PDA

View Full Version : Syncronising -- track restarts



Cams
2006-02-06, 10:42
I'm just curious to know whether this behaviour can be changed. I'm listening to one SB3 and move to another room and wish to sync, so I go through Settings > Synchronise and it makes the track restart. This is particularly annoying when listening to podcasts, which I do regularly.

Can this be prevented from happening?

Thanks
Cams

kdf
2006-02-06, 11:04
Quoting Cams <Cams.22tjxb (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com>:

>
> I'm just curious to know whether this behaviour can be changed. I'm
> listening to one SB3 and move to another room and wish to sync, so I go
> through Settings > Synchronise and it makes the track restart. This is
> particularly annoying when listening to podcasts, which I do regularly.
>
>
> Can this be prevented from happening?
>
not at this time. The syncronisation feature works by matching the
buffer fills and starting playback for each player at the same instant
for each track. It would be a better idea to sync before you start.
There are a few enhancements requested for more advanced sync
handling, but I'm not sure that skipping to a midpoint in a podcast is
covered by any of them at this point. That would see mto require the
ability for a player to connect to the existing stream going to
another player. Right now, the server delivers a single stream to
each player, even if they are copies of one another.

-kdf

snarlydwarf
2006-02-06, 11:24
hrrm... the GrabPlaylist plugin does this... usually very close to the same spot the other player was at.

It doesn't Sync... it steals the playlist, even mid-track, and moves it.

(I use it every morning as part of my Migrate To The Living Room process, and every night in reverse...)

I haven't looked at how it syncs though, it should be possible to use the same logic and have it not stop the other player.

kweller
2006-02-06, 11:42
IME one of the biggest disappointments of the Squeezebox is
synchronisation.

There's the track restart you mention (and even then my SB2 and 3 are
often unsynchronised for the first track), no crossfade on synchronised
units and my set-up keeps displaying tracks it's not playing when units
have been synchronised for a while. On occasion the track that is
playing is not even in the playlist. The AudioScrobbler plug-in always
logs the correct track so it's something to do with the server.

My intent on buying an SB3 for the kitchen (having decided SoftSqueeze
just wasn't going to be able to synchronise with the existing SB2) was
that if anyone was sitting in kitchen and wanted to hear more clearly
the track currently being played they could just synchronise it - that
causes the restart and first-track-not-synchronised issue.

I then thought I'd leave them 'permanently' synchronised and anyone
wanting to listen could just turn the speakers on but that causes the
track display problem.

I also thought when we have a party these would be really good for
playing music round the house - they're not for the reasons already
mentioned.

The result of this is the kitchen SB3 sits there as an expensive
ornament most of the time which is both a shame and a waste of money.

Don't get me wrong, I think this is a great device and the SB2 in the
study is on most of the time, but it would be much better and more
functional if only I could get the damn things to synchronise properly
and display the correct track names when it does so.

I assume it's something to do with my system (although I've no idea
what) as otherwise I assume I'd see other people here complaining that
synchronisation - one of the advertised benefits of the units - just
doesn't work but when I see

Synchronize music to more roomsóBroadcast the same music or independent
streams to 2, 10 or even 20 rooms by adding Squeezebox players to
stereos in each location.

...on the SlimDevices page I wonder how accurate that claim actually
is.

Kevin

kdf
2006-02-06, 12:04
Quoting Kevin Weller <SlimDML (AT) TheWellers (DOT) net>:


>
> ..on the SlimDevices page I wonder how accurate that claim actually
> is.

I don't sync often, but when I have it works. Admittedly, not always
first time, but a quick stop and play solves it. What ends up killing
it for me, is that I can't seem to get my network to stay fully
connected, so it never lasts long. In any given evening, something
will get kicked off, whether its one of the squeezeboxen, or the
laptop with the older pc card. That will kill sync every time, of
course, and also plays havoc with the internal dns.
-k

snarlydwarf
2006-02-06, 12:26
I use Sync all the time for no real reason. (I have the same music playing at work as I do at home... I don't know why.. because I can?)

kdf, since you know the code far better than I.. do you know any reason that Sync.pm can't have the "Slim::Player::Source::gototime($client, $offset, 1)" line inserted in it? That seems to be the key to GrabPlaylist's ability to move a song mid-track?

Yes, things may be a bit out of sync to start with, but they'll resync on the next track. Or make it an option to allow mid-track syncing.

Cams
2006-02-06, 12:34
Thanks to you all for responding. It's interesting to find these things out after I've committed to the SB3 rather than the Sonos. I figure that the Sonos works better with its way of setting up Zones. I suppose that, since it seems to be a server-related thing where the SB3 is concerned, that it can be fixed at some point down the line. I shall look forward to that day.

Philip Meyer
2006-02-06, 12:40
It would be really nice if SlimServer/hardware players could communicate to interrogate where they are currently up to in a song so that synchronisation can be started at any time.

If Player A is currently playing and Player B is told to Sync to A, could SlimServer send a pause to A, find where it is in the track, and then fill the buffer on B at the same point, and then unpause both players? Does SlimServer do anything else special to overcome different delays in network transport?

Phil

kdf
2006-02-06, 12:45
Quoting snarlydwarf <snarlydwarf.22tosb (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com>:

>
> I use Sync all the time for no real reason. (I have the same music
> playing at work as I do at home... I don't know why.. because I can?)
>
> kdf, since you know the code far better than I.. do you know any reason
> that Sync.pm can't have the "Slim::Player::Source::gototime($client,
> $offset, 1)" line inserted in it? That seems to be the key to
> GrabPlaylist's ability to move a song mid-track?

Sync is done via the track start event, and I wouldn't want to mess
with that hardware trip using a software jump. Gototime could be way
off by the time the buffer fills (buffer can hold upwards of 30
seconds of mp3). The format for playback is set to the best SHARED
format. If you sync SB2 with SliMP3 then all playback is converted to
mp3 and gototime will have no effect for transcoded files. Starting
over is consistent behaviour for all of these cases.

In all honesty, there are much better causes to lobby for at this point.

-kdf

Ken
2006-02-06, 12:54
I synchronise two SB3s all the time. Living room and kitchen locations so any disparity is immediately noticeable. It is very rare for them to fall out of sync.

I did find that a SB2 and SB3 struggled to stay in sync for more than a few tracks. Presumably down to the the difference in the way each had to handle my music which is mainly flac decoded to wave on the server for the SB2 and directly on the SB3.

Ken

kweller
2006-02-06, 13:30
In article <Ken.22tq6b (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com>, Ken wrote:
> I did find that a SB2 and SB3 struggled to stay in sync for more than a
> few tracks.

All my tracks are Mp3 so that shouldn't be a problem...should it?

Kevin

vordo@vordo.org
2006-02-06, 14:31
I have 4 SB's and they almost never keep in sync. it's kind of a drag. I love it when the sync works but when it is off the result is plain ugly. I find that it's worse with apple losses (and presumably all FLAC) then mp3.

kweller
2006-02-22, 07:29
In article <VA.00000827.0066855c (AT) thewellers (DOT) net>, Kevin Weller wrote:
> IME one of the biggest disappointments of the Squeezebox is
> synchronisation.

I've just changed my SB3 so it connects via a couple of these
'homeplug' ethernet extenders rather than wireless. It's still early
but I have had two days of rock solid synchronisation between it and a
LAN connected SB2 - no problems at all. :-)

Assuming the good news continues it looks like most of my
synchronisation issues were related to the use of wireless.

Kevin (wondering whether to see if synchronisation with SoftSqueeze
will now work as well...)