PDA

View Full Version : No connection



barlev
2006-02-06, 15:02
Finally got around to unpacking my SB3. Installed the software. Configured the SB3. Everything went smoothly until I had to input the IP address of the computer running slimserver. The SB3 couldn't connect to the slimserver even though I had given it the correct IP address. It had no problem connecting to my wireless network, assigning the SB3 an IP address, connecting to the SqueezeNetwork etc. Firewalls are not an issue. I'm connecting through a DI-614+ wireless router. I've read some of the other posts by people having similiar problems. Tried some of the fixes suggested, no luck. Any suggestions and/or possibly solutions.

snarlydwarf
2006-02-06, 15:16
Are you sure firewalls (especially something on the server) aren't the problem?

Since DHCP and Squeezenetwork work, you're connected with a working IP (not the link-local network for "i couldn't get an IP"), working DNS and gateway... but it still can't a) find the server and b) connect it.

It should be able to find the server automatically if it's on the same network (most likely 192.168.0.*), that it can't means "something" is stopping it.... which points to a firewall on the server.

What OS is the server running? Most of the time, the installer convinces Windows XP Firewall to let things through to the server... sometimes, for reasons known only to MS, it needs to be rebooted for the changes to work.

Can you turn off the firewall for a couple minutes to check?

Mark Lanctot
2006-02-06, 15:46
barlev wrote:
> Finally got around to unpacking my SB3. Installed
the software.
> Configured the SB3. Everything went smoothly until I
had to input the
> IP address of the computer running slimserver. The
SB3 couldn't connect
> to the slimserver even though I had given it the
correct IP address. It
> had no problem connecting to my wireless network,
assigning the SB3 an
> IP address, connecting to the SqueezeNetwork etc.
**Firewalls are not an
> issue.** I'm connecting through a DI-614+ wireless
router. I've read some
> of the other posts by people having similiar
problems. Tried some of the
> fixes suggested, no luck. Any suggestions and/or
possibly solutions.
>
>

Emphasis by me - are you *sure* that firewalls are
"not an issue"? 90% of the time that's the problem.

If you can connect to SqueezeNetwork fine then you
have no wireless issues. There's something on
your PC blocking communication with the Squeezebox.

What firewall are you using? You're not using
both a 3rd party firewall and Windows XP's
firewall simultaneously? Is your firewall log
showing any blocked activity? The Squeezebox is
very insistent, you should see an access attempt
every 5 seconds. This will quickly fill up your
firewall log, it will be very evident if it's
being blocked then.

SlimServer needs both in and out access.
ZoneAlarm also asks if it should have "server
access" (it should.)

Does your Squeezebox have a unique IP address?
It's not the same as that used by SlimServer?

--
___________________________________


Mark Lanctot
___________________________________