PDA

View Full Version : Tired of turning squeebox on/off



washburn
2006-02-02, 09:51
Whenever I turn my computer on in the morning, it "can't find" the squeezebox until I go and unplug the squeezebox and plug it in again. Is there a way to fix this?

I'm running slimserver 6.2.1 on a win 2k machine and using an older squeezebox (1 or 2?) and a Linksys wireless router.

Many thanks for any advice.

Craig, James (IT)
2006-02-02, 10:08
I have this problem myself - would be interested in knowing if there's a
solution...

My wireless SBG always needs restarting to see SlimServer.
SB2 wired to router reconnects by itself.

SS 6.2.2 on XP connected wirelessly to Linksys Router.

James
--------------------------------------------------------

NOTICE: If received in error, please destroy and notify sender. Sender does not waive confidentiality or privilege, and use is prohibited.

JohnQuirk
2006-02-02, 14:27
If you press and hold the power button your SB will restart negating the need to pull the power out. I don't know of a way to have the older versions automatically re-connect. My SliMP3s have to be powered off by removing the power connector, although sometimes they don't seem to mind the server being removed, mostly they require restarting.

JQ

===

Whenever I turn my computer on in the morning, it "can't find" the squeezebox until I go and unplug the squeezebox and plug it in again. Is there a way to fix this?

I'm running slimserver 6.2.1 on a win 2k machine and using an older squeezebox (1 or 2?) and a Linksys wireless router.

Michaelwagner
2006-02-02, 17:25
Interestingly enough, I'm pretty sure I saw protocol code to handle this case. And I'm pretty sure it worked properly in 5.4.? So did something break?

My SB3s reconnect always and well, my SB1s *never* do any more. And since I often test several versions on the weekends, it's a pain to run around and restart them all.

washburn
2006-02-03, 17:31
Hmm. Thanks for the feedback, everyone. It seems like the only solution would be to go back to slimserver 5.4, then?

That would be a bit of a drag...

Michaelwagner
2006-02-03, 17:38
It seems like the only solution would be to go back to slimserver 5.4, then?
Well, in the short term, perhaps.
A better solution would be to file a bug report saying it doesn't work properly, and see if they won't fix it.

Michaelwagner
2006-02-03, 18:37
There is a bug open against this behaviour. You could vote for it.
http://bugs.slimdevices.com/show_bug.cgi?id=670
The more votes, the more they consider it.

Michaelwagner
2006-02-03, 18:40
And this one sounds related ... http://bugs.slimdevices.com/show_bug.cgi?id=1431

James
2006-02-09, 01:19
FYI I changed my default slimserver to 6.5 at the weekend, and so far the SB1 has reconnected automatically each time I've restarted my PC (only twice so far).

Trouble is I can't imagine why 6.5 would make any difference - surely all that sort of logic is in the Squeezebox?

James