear/Squeezebox issue/bug? or just the complications of networking?

abdomen
2006-02-15, 08:35
Right, used the DNS IP of my ISP (obtained from router config) and all appears to be OK now.

Is this a Netgear/Squeezebox issue/bug? or just the complications of networking?
Your router is not a DNS server. Therefore, when your Squeezebox asked it to resolve the host name of the squeeze network server to an IP address, it didn't get an answer. Glad you're fuly up and running. :)

pablolie
2006-02-15, 09:24
I had the same issue, and solved it with the identical approach. And my wireless router hasn't an issue with DHCP with any other device, so I for one am convinced there is an issue with the SB3 is some setups.