PDA

View Full Version : Rescan on Reboot?



Randall
2006-02-03, 08:07
Yes or no... Does Slimserver v6 and higher rescan when the service restarts (or if PC reboots)?

Mark Lanctot
2006-02-03, 09:16
No. And since rescans take some time on older
machines with limited RAM, it shouldn't be changed
to do so either.

All that's happening when the service restarts is
just that...the service restarting, which can take
some time with certain setups. Takes about 5
seconds for me. What takes a lot longer is
starting up the web browser to display the
SlimServer web page if the browser isn't already
running.

Randall wrote:
> Yes or no... Does Slimserver v6 and higher rescan
when the service
> restarts (or if PC reboots)?
>
>

--
___________________________________


Mark Lanctot
___________________________________

Randall
2006-02-04, 07:29
Thanks Mark.

I have the server rescan every night, then reboot using windows scheduler, so that memory is freed up. It seems to help when I run 6 of these guys at one time to reboot daily. I just wanted to make sure that I didn't have a redundant scan happening when it restarted.