PDA

View Full Version : How can I stream my favourite radio stations?



patrickw59
2006-02-04, 07:15
hello all,

I am new to this forum, hope I posted this message at the proper location.
------------
I am used to listen to a number of radio stations through my web navigator.
here are a few links:

http://yacast.rtl.fr/V4/rtl/microplayer/rtl_micro_main.html?id=rtl

http://player.rireetchansons.fr/V4/rireetchansons/microplayer/rireetchansons_micro_main.html?id=rireetchansons

http://cache.yacast.fr/V4/player_rfm/microplayer/rfm_micro_main_V1.html?id=rfm&relance=

http://www.classicfm.nl/cfmlive.html


the radio stations are major European radios, and the links always work...just type the link and 15 seconds later you hear the radio.

I had hope to stream these radios to the living room, through my SB2, but it never worked. When I use the Slimserver, option /Help/Internet Radio and use the option "Tune in now", the web page displays (for example):

Now playing 1 of 1: http://player.rireetchansons.fr/V4/rireetchansons/microplayer/rireetchansons micro main.html?id=rireetchansons

but there is never any sound coming through my Box, even after waiting for several minute.

- How can I improve this?
- Alternative solution to stream other radios than just limiting my horizon to SHOUTcast or radioio.com or Live 365
- do I need to install a plug in?


Your recommendations are welcome.

vain4
2006-02-04, 07:27
[QUOTE=patrickw59]
When I use the Slimserver, option /Help/Internet Radio and use the option "Tune in now", the web page displays (for example):

Now playing 1 of 1: http://player.rireetchansons.fr/V4/rireetchansons/microplayer/rireetchansons micro main.html?id=rireetchansons

QUOTE]

after you get to that point try saving them as a playlist. for some reason this seems to help, for me at least.

pm314
2006-02-04, 07:55
It looks like you may be trying to type in the web page that you usually go to instead of the stream that is the actual music.

For example, for classic FM if you try tuning into the HTML page it does not work, but if you tune into the following link it does.

http://cinecast.capcave.com/streams/ClassicFM/ClassicFM.asx


I found this like by going to the web page and then clicking on some link to listen in Windows Media Player. Once in WMP I was able to figure out that this is the actual music link.

patrickw59
2006-02-06, 10:56
[QUOTE=patrickw59]
When I use the Slimserver, option /Help/Internet Radio and use the option "Tune in now", the web page displays (for example):

Now playing 1 of 1: http://player.rireetchansons.fr/V4/rireetchansons/microplayer/rireetchansons micro main.html?id=rireetchansons

QUOTE]

after you get to that point try saving them as a playlist. for some reason this seems to help, for me at least.

Vain4,
I cannot get your suggestion to work.

patrickw59
2006-02-06, 11:02
It looks like you may be trying to type in the web page that you usually go to instead of the stream that is the actual music.

For example, for classic FM if you try tuning into the HTML page it does not work, but if you tune into the following link it does.

http://cinecast.capcave.com/streams/ClassicFM/ClassicFM.asx


I found this like by going to the web page and then clicking on some link to listen in Windows Media Player. Once in WMP I was able to figure out that this is the actual music link.

PM314,

this is it! this is the solution.
For a reason not clear to me the link shown in a navigator allows to listen to the radio(s), but the actual file is located elsewhere. I have used the "info" option of the windows media player and get links that actually allow to setup the connection to the radios. They look as follows:

mms://live.cinecast.capcave.com/ClassicFM
mms://vipmms9.yacast.net/encoderrfm
mms://vipmms9.yacast.net/encoderrireetchansons
mms://vipmms9.yacast.net/encoderrtl
mms://vipmms9.yacast.net/encodernostalgie

I have now setup playlists for each radio. It works.
Thanks for your suggestion.