PDA

View Full Version : Music Magic resulting in duplicate songs



agentsmith
2006-02-04, 08:19
I am still having the problem with having a duplicate of every song in the library when MusicMagic is installed.

The library ended up with 2 entries for each song, one with mm and one without.

I really like MM, and it helps me to open up my music library. But this annoying "feature" takes away my ability to play albums without every song appearing in the playlist twice.

One solution that someone suggested is to leave the music location in slimserver blank. This seemed to have worked but it also took away slim capability like displaying album art.

Is this a known problem? Is there a known fix?

Server version is 6.2.1 - 5194 - Windows XP - EN - cp1252

Siduhe
2006-02-04, 08:36
If you are importing your music library information from Musicmagic you must leave the Slimserver Music Library entry blank or you will get duplicate items. If you fill in both you're effectively telling Slimserver to look in two places for music, which is why you see duplicate items. That's how it's supposed to work.

Howevever, as far as I know, using library info from MusicMagic shouldn't close off any other functionality. Is it just the album art, or are there other problems ?

What format is the album art in and how is it stored / named ?

kdf
2006-02-04, 13:59
Siduhe wrote:
> If you are importing your music library information from Musicmagic you
> _must_ leave the Slimserver Music Library entry blank or you will get
> duplicate items. If you fill in both you're effectively telling
> Slimserver to look in two places for music, which is why you see
> duplicate items. That's how it's supposed to work.
>
>
if the root source is the same, they should merge without duplicates.
However, some versions of MMM are known to have a problem with character
encoding, if you have a lot of unicode tracks. Some versions of
slimserver have also incorrectly imported the data. Unfortunately, with
so many versions, nightlies, etc, I cannot recall if this was a known
problem with 6.2.1 specifically. I'd try 6.2.2 for starters, and the
latest from MMM. I'm using SS 6.5, with MMM 1.5 for linux and the merge
perfectly. The only issue currently is that MMM import slows to a
painful crawl at around 6500 songs when importing at the same tme as
music folder. So, I empty the music folder setting to run a wipe
library and scan. When that is complete (and I do get artwork from that
too), I then enter a music folder. That runs a 'look for new' scan on
the musicfolder, and gets any tracks that MMM didn't handle.

Your missing album art from MMM is likely due to encoding errors as well


=k

Ben Sandee
2006-02-04, 20:46
On 2/4/06, Siduhe <Siduhe.22pp1b (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com> wrote:
>
>
> If you are importing your music library information from Musicmagic you
> _must_ leave the Slimserver Music Library entry blank or you will get
> duplicate items. If you fill in both you're effectively telling
> Slimserver to look in two places for music, which is why you see
> duplicate items. That's how it's supposed to work.


I'll confirm kdf's response -- this is simply *NOT* true! I have both set,
and the libraries (MM and browser folder) are nearly identical but I have no
duplicates whatsoever. Running 6.5 svn.

BTW, I do see the same massive slowdown when importing tracks from MM. Not
sure where the hit is but it takes forever -- scans are in the several hours
range...

Ben

agentsmith
2006-02-05, 02:53
Siduhe wrote:
> If you are importing your music library information from Musicmagic you
> _must_ leave the Slimserver Music Library entry blank or you will get
> duplicate items. If you fill in both you're effectively telling
> Slimserver to look in two places for music, which is why you see
> duplicate items. That's how it's supposed to work.
>
>
if the root source is the same, they should merge without duplicates.
However, some versions of MMM are known to have a problem with character
encoding, if you have a lot of unicode tracks. Some versions of
slimserver have also incorrectly imported the data. Unfortunately, with
so many versions, nightlies, etc, I cannot recall if this was a known
problem with 6.2.1 specifically. I'd try 6.2.2 for starters, and the
latest from MMM. I'm using SS 6.5, with MMM 1.5 for linux and the merge
perfectly. The only issue currently is that MMM import slows to a
painful crawl at around 6500 songs when importing at the same tme as
music folder. So, I empty the music folder setting to run a wipe
library and scan. When that is complete (and I do get artwork from that
too), I then enter a music folder. That runs a 'look for new' scan on
the musicfolder, and gets any tracks that MMM didn't handle.

Your missing album art from MMM is likely due to encoding errors as well


=k

Roger that I will try the latest 6.2X nightly. I thought mine was quite recent (1 week or so?)

I tried 6.5X and it wont start.

I dont think I have many (if any) unicode tracks. All I know is almost every single entry has a MM and a non MM entry.

Since most of my files are FLACs I store all my album arts in a seperate directory. Is that the recommend way? I never got tagged album art to work.

agentsmith
2006-02-05, 03:32
Roger that I will try the latest 6.2X nightly. I thought mine was quite recent (1 week or so?)

I tried 6.5X and it wont start.

I dont think I have many (if any) unicode tracks. All I know is almost every single entry has a MM and a non MM entry.

Since most of my files are FLACs I store all my album arts in a seperate directory. Is that the recommend way? I never got tagged album art to work.

Hi I just downloaded and installed 6.22. Did a clear and recan. The same problem with duplicate is happening again.

I am referring to the same network drive using Windows UNC (e.g. \\server\music\flacs as the directory name both from MM and Slimserver.

Did I do anything wrong? Is network drive the problem?

(WinXP)

kdf
2006-02-05, 04:17
agentsmith wrote:
> kdf Wrote:
>
>> Siduhe wrote:
>>
>>> If you are importing your music library information from Musicmagic
>>>
>> you
>>
>>> _must_ leave the Slimserver Music Library entry blank or you will
>>>
>> get
>>
>>> duplicate items. If you fill in both you're effectively telling
>>> Slimserver to look in two places for music, which is why you see
>>> duplicate items. That's how it's supposed to work.
>>>
>>>
>>>
>> if the root source is the same, they should merge without duplicates.
>>
>> However, some versions of MMM are known to have a problem with
>> character
>> encoding, if you have a lot of unicode tracks. Some versions of
>> slimserver have also incorrectly imported the data. Unfortunately,
>> with
>> so many versions, nightlies, etc, I cannot recall if this was a known
>> problem with 6.2.1 specifically. I'd try 6.2.2 for starters, and the
>> latest from MMM. I'm using SS 6.5, with MMM 1.5 for linux and the
>> merge
>> perfectly. The only issue currently is that MMM import slows to a
>> painful crawl at around 6500 songs when importing at the same tme as
>> music folder. So, I empty the music folder setting to run a wipe
>> library and scan. When that is complete (and I do get artwork from that
>>
>> too), I then enter a music folder. That runs a 'look for new' scan on
>>
>> the musicfolder, and gets any tracks that MMM didn't handle.
>>
>> Your missing album art from MMM is likely due to encoding errors as
>> well
>>
>>
>> =k
>>
>
> Roger that I will try the latest 6.2X nightly. I thought mine was
> quite recent (1 week or so?)
>
make sure you have the latest MMM as well.
> I tried 6.5X and it wont start.
>
any info as to why? c:\program files\slimserver\server\slim.exe from
command line will give a good reason for not starting.
> I dont think I have many (if any) unicode tracks. All I know is almost
> every single entry has a MM and a non MM entry.
>
> Since most of my files are FLACs I store all my album arts in a
> seperate directory. Is that the recommend way? I never got tagged
> album art to work.
>
>
I would recommend a cover.jpg in the same folder as each album, as that
is the simplest way. Having all artwork in a single folder should work,
use d_artwork to check that the naming is being translated correctly,
and remember that you need to set the Cover Artwork AND Thumbnail
artwork settings starting with the % character to use the variable
naming. the server user also needs to have valid permissions to access
that folder. If all that you have are files that MMM recognises, then
you probably have no need for the Music Folder setting. If having that
blank does solve the problem, you arent really losing any functionality
aside from the Browse Music Folder.


There are just so many combinations that people want to use when setting
up their music. It is very hard to suggest a "right way" or to guess at
what any one might be doing "wrong". I recommend having a small test
library that you can play with and scan quickly, so that you get used to
how things fit together. The d_scan, d_info, d_musicmagic, d_import,
and d_artwork (and d_parse for cue/playlists) are your friends for this
process, and the smaller library keeps the logs manageable. Accessing
remote systems is an added complexity, with encodings and file sytem
mixes getting in the way. Maybe try a few local tracks and see if you
get a different behaviour.

-kdf

Siduhe
2006-02-05, 05:01
if the root source is the same, they should merge without duplicates.
However, some versions of MMM are known to have a problem with character
encoding, if you have a lot of unicode tracks. Some versions of
slimserver have also incorrectly imported the data. Unfortunately, with
so many versions, nightlies, etc, I cannot recall if this was a known
problem with 6.2.1 specifically. I'd try 6.2.2 for starters, and the
latest from MMM. I'm using SS 6.5, with MMM 1.5 for linux and the merge
perfectly. The only issue currently is that MMM import slows to a
painful crawl at around 6500 songs when importing at the same tme as
music folder. So, I empty the music folder setting to run a wipe
library and scan.
=k

Thanks kdf - although in which case I have the same issue as agentsmith, and was told on here that the reason for the duplicate tracks was the double music library issue. Will try upgrading to 6.5 and see if it solves the issue. :-)

agentsmith
2006-02-05, 07:49
Thanks kdf - although in which case I have the same issue as agentsmith, and was told on here that the reason for the duplicate tracks was the double music library issue. Will try upgrading to 6.5 and see if it solves the issue. :-)

OK I installed 6.5X and it started this time. But same issue with duplicate entries.

Any suggestion of turing some debugging thing on?

agentsmith
2006-02-06, 07:04
OK I installed 6.5X and it started this time. But same issue with duplicate entries.

Any suggestion of turing some debugging thing on?

I tried the blank server entry, still duplicates.

I am at my wits end on this one, my MM is expiring in a few days, I am debating whether to buy it.

I really wanted to get mm, it makes the SB experience so much better.

Ben Sandee
2006-02-06, 09:26
On 2/6/06, agentsmith <agentsmith.22t9ib (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com>
wrote:
>
>
> agentsmith Wrote:
> > OK I installed 6.5X and it started this time. But same issue with
> > duplicate entries.
> >
> > Any suggestion of turing some debugging thing on?
>
> I tried the blank server entry, still duplicates.
>
> I am at my wits end on this one, my MM is expiring in a few days, I am
> debating whether to buy it.
>
> I really wanted to get mm, it makes the SB experience so much better.


This is not a bug reporting forum -- it's a discussion forum. If you think
you've found a bug and you want it fixed, you might want to file a bug
against SlimServer with the debugging tips enabled that kdf mentioned. The
only significant different about your setup vs. mine is that you use FLAC --
I use MP3 and don't have any dups. If you provide the log information that
kdf suggested then that will help immensely.

As far as your MM copy expiring soon, email Predixis, explain your situation
and say you're experiencing problems and can't invest the money until you've
got the integration working. I'm sure they will give you another key.

Ben

kdf
2006-02-06, 11:39
Quoting agentsmith <agentsmith.22t9ib (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com>:

>
> agentsmith Wrote:
>> OK I installed 6.5X and it started this time. But same issue with
>> duplicate entries.
>>
>> Any suggestion of turing some debugging thing on?
>
> I tried the blank server entry, still duplicates.

now that is odd. If you have only one source, there should be no
duplicates. Maybe your playlists are interfering? do you use iTunes
integration?
>
> I am at my wits end on this one, my MM is expiring in a few days, I am
> debating whether to buy it.
>
> I really wanted to get mm, it makes the SB experience so much better.

I'd highly recommend it. I strongly suspect that these problems can
be overcome. They are, however, proving to be very difficult to track
down. Would it be possible to file a bug report about this, and
include your prefs file, and slimserversql.db file (if it's too large
to attach, consider creating a smaller library for testing).

Have you tried using a local file tree?

-kdf

agentsmith
2006-02-06, 17:45
Quoting agentsmith <agentsmith.22t9ib (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com>:

>
> agentsmith Wrote:
>> OK I installed 6.5X and it started this time. But same issue with
>> duplicate entries.
>>
>> Any suggestion of turing some debugging thing on?
>
> I tried the blank server entry, still duplicates.

now that is odd. If you have only one source, there should be no
duplicates. Maybe your playlists are interfering? do you use iTunes
integration?
>
> I am at my wits end on this one, my MM is expiring in a few days, I am
> debating whether to buy it.
>
> I really wanted to get mm, it makes the SB experience so much better.

I'd highly recommend it. I strongly suspect that these problems can
be overcome. They are, however, proving to be very difficult to track
down. Would it be possible to file a bug report about this, and
include your prefs file, and slimserversql.db file (if it's too large
to attach, consider creating a smaller library for testing).

Have you tried using a local file tree?

-kdf

I will do that tonight (asia time).

Thanks for following up on this.

What is you linit for file uploads? Would 200KB+ be too much? I will try to zip it

kdf
2006-02-06, 18:05
On 6-Feb-06, at 4:45 PM, agentsmith wrote:
>
> What is you linit for file uploads? Would 200KB+ be too much? I will
> try to zip it
>
Bugzilla should accept up to 10M, I believe. a database should
compress fairly well, so I don't expect that there will be any problem
-k