PDA

View Full Version : MusicMagic Mixer: What do you think?



NJRonbo
2006-02-14, 08:40
In another thread I recently posted, someone suggested
using Predexis MusicMagic Mixer over the slim design software
for playing music to the squeezebox.

Do many of you think this is the best option?

Also, can it be used UNREGISTERED or should it be
REGISTERED for best compatability? I don't even know
the registration cost as the software page doesn't
indicate this at all.

Thanks in advance for your advice.

Bart
2006-02-14, 09:25
someone suggested using Predexis MusicMagic Mixer over the slim design software for playing music to the squeezebox.
At the moment the only functionality is to send tracks to append to the current playlist on Slimserver, no functionality to see the current track, pause, skip, move tracks up or down, etc.
However, Musicmagic is so good that even this is an improvement over the Slimserver web interface - Musicmagic's library can be searched and sorted much more easily than Slimserver's. It talks to Slimserver via the CLI, so in time it may have much better functionality.
It can be used unregistered (I forget what restrictions the unregistered version has)

hdarwen
2006-02-14, 09:45
The registered version has the API that enables integration with SlimServer.
Basically, this allows you to generate a MusicMagic playlist through the
slim web UI or the remote.

----- Original Message -----
From: "Bart" <Bart.2389sb (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com>
To: <discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com>
Sent: Tuesday, February 14, 2006 4:25 PM
Subject: [slim] Re: MusicMagic Mixer: What do you think?


>
> NJRonbo Wrote:
>> someone suggested using Predexis MusicMagic Mixer over the slim design
>> software for playing music to the squeezebox.
> At the moment the only functionality is to send tracks to append to the
> current playlist on Slimserver, no functionality to see the current
> track, pause, skip, move tracks up or down, etc.
> However, Musicmagic is so good that even this is an improvement over
> the Slimserver web interface - Musicmagic's library can be searched and
> sorted much more easily than Slimserver's. It talks to Slimserver via
> the CLI, so in time it may have much better functionality.
> It can be used unregistered (I forget what restrictions the
> unregistered version has)
>
>
> --
> Bart
> ------------------------------------------------------------------------
> Bart's Profile: http://forums.slimdevices.com/member.php?userid=116
> View this thread: http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=21106
>
>

waldy
2006-02-14, 09:49
Hi NJ,

I've been using Music Magic with slimserver for a couple of months now and &
v. impressed with the results it produces & stability & ease of use within
slimserver.

If like me you like to hear a mix of your music library (nor random), mmm
produces very nice playlists for your, just pic your preffered 'seed song'
press play on you remote for a second, and a mix based on you first song is
generated.

Use it all the time now. Think it cost $30 for the full license, but
theyll give you a trial license to activate the api that's needed to work
with slimserver if you mail them

regards

Waldy

Kyle
2006-02-14, 09:58
I think you can use it unregistered for 30 days of unlimited functionality. It doesn't currently function as a GUI for Slimserver, but I and others have requested that. What it does best is analyze your music library and create playlists for you based on tracks you select. You can choose how varied the playlists will be and whether transitions will be smooth or jagged. I usually create 100-song playlists based on a single song or group of songs. It does a very good job, and I really like the fact that it finds tracks that I would never think of putting into a particular playlist. It really opens up your collection for you and allows you to hear things you otherwise wouldn't. It also automates the time-consuming task of manually creating playlists.

Kyle
2006-02-14, 10:00
The registered version has the API that enables integration with SlimServer.
Basically, this allows you to generate a MusicMagic playlist through the
slim web UI or the remote.


While it used to be true that you had to register (and pay) to use it with Slimserver, you can now get a free 30-day registration number that allows you to try it with Slimserver for free.

Pale Blue Ego
2006-02-14, 10:03
I've been trying out MMM for a week or so. It does a pretty good job of building playlists, but I can't figure out how to send them to slimserver. Maybe it's because I'm running slimserver on Linux and MMM on Windows. Does MMM have to be running on the same machine as slimserver?

kdf
2006-02-14, 10:39
Quoting Pale Blue Ego <Pale.Blue.Ego.238b6d (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com>:

>
> I've been trying out MMM for a week or so. It does a pretty good job of
> building playlists, but I can't figure out how to send them to
> slimserver. Maybe it's because I'm running slimserver on Linux and MMM
> on Windows. Does MMM have to be running on the same machine as
> slimserver?

There is a remote access feature of the API, but it isn't very
practical. For any practical use of most features, you would want
them on the same computer. If MMM detects a slimserver install, you
can right click the play button and choose from a list of slimserver
players. REcent versions have only worked for sending to the first
player in the list, but I believe this is fixed with the released 1.5.

-kdf

mattybain
2006-02-14, 10:53
I've been trying out MMM for a week or so. It does a pretty good job of building playlists, but I can't figure out how to send them to slimserver. Maybe it's because I'm running slimserver on Linux and MMM on Windows. Does MMM have to be running on the same machine as slimserver?

You could try this page from the wiki http://wiki.slimdevices.com/index.cgi?MusicMagicMixer - I don't promise it is perfect (because I wrote it) but it may help.

Kyle
2006-02-14, 11:04
I've been trying out MMM for a week or so. It does a pretty good job of building playlists, but I can't figure out how to send them to slimserver. Maybe it's because I'm running slimserver on Linux and MMM on Windows. Does MMM have to be running on the same machine as slimserver?
It can be tricky to get these two to play together. As an easy workaround, I just save the playlist to my playlist folder and then have Slimserver rescan playlists. Not the quickest method, but it works if MMM won't send directly to Slimserver.

joek
2006-02-14, 11:46
Quoting Pale Blue Ego <Pale.Blue.Ego.238b6d (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com>:

>
> I've been trying out MMM for a week or so. It does a pretty good job of
> building playlists, but I can't figure out how to send them to
> slimserver. Maybe it's because I'm running slimserver on Linux and MMM
> on Windows. Does MMM have to be running on the same machine as
> slimserver?

There is a remote access feature of the API, but it isn't very
practical. For any practical use of most features, you would want
them on the same computer. If MMM detects a slimserver install, you
can right click the play button and choose from a list of slimserver
players. REcent versions have only worked for sending to the first
player in the list, but I believe this is fixed with the released 1.5.

-kdf

I believe it is a requirement to have MMM and Slimserver on the same box. Make sure you are using MMM v1.5, since I think the older version had problems sending playlists to SB. Also, make sure you have slimserver running before starting MMM. In MMM, right click on the play button in gui to select SB. Could also try -slim command line option when starting MMM.

I am running MMM v1.5a with Slimserver 6.2.1 on Linux and able to send mixes to two SB3's without any problems. Although, I had no success with the previous released version of MMM.

BTW, the MMM API service does not have to be running unless you want to do the mixes from SB remote or gui. I would recommend getting other pieces working first before running the API service.

Joe :-)

Siduhe
2006-02-14, 13:07
I've been trying out MMM for a week or so. It does a pretty good job of building playlists, but I can't figure out how to send them to slimserver. Maybe it's because I'm running slimserver on Linux and MMM on Windows. Does MMM have to be running on the same machine as slimserver?

If you want the two to integrate (i.e. create a MM mix from within Slimserver) then I believe they have to be on the same machine. However, I have the same set up as you (MM on Windows laptop and Slimserver and music on Linux NAS) and use the following workround:

1. Point MM at network share and let it analyse music.

2. Create and save mix on windows laptop.

3. The problem is that MM sees all the files as "T:/My Music/file" and Slimserver as "//mnt/share/My Music/file", so the playlists won't work in Slimserver when I rescan.

4. Answer is to run a quick script that converts the "T:/My Music" bit to "//mnt/share" and resaves the playlist in the directory that Slimserver looks for playlists in. I wrote a very basic one, but the most user friendly I've since discovered is at
http://www.joejaworski.com/m3u/

5. Rescan playlists only in Slimserver, and the MM mix appears there.

A few more clicks for sure, but nothing that bothers me too much. Hope this helps.

kdf
2006-02-14, 13:08
Quoting joek <joek.238g1b (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com>:

> I believe it is a requirement to have MMM and Slimserver on the same
> box.

for MMM to send to slimserver, yes. For an outside program to talk to
MMM, no. However, the API used remotely from slimserver isn't
practical (requires too specific a setup), so it is not implemented.

-k

NJRonbo
2006-02-14, 13:20
Welp, for $20 I registered it.

Thanks for all the help here.

Not due to receive my Squeezebox till tomorrow, so
I really can't put it to the test till then.

This thread will prove to be very valuable to me
once I am up and running in the next 24 hours.

Pale Blue Ego
2006-02-14, 14:07
I'll probably register MMM soon, but so far I can't figure out how to use it on Debian. I've grabbed the .tgz file, but I'm unsure where to extract it, what permissions it needs, and how to run it.

If I extract it to /home/username/Predixis/

then type

/home/userneme/Predixis/MusicMagicMixer/MusicMagicMixer --daemon

I get the message: JAVA_HOME is not set. MusicMagicMixer cannot start

Do I need to run MusicMagicServer or MusicMagicService instead of MusicMagicMixer?

Simon Still
2006-02-14, 15:02
I've been using it on XP for some months now and really like it. It would
be nice if it would run as a service rather than an app as i don't use the
MMM interface but generate playlists from the slim web interface (or from
the SB's).

I've had no issues running it that way. I tend to generate a pl off a seed
song and see what else comes up - it usually points me in the direction of
another album. A great way of getting the most from a large music
collection.

Siduhe
2006-02-14, 15:46
I'll probably register MMM soon, but so far I can't figure out how to use it on Debian. I've grabbed the .tgz file, but I'm unsure where to extract it, what permissions it needs, and how to run it.

If I extract it to /home/username/Predixis/

then type

/home/userneme/Predixis/MusicMagicMixer/MusicMagicMixer --daemon

I get the message: JAVA_HOME is not set. MusicMagicMixer cannot start

Do I need to run MusicMagicServer or MusicMagicService instead of MusicMagicMixer?

It sounds like you need to make certain your JAVA_HOME variable is set to the same directory where Java is installed. Have you seen these instructions ?

http://music.predixis.com/2_download_linux.html

Thomas J. Angstman
2006-02-14, 15:47
Actually, you can put MMM to the test by running softsqueeze. I have
softsqueeze at work and SLIMP3 at home. Both use mmm. I don't know
what all the settings do in the Musicmagic section of the slimserver
interface, but I would love to know how to tell it not to mix in songs
that are in my zapped playlist, if possible. I'd like to be able to get
a playlist without any filthy songs.

tj

-----Original Message-----
From: discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
[mailto:discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com] On Behalf Of NJRonbo
Sent: Tuesday, February 14, 2006 2:01 PM
To: discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
Subject: [slim] Re: MusicMagic Mixer: What do you think?


Welp, for $20 I registered it.

Thanks for all the help here.

Not due to receive my Squeezebox till tomorrow, so
I really can't put it to the test till then.

This thread will prove to be very valuable to me
once I am up and running in the next 24 hours.


--
NJRonbo
------------------------------------------------------------------------
NJRonbo's Profile: http://forums.slimdevices.com/member.php?userid=3635
View this thread: http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=21106

Pale Blue Ego
2006-02-14, 18:41
It sounds like you need to make certain your JAVA_HOME variable is set to the same directory where Java is installed. Have you seen these instructions ?

http://music.predixis.com/2_download_linux.html

I guess I'm in way over my head. I don't know enough about Linux to do this. Every answer leads to 6 more questions. I found how to set environment variables on Google, but there are java directories in several places and I keep getting "not a valid identifier" when I try them. What's the $ for, do I put the path in (), space or no space after the $? I'm sure there's a book that covers this, but the answers are probably in different chapters!

Pale Blue Ego
2006-02-14, 19:27
OK after more searching and studying, I finally got the variable set (at least I'm not getting errors about JAVA_HOME anymore).

But when I start the MusicMagicMixer executable, nothing happens. It's supposed to launch a GUI, right? I get no errors, but neither does anything show up the process list as running.

llin
2006-02-14, 23:41
Do I need to run MusicMagicServer or MusicMagicService instead of MusicMagicMixer?

If you want the headless version.

Hopefully this helps:
http://wiki.slimdevices.com/index.cgi?MusicMatchMixerHeadlessOnLinux

Pale Blue Ego
2006-02-15, 08:30
Headless might be an option, because I don't really have physical access to the server, but I need to be able to get the gui running before I pony up for the license.

Why are none of these Predixis help pages available from the main page? None of them seem to be linked to anything else.

Building my own playlists is starting to seem a lot easier than using MMM at this point.

NJRonbo
2006-02-15, 09:51
Okay...

So I just got my Squeezebox.

I installed Slimserver and all works well.

I want to use MusicMagic Mixer with my Slimserver.

Can anyone give me a quick "how to connect" tutorial?

I am using Windows XP

kdf
2006-02-15, 10:14
Quoting NJRonbo <NJRonbo.23a5ub (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com>:

> Can anyone give me a quick "how to connect" tutorial?

http://wiki.slimdevices.com/index.cgi?MusicMagicMixer

NJRonbo
2006-02-15, 10:34
These instructions work well until you get to the
part about enabling the "Radio Button" in the SERVER
SETTINGS webpage directory.

There is no radio button.

kdf
2006-02-15, 10:36
Quoting NJRonbo <NJRonbo.23a78b (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com>:

>
> These instructions work well until you get to the
> part about enabling the "Radio Button" in the SERVER
> SETTINGS webpage directory.
>
> There is no radio button.

did you enable the API in MusicMagic Mixer? This must be enabled when
slimserver starts up, or the radio button will not be there (because
slimserver has no idea that musicmagic exists if there is no API to
talk to).
-k

NJRonbo
2006-02-15, 12:30
I did enable it, Yes.

kdf
2006-02-15, 12:41
make sure it is working and on the default port
(http://localhost:10002, or something like that. shoudl be part of
MMM's docs)

make sure you restart slimserver with the API running. Slimserver
will not suddenly notice the change. You could also try enabling
d_musicmagic in server settings->debugging, open up the log url (link
at the end of the decription text at the top). Then go into server
settings->plugins and disable the musicmagic plugin, then re-enable
it. Check the log to see what it says about communication with MMM
-k

NJRonbo
2006-02-15, 16:38
Guys,

Thanks for the help. Still no radio button, though
I haven't gone into the debugging instructions as stated
above.

Question...

Where exactly in SERVER SETTINGS will I find a button
labedled "radio"?

kdf
2006-02-15, 17:49
Quoting NJRonbo <NJRonbo.23aolb (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com>:

> Where exactly in SERVER SETTINGS will I find a button
> labedled "radio"?
>
it is not labelled "radio", it is a radio button. a radio button is a
circular input widget that has a value of TRUE or FALSE, changing when
you click on it, and blocking any other radio button that might be in
the same group. This is different from a checkbox which would allow
multiple items in a group to be TRUE, or checked. The use musicmagic
setting is at the bottom of the main Server Settings page, down below
where you set the music folder.
-k

whicken
2006-02-15, 22:44
Headless might be an option, because I don't really have physical access to the server, but I need to be able to get the gui running before I pony up for the license.
You can get trial keys by emailing music@predixis.com - make sure you get it working and like it before you worry about paying for anything.


Why are none of these Predixis help pages available from the main page? None of them seem to be linked to anything else.
Yes, the website needs to be updated. We're working on it.

NJRonbo
2006-02-16, 14:16
Sorry guys. I must be doing something wrong.

I did enable API in Music Match.

I am starting MM first, then Slim Server.

I go to SERVER SETTINGS and there is no RADIO button.
Only thing I see is an import feature for iTUNES.

I see nothing in the log.

kdf
2006-02-16, 14:56
Quoting NJRonbo <NJRonbo.23ccbb (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com>:


> I see nothing in the log.

stop the server

start->run
cmd <enter>

"c:\program files\slimserver\server\slim.exe" --d_musicmagic

watch the command prompt window and it should show that slimserver is
trying to connect, and whether there is a response or not.

-k