PDA

View Full Version : Synchronisation behaviour



Adlopa
2006-02-11, 03:38
I'm trying to configure two hardware 'servant' players so that they're synced with a software 'master' player. The master is playing 24/7 and I want to turn on either servant and just have it pick up the stream from its current position and start playing.

But... when I turn on a servant, it restarts the master's current track rather than just playing from its current position. Turning a servant off stops the master playback too.

Am I missing something here, or is the sync behaviour I'm looking for just not possible..?

(btw I've tried the Extended Sync plugin, but it makes no difference.)

EDIT: Ah, I've just discovered that this is an 'undocumented feature'... Oh well.

ceejay
2006-02-11, 04:01
By software player I presume you mean Softsqueeze... which version, exactly? There have been some changes in the way it works with sync recently, make sure you have the latest version.

You might also want to have a look at Player Settings / Audio, if you haven't already, and play with some of the settings there.

Ceejay

Adlopa
2006-02-11, 04:18
This SoftSqueeze 2.3 and yep, I've fiddled with the Audio sync settings. As edited to mention, this seems to be a known issue without a fix at the moment.

kweller
2006-02-11, 04:52
In article <Adlopa.2329tb (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com>, Adlopa wrote:
> Am I missing something here, or is the sync behaviour I'm looking for
> just not possible..?

Well I confess to being somewhat jaded by the whole synchronisation
experience but I'd suggest you are not going to get it to work. I spent
ages trying to get SoftSqueeze to sync with a hardware player and
eventually gave up as it never stayed in sync for long.

I then purchased another Squeezebox which sits in the same room as the
PC thinking that would solve all the problems. Unfortunately That's an
indifferent experience as well as far as synchronisation goes. The step
back to the beginning of the track when synchronising a new player is
WAD so there's nothing you can do about that. Once synchronised I find
the two Squeezeboxes usually stay synchronised but occasionally drift
off a little - they often correct on the next track.

Even when they are synchronised the next problem you'll probably
experience is that they no longer display the correct track details,
i.e. they'll display the details for the previous or next track or,
sometimes, the track that is playing won't appear in the playlist at all
(this is all with Random Mix which is how I listen to music, it may be
better playing selected tracks).

Finally, if you manage to get that sorted out I hope you didn't want to
crossfade as that won't work on synchronised players.

If you look back over the forums you'll find similar experiences
reported by lots of people but it doesn't seem to be a priority for
Slimdevices to fix (to be fair they mey be feverishly working in the
background to resolve the issue but I've no visibility of it and never
seen a response on here that would suggest it).

IME the synchronisation is nothing as the advertising led me to believe
and is a huge disappointment so it's a good job the rest of it is pretty
good!

Kevin

4mula1
2006-02-11, 05:16
I've had good luck syncing my 2 SB3s. I've been annoyed by the track restart and the incorrect track title but they aren't deal breakers.

The one thing I did find was that if you turn off the SBs while still synced, SS will show them as not synced. But once you turn they SBs on they are still synced.

Points to remember, but definitely not a deal breaker.

Adlopa
2006-02-11, 09:29
Okay, I'll go into a little detail here -- maybe there is a fix after all. I have SoftSqueeze running on a server and this plays archived BBC radio Real streams via AlienBBC. What I want to be able to do is automatically switch on a hardware player (via an alarm) and have it pick up this stream (I'm not at all concerned about keeping all players in sync).

The problem is that whenever a hardware player is switched on, it resets the stream that SoftSqueeze is currently playing and that can mean rewinding it back by an hour or two. This seems to be the same problem experienced with MP3 syncing (resetting to the start of the track) but there doesn't yet appear to be a solution.

Actually, the Grab Playlist plugin seems to do it, but I can't figure out a way to trigger this automatically using an alarm...

kweller
2006-02-12, 01:33
In article <4mula1.232dzb (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com>, 4mula1 wrote:
> I've been annoyed by the track
> restart and the incorrect track title but they aren't deal breakers.

I don't much care about the track restart - it's a 'feature' - but I
use the MusicInfo screensaver plug-in and the Squeezebox displaying the
wrong information drives me to distraction.

I sync'd two Squeezeboxes just now. It's only on its 2nd synchronised
track and the track details are already wrong, grrrr! When I know what
it's playing it's not so bad but I quite often don't. It's hardly a
great selling point either. I have friends round, extol the virtues of
the Squeezebox then they point out the track details seem wrong...er,
yes they are.

Kevin

kweller
2006-02-12, 01:36
In article <VA.0000083a.033760ab (AT) thewellers (DOT) net>, Kevin Weller wrote:
> the Squeezebox displaying the
> wrong information drives me to distraction

...and I meant to add: The Slimscrobbler plug in gets the track details
right so I don't understand why the server interface is wrong.

Kevin

kweller
2006-02-12, 04:00
In article <VA.0000083a.033760ab (AT) thewellers (DOT) net>, Kevin Weller wrote:
> I sync'd two Squeezeboxes just now. It's only on its 2nd synchronised
> track and the track details are already wrong

...and about an hour later they stopped and the only way I could get
them going again is to unsync. I think the deal is pretty broken, YMMV.

Kevin

timrfletcher
2006-02-12, 07:21
As far as displaying the wrong track, you may be hitting this bug: http://bugs.slimdevices.com/show_bug.cgi?id=2510. The more people vote for it, the more attention it will get.

As for the synchronization restart issue, that is working as designed. I've proposed two changes that would help with these of these issues in some cases at http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=20938. If there's enough interest, maybe we can get someone to implement these, or maybe I can find the time.

Adlopa
2006-02-12, 14:01
Hm, option #2 sounds like a plan to me. My specific problem is that I'm listening to 2hr+ Real streams, so waiting for a 'track' to finish isn't an option -- I need to pick up playback from its current point.

kweller
2006-02-17, 05:22
In article <VA.00000837.02b8d8b3 (AT) thewellers (DOT) net>, Kevin Weller wrote:
> Even when they are synchronised the next problem you'll probably
> experience is that they no longer display the correct track details,

Has anyone been working on this problem? The reason I'm asking is that
I'm using the 6.2.2 nightly from the 15th Feb and have two Squeezeboxes
that have been in sync since last night and are still displaying the
correct track details; I don't ever remember that happening before.
(you know what's going to happen in the next few minutes don't you...)

Kevin

Pale Blue Ego
2006-02-17, 09:15
We had 3 SB3s synched all day yesterday, and they stayed in perfect synch. I think the track details worked correctly, too, though I wasn't paying a lot of attention to that.

I think it's a useful feature. It works well in our setup with wired hardware all of the same generation.