PDA

View Full Version : Tray Icon



savant127
2006-01-30, 18:58
Good evening all...

This morning I downloaded and installed the nightly update. Now the SlimServer icon fails to appear in the system tray. Any suggestions.

Thanks in advance,

TJ

Mark Lanctot
2006-01-30, 21:29
Go to Start - Run - "services.msc". Locate
SlimServer.

If it's listed as started, stop it by right-clicking.

Now try to start it using the normal method.

Sometimes when slimserver crashes it leaves itself in
memory, preventing a new occurance from starting.

--- savant127
<savant127.22h86b (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com> wrote:

>
> Good evening all...
>
> This morning I downloaded and installed the nightly
> update. Now the
> SlimServer icon fails to appear in the system tray.
> Any suggestions.
>
> Thanks in advance,
>
> TJ
>
>
> --
> savant127
>
------------------------------------------------------------------------
> savant127's Profile:
> http://forums.slimdevices.com/member.php?userid=3539
> View this thread:
> http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=20608
>
>

jedd.jarvis
2006-04-21, 15:49
stopping slimserver and restarting does not put the icon in the system tray.


-------------
ZoneAlarm Free v6.1.744.001
SlimServer v6.2.2 -- 4/13/2006
Squeezebox v3 wireless, Firmware v37
Dell Dimension 2400, Celeron 2.4 Ghz, 1GB Memory, hard wired to router
Windows XP Home SP2
Linksys WRT54G v3 Wireless Router, Firmware v4.20.7 (latest), DHCP, WPA Personal TKIP
Tritton NAS, Maxtor Diamond Max Plus, 120 GB, Music Folder, Playlist Folder
Tritton NAS, Seagate Barracuda, 300 GB

oreillymj
2006-04-21, 16:15
I believe that you'll find the SlimServer Tray Tool is usually in the startup group of your Start->Programs Menu.

You can manually start the Tray icon app from the .exe in c:\program files\slimserver.

jedd.jarvis
2006-05-10, 08:11
Manually starting slimtray.exe doesn't help. It still doesn't appear in the tray.

Apparently slimtray.exe IS actually running. It appears as a Process in Windows Task Manager. It just doesn't appear in the tray.

If I end the process using WTM and then restart it, then it appears in the tray.

So, when I restart the system, slimtray automatically starts but NEVER appears in the system tray. I have to manually end and restart slimtray.exe for it to appear.

jedd.jarvis
2006-05-10, 08:41
slimtray is not in there.

slimserver is there - set to start automatically.