PDA

View Full Version : SqueezeNetwork questions



nicketynick
2006-01-30, 09:39
I finally managed to spend a few hours playing around with SqueezeNetwork over the weekend. A few questions that I'm sure will be easily answered by the resident geniuses!
1. Songs stuttered when the display was scrolling a song title, etc. I only have a 128 kbps internet connection, so I expect some spottiness, but why would a scrolling display eat up bandwidth?

2. Strangely, the SB3 screen just went blank and the remote went dead, but the music stream played on just fine. Turns out the remote commands got queued, because when it suddenly came back to life, all the buttons I'd tried happened! I'm currently running an older firmware (v22), could it be I just need to make the update to v29? (I've got router problems with SMC WBR14g, so I'm waiting for fixes as it is)

TIA!

Nick

seanadams
2006-01-30, 09:52
Unfortunately 128Kbps isn't fast enough to use Squeenetwork - 256K or more is recommended. Most streams are 128K, and since any connection is at best 95% efficient, it means you don't have enough bandwidth.

Mark Lanctot
2006-01-30, 10:04
nicketynick wrote:

> 1. Songs stuttered when the display was scrolling a
song title, etc. I
> only have a 128 kbps internet connection, so I
expect some spottiness,
> but why would a scrolling display eat up bandwidth?

The display is actually generated by
SqueezeNetwork, so it does eat up some bandwidth.

>
> 2. Strangely, the SB3 screen just went blank and the
remote went dead,
> but the music stream played on just fine. Turns out
the remote
> commands got queued, because when it suddenly came
back to life, all
> the buttons I'd tried happened! I'm currently
running an older
> firmware (v22), could it be I just need to make the
update to v29?
> (I've got router problems with SMC WBR14g, so I'm
waiting for fixes as
> it is)

Sounds related to your slow connection. If the SB
gets starved for bandwidth, it will play as much
of it as it has out of its buffer, which is quite
large - you can have several minutes of playback
at 128 kbps if the buffer is full. As it plays
out of the buffer, it will state "Problem: can't
connect to SqueezeNetwork" and the display will
power off, but it will still play and is still
queueing remote commands for execution when it
reestablishes connection.

The remote commands are sent over the Internet to
SqueezeNetwork and are queued, as you found out.

Almost all these issues would be solved with a
faster connection.

--
___________________________________


Mark Lanctot
___________________________________

nicketynick
2006-01-30, 10:06
Thanks Sean!
Always amazed that you're here so frequently. Maybe some of the other less-busy lurkers like myself can chip in......

1. I actually found very few stations that wouldn't play well - I think I typically get better than the 128 kbps I pay for. I was mostly just curious about the mechanics of the interaction with the scrolling.
2. What about the dead but music-playing SB3?

Thanks again!

nicketynick
2006-01-30, 11:08
Didn't notice that you had snuck in between there!
Must admit I'm a wee bit confused - remote commands like Bright, Size, Volume get queued up behind Now Playing, which has to upload to the SqueezeNetwork server? The Now Playing info doesn't get stored on-board for display purposes?
Still not sure about the diagnosis on the blank screen - it had the Vumeter screensaver displayed, then went blank for about 15 minutes while the music continued, and then came back on displaying Now Playing (first button I hit when I noticed it was blank), changed font size, then brightness, then went quiet, but that was only because I'd pushed the volume down button! Can't figure out why the screen would blank when all it was supposed to do was continue showing the Vumeter!
Guess I'll be upgrading the connection, anyway!

funkstar
2006-01-30, 11:39
very little actually happens inside the SB other than decoding the audio stream, relaying commands back to the server (be it a local server or squeezenetwork) displaying what it is told.

One of the few things it is capable of doing itself is running the VU meter screen saver, this is in the players firmware. Everything else is sent frame by frame from the server.

thats why it is a 'slim' device :)

Mark Lanctot
2006-01-30, 11:52
I am sure all these issues will be resolved when
you upgrade the connection, and funkstar has
addressed your questions.

Have you tried SlimServer operation yet? That
will give you an idea of the general
responsiveness of the device, which is usually
very snappy.

nicketynick wrote:
> Didn't notice that you had snuck in between there!
> Must admit I'm a wee bit confused - remote commands
like Bright, Size,
> Volume get queued up behind Now Playing, which has
to upload to the
> SqueezeNetwork server? The Now Playing info doesn't
get stored
> on-board for display purposes?
> Still not sure about the diagnosis on the blank
screen - it had the
> Vumeter screensaver displayed, then went blank for
about 15 minutes
> while the music continued, and then came back on
displaying Now Playing
> (first button I hit when I noticed it was blank),
changed font size,
> then brightness, then went quiet, but that was only
because I'd pushed
> the volume down button! Can't figure out why the
screen would blank
> when all it was supposed to do was continue showing
the Vumeter!
> Guess I'll be upgrading the connection, anyway!
>
>

--
___________________________________


Mark Lanctot
___________________________________

nicketynick
2006-01-30, 12:28
Thanks, funkstar, understood.
Still not convinced about the blank screen, though.... seems to much like the Slimserver problem I have (supposedly router compatibility) - the SB3 goes blank and stops playing, although the Slimserver never notices the player is gone.
When v29 of the firmware settles down, I'll be updating....
Anybody else with ideas?

Thanks all.