PDA

View Full Version : SqueezeNetwork on and off



billingsgate
2006-01-26, 20:27
Okay, I finally got all my settings right, in the router and the Squeezebox. I can connect to SN. But any Internet radio station I play through it constantly hangs. It's as if one is trying to access a broadband stream through a 28kb modem: the station plays for about 10 seconds, stops completely, as if refreshing its buffer, starts again after 3 seconds, plays for 10 seconds, and so on.

This happens even when there is no other activity on the network. I have a 6MB broadband connection, and a brand-new router. I have tested it, and its speed is actually above average for a 6MB connection. It is not shared with any neighbors, etc.

My SB is connected via Ethernet cable through a HomePlug. I have also tested the connection speed through this HomePlug, and it is around 90 percent as fast as the direct cable connection.

When listening to Internet Radio through Slim Server, no problem! It never freezes. But the same stations, through Squeeze Network, stop and start as above.

My main reason in purchasing the Squeezebox is to listen to Internet radio in my bedroom (the computer is not there), even when all computers are off. In other words, Squeeze Network was my main motivation for getting it.

How come it doesn't work? Any suggestions?

Dan Sully
2006-01-26, 20:59
* billingsgate shaped the electrons to say...

>How come it doesn't work? Any suggestions?

Which stations are you trying to listen to?

We're in the midst of a large SN code update - stay tuned.

-D
--
<noah> I used to be indecisive, but now I'm not sure.

billingsgate
2006-01-26, 22:01
Which stations are you trying to listen to?

-D


You name it! I've tried all of the Radioio feeds, Radio Paradise, a number of Live365 feeds, and several individual Internet radio stations from Hawaii (love that Polynesian swing). All play perfectly through my own computer. All play perfectly if accessed through SlimServer. All have the identical hanging problem through Squeeze Network.

SoundBoy
2006-01-31, 18:01
I am staying tuned too.. because I do have the same problem with SqueezeNetwork. Kevin from SlimSupport is doing a good job in trying to help me fixing the problem.. no chance, the only hope.. is the software update. Please keep me posted when it's ready for downloading.

Cheers Markus

autobot.transformer
2006-06-12, 04:22
I just bought the device recently for the same reason - I want to listen to Internet radio independently from my PC up and running.
I am experiencing, however, stil the same problems with Squeezenetwork being on and off.

javadebe
2006-06-12, 22:57
Can't wait for this problem to be solved. I'm experiencing _exactly_ the same symptoms; tried almost anything, changed firmware, settings, etc, nothing seems to fix it, so far,
/JJ

andyg
2006-06-13, 07:13
Can you guys describe the problem in more detail?

What radio stations does this happen with? All, or just some? Does it happen with Pandora and RadioIO?

Does anything else on SN not work properly? How is the response time when you use the remote?

autobot.transformer
2006-06-14, 04:55
Performance tends to vary depending on the time of the day.
It is particularly bad at evening/night time (europe).
When the connection drops, it is with ll the stations I am trying - internet radio as well as pandora, etc. The device screen would switch off until I push the back button on the remote. Together with that the remote control responsetime also seems to get dragged down significantly.

It has nothing to do with my wireless connection at home, I get the same performance level through ethernet cable.

Also, when I use slimserver (on a Laptop with wireless connection) I get no problems with neither streaming my own music nor connecting to the internet to my Squeezebox 3.

andyg
2006-06-14, 09:12
On Jun 14, 2006, at 7:55 AM, autobot.transformer wrote:

>
> Performance tends to vary depending on the time of the day.
> It is particularly bad at evening/night time (europe).
> When the connection drops, it is with ll the stations I am trying -
> internet radio as well as pandora, etc. The device screen would switch
> off until I push the back button on the remote. Together with that the
> remote control responsetime also seems to get dragged down
> significantly.
>
> It has nothing to do with my wireless connection at home, I get the
> same performance level through ethernet cable.
>
> Also, when I use slimserver (on a Laptop with wireless connection) I
> get no problems with neither streaming my own music nor connecting to
> the internet to my Squeezebox 3.

Is anyone having this problem located in the US? How's your ping
time to service.us.squeezenetwork.com?

I'd expect you to also have problems when streaming the same stations
through SlimServer if it's just a bandwidth issue.

buddhabreath
2006-06-14, 14:52
The last few times I've tried to use the Sq Network I cannot connect and the display goes dark (I'm on the east coast USA).

I've tried repeatedly and had to finally connect to internet radio via Slim Server.

andyg
2006-06-14, 14:54
And can you ping service.us.squeezenetwork.com?

autobot.transformer
2006-06-14, 15:04
pinging SN at 23:55 CET got me this:

C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>ping service.us.squeezenetwork.com

Pinging service.us.squeezenetwork.com [207.7.156.10] with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 207.7.156.10: bytes=32 time=278ms TTL=56
Reply from 207.7.156.10: bytes=32 time=495ms TTL=56
Reply from 207.7.156.10: bytes=32 time=314ms TTL=56
Reply from 207.7.156.10: bytes=32 time=541ms TTL=56

Ping statistics for 207.7.156.10:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 278ms, Maximum = 541ms, Average = 407ms

andyg
2006-06-14, 16:39
Ping times that high and variable will certainly cause issues with responsiveness. In your case it may be best to use your local SlimServer.

andyg
2006-06-14, 16:50
Could you also post a traceroute? (tracert service.us.squeezenetwork.com)

Ruiner
2006-06-15, 06:33
The last few times I've tried to use the Sq Network I cannot connect and the display goes dark (I'm on the east coast USA).

Same problem here in Italy. Since this morning (local time) my SqueezeBox is unable to connect to SqueezeNetwork. The box connect fore some second then display goes dark and disconnect. Pandora still play tough...

Ruiner

andyg
2006-06-15, 06:43
We're seeing some issues with the network at the data center this morning, so most people are probably seeing the same disconnect issues.

javadebe
2006-06-15, 11:42
Allright, I'm in Europe. And yes, my ping times to service.us.squeezenetwork.com may be a bit high (in the order of 170ms) but for some reason, radio stations with ping times in the same order do play perfectly well when I connect through my slimserver. For some reason a long delay in the connection is fatal when playing through squeezenetwork, while such possible disconnections (if there are any) seem completely transparent and not noticable when playing through slimserver.
/JJ

javadebe
2006-06-15, 12:47
Here's my traceroute:
1 4 ms 1 ms 1 ms 192.168.0.1
2 12 ms 9 ms 12 ms 172.19.0.1
3 12 ms 12 ms 12 ms 82.214.34.33
4 12 ms 18 ms 22 ms 82.214.7.254
5 12 ms 12 ms 11 ms xr3-t4-sto.7L.se [217.76.83.9]
6 31 ms 17 ms 14 ms xr2-t4-sto.7L.se [217.76.82.129]
7 16 ms 25 ms 16 ms 80.77.100.241
8 12 ms 15 ms 14 ms sl-bb21-sto-12-0.sprintlink.net [80.77.96.98]
9 23 ms 21 ms 22 ms sl-bb21-cop-12-0.sprintlink.net [213.206.129.33]
10 20 ms 30 ms 19 ms sl-bb20-cop-15-0.sprintlink.net [80.77.64.33]
11 26 ms 24 ms 25 ms so1-0-0-622M.ar2.CPH1.gblx.net [64.212.107.17]
12 187 ms 191 ms 199 ms so5-0-0-2488M.ar4.SFO1.gblx.net [67.17.68.54]
13 185 ms 179 ms 185 ms UNITED-LAYER.ge-6-2-0.404.ar4.sfo1.gblx.net [64.214.131.174]
14 179 ms 179 ms 201 ms GE50.ar04-200p-sfo.unitedlayer.com [207.7.159.30]
15 183 ms 180 ms 184 ms www.squeezenetwork.com [207.7.156.10]
/JJ

autobot.transformer
2006-06-15, 14:28
C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>ping service.us.squeezenetwork.com

Pinging service.us.squeezenetwork.com [207.7.156.10] with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 207.7.156.10: bytes=32 time=446ms TTL=54
Reply from 207.7.156.10: bytes=32 time=262ms TTL=54
Reply from 207.7.156.10: bytes=32 time=407ms TTL=54
Reply from 207.7.156.10: bytes=32 time=307ms TTL=54

Ping statistics for 207.7.156.10:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 262ms, Maximum = 446ms, Average = 355ms


C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>tracert service.us.squeezenetwork.com

Tracing route to service.us.squeezenetwork.com [207.7.156.10]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 23 ms 9 ms 8 ms lo10-zrhlg1002.ch.as1836.net [146.228.1.151]
2 23 ms 8 ms 8 ms lo10-zrhlg1002.ch.as1836.net [146.228.1.151]
3 24 ms 9 ms 9 ms ge-1-3-0-31-zrhlg3000.ch.as1836.net [195.48.2.129]
4 46 ms 10 ms 9 ms ge-3-1-0.401.ar3.ZRH1.gblx.net [208.48.238.1]
5 251 ms 406 ms 409 ms so5-0-0-2488M.ar4.SFO1.gblx.net [67.17.68.54]
6 226 ms 409 ms 409 ms UNITED-LAYER.ge-6-2-0.404.ar4.sfo1.gblx.net [64.214.131.174]
7 221 ms 408 ms 409 ms GE50.ar04-200p-sfo.unitedlayer.com [207.7.159.30]
8 227 ms 408 ms 409 ms www.squeezenetwork.com [207.7.156.10]

Trace complete.

gjrhine
2006-06-15, 14:48
Mine is going blank a lot in RSS feeds mode when signed on to Squeezenetwork here lately.

jakinge
2006-06-15, 15:06
I've hade issues with this here in Sweden for nearly two weeks and have also sent tracerouteinformation to slimdevices. I've tried two different networks including the swedish university network which has excellent backbone. Noteable is that I'm also getting regular timeouts when trying to access this forum and other slimdevices resources.

/Chris

andyg
2006-06-15, 15:12
On Jun 15, 2006, at 6:06 PM, jakinge wrote:

>
> I've hade issues with this here in Sweden for nearly two weeks and
> have
> also sent tracerouteinformation to slimdevices. I've tried two
> different networks including the swedish university network which has
> excellent backbone. Noteable is that I'm also getting regular timeouts
> when trying to access this forum and other slimdevices resources.
>

Any results from today are not worth worrying about, the data center
has been having major problems today and everyone is affected.

dcolak
2006-06-16, 12:50
On Jun 15, 2006, at 6:06 PM, jakinge wrote:

>
> I've hade issues with this here in Sweden for nearly two weeks and
> have
> also sent tracerouteinformation to slimdevices. I've tried two
> different networks including the swedish university network which has
> excellent backbone. Noteable is that I'm also getting regular timeouts
> when trying to access this forum and other slimdevices resources.
>

Any results from today are not worth worrying about, the data center
has been having major problems today and everyone is affected.

I have the same problem, when trying to access this forum, other slimdevices resources and squeeze network. Squeezebox display just goes blank, I have to hit right button on remote, try to connect again, it plays for a couple of seconds and then goes blank again. It's been like this since I've bought SqueezeBox, a couple of weeks ago.

Connecting to the same radio stations directly from my PC does not present any problems.

I'm located in Santiago, Chile.

jakinge
2006-06-19, 09:34
The problems I've experienced during the last two-three weeks now seems to have been resolved. SqueezeNetwork is now as stable as it used to be.

/Chris

javadebe
2006-06-19, 13:56
My connection is stable too. As sudden as the problems appeared about 3 weeks ago, they disappeared the other day. (Yet my ping times are unchanged, about 180ms.)
/JJ

autobot.transformer
2006-06-24, 12:24
everything is working again - thanks.

J-W
2006-06-26, 02:57
Hi,
I haven't used the squeezenetwork for a while, but I get the same symptoms as above: when trying to connect to SQN the screen goes blank, no connection. Used to have an excellent connection, pity!

I'm in Holland (that is in Europe :-)) on an excellent Backbone (Dutch universities network). Ping&Tracert:

C:\>ping service.us.squeezenetwork.com

Pingen naar service.us.squeezenetwork.com [207.7.156.10] met 32 byte gegevens:

Antwoord van 207.7.156.10: bytes=32 tijd=463 ms TTL=49
Antwoord van 207.7.156.10: bytes=32 tijd=555 ms TTL=49
Antwoord van 207.7.156.10: bytes=32 tijd=560 ms TTL=49
Antwoord van 207.7.156.10: bytes=32 tijd=566 ms TTL=49

Ping-statistieken voor 207.7.156.10:
Pakketten: verzonden = 4, ontvangen = 4, verloren = 0
(0% verlies).De gemiddelde tijd voor het uitvoeren van één bewerking in mill
iseconden:
Minimum = 463ms, Maximum = 566ms, Gemiddelde = 536ms


C:\>tracert service.us.squeezenetwork.com

Bezig met het traceren van de route naar service.us.squeezenetwork.com [207.7.156.10]
via maximaal 30 hops:

1 1 ms 3 ms 2 ms 172.19.3.1
2 430 ms 385 ms 308 ms bbned.surfrt.nik-asd.internl.net [217.149.196.54]
3 238 ms 227 ms 334 ms ge2-0.surfrt.nik-asd.internl.net [217.149.196.49]
4 359 ms 550 ms 373 ms 145.145.19.142
5 247 ms 242 ms 396 ms ft-500.xsr03.amsterdam1a.surf.net [145.145.80.34]
6 417 ms 415 ms 425 ms PNI.Surfnet.ams1.above.net [82.98.247.1]
7 290 ms 301 ms 288 ms 64.125.27.222.available.above.net [64.125.27.222]
8 411 ms 443 ms 464 ms so-7-0-0.cr2.dca2.us.above.net [64.125.27.165]
9 444 ms 188 ms 290 ms so-3-2-0.cr2.dfw2.us.above.net [64.125.28.205]
10 424 ms 380 ms 430 ms so-0-0-0.cr1.dfw2.us.above.net [64.125.28.209]
11 486 ms 502 ms 510 ms so-3-1-0.mpr4.sjc2.us.above.net [64.125.29.49]
12 559 ms 519 ms 321 ms so-4-0-0.mpr2.sfo3.us.above.net [64.125.31.214]
13 546 ms 513 ms 543 ms 64.124.128.128.unitedlayer.com [64.125.128.134]
14 563 ms 446 ms 540 ms GE49.ar04-200p-sfo.unitedlayer.com [207.7.159.142]
15 447 ms 467 ms 520 ms www.squeezenetwork.com [207.7.156.10]

any advice?

thanks
J-W

andyg
2006-06-26, 07:12
500ms is a bit too much lag, although if you don't have any packet
loss it'll probably still be usable. In your trace, your second hop
is 300-400ms; that seems quite high, maybe something is wrong with
your ISP?

On Jun 26, 2006, at 5:57 AM, J-W wrote:

>
> Hi,
> I haven't used the squeezenetwork for a while, but I get the same
> symptoms as above: when trying to connect to SQN the screen goes
> blank,
> no connection. Used to have an excellent connection, pity!
>
> I'm in Holland (that is in Europe :-)) on an excellent Backbone (Dutch
> universities network). Ping&Tracert:
>
> C:\>ping service.us.squeezenetwork.com
>
> Pingen naar service.us.squeezenetwork.com [207.7.156.10] met 32 byte
> gegevens:
>
> Antwoord van 207.7.156.10: bytes=32 tijd=463 ms TTL=49
> Antwoord van 207.7.156.10: bytes=32 tijd=555 ms TTL=49
> Antwoord van 207.7.156.10: bytes=32 tijd=560 ms TTL=49
> Antwoord van 207.7.156.10: bytes=32 tijd=566 ms TTL=49
>
> Ping-statistieken voor 207.7.156.10:
> Pakketten: verzonden = 4, ontvangen = 4, verloren = 0
> (0% verlies).De gemiddelde tijd voor het uitvoeren van één
> bewerking in mill
> iseconden:
> Minimum = 463ms, Maximum = 566ms, Gemiddelde = 536ms
>
>
> C:\>tracert service.us.squeezenetwork.com
>
> Bezig met het traceren van de route naar service.us.squeezenetwork.com
> [207.7.156.10]
> via maximaal 30 hops:
>
> 1 1 ms 3 ms 2 ms 172.19.3.1
> 2 430 ms 385 ms 308 ms bbned.surfrt.nik-asd.internl.net
> [217.149.196.54]
> 3 238 ms 227 ms 334 ms ge2-0.surfrt.nik-asd.internl.net
> [217.149.196.49]
> 4 359 ms 550 ms 373 ms 145.145.19.142
> 5 247 ms 242 ms 396 ms ft-500.xsr03.amsterdam1a.surf.net
> [145.145.80.34]
> 6 417 ms 415 ms 425 ms PNI.Surfnet.ams1.above.net
> [82.98.247.1]
> 7 290 ms 301 ms 288 ms 64.125.27.222.available.above.net
> [64.125.27.222]
> 8 411 ms 443 ms 464 ms so-7-0-0.cr2.dca2.us.above.net
> [64.125.27.165]
> 9 444 ms 188 ms 290 ms so-3-2-0.cr2.dfw2.us.above.net
> [64.125.28.205]
> 10 424 ms 380 ms 430 ms so-0-0-0.cr1.dfw2.us.above.net
> [64.125.28.209]
> 11 486 ms 502 ms 510 ms so-3-1-0.mpr4.sjc2.us.above.net
> [64.125.29.49]
> 12 559 ms 519 ms 321 ms so-4-0-0.mpr2.sfo3.us.above.net
> [64.125.31.214]
> 13 546 ms 513 ms 543 ms 64.124.128.128.unitedlayer.com
> [64.125.128.134]
> 14 563 ms 446 ms 540 ms GE49.ar04-200p-sfo.unitedlayer.com
> [207.7.159.142]
> 15 447 ms 467 ms 520 ms www.squeezenetwork.com [207.7.156.10]
>
> any advice?
>
> thanks
> J-W

Arthur
2006-06-26, 18:58
Squeezbox play's between 2 and 15 minuts, screen goes to black and music is gone. Need to completly unplug it from outlet otherwise it won't work anymore.

Box is 2 month's old, so i am a very unhappy.
Only us Squeeznetwork

C:\>ping service.us.squeezenetwork.com

Pingen naar service.us.squeezenetwork.com [207.7.156.10] met 32 byte gegevens:

Antwoord van 207.7.156.10: bytes=32 tijd=209 ms TTL=52
Antwoord van 207.7.156.10: bytes=32 tijd=209 ms TTL=52
Antwoord van 207.7.156.10: bytes=32 tijd=213 ms TTL=52
Antwoord van 207.7.156.10: bytes=32 tijd=210 ms TTL=52

Ping-statistieken voor 207.7.156.10:
Pakketten: verzonden = 4, ontvangen = 4, verloren = 0
(0% verlies).De gemiddelde tijd voor het uitvoeren van één bewerking in milliseconden:
Minimum = 209ms, Maximum = 213ms, Gemiddelde = 210ms


C:\>tracert service.us.squeezenetwork.com

Bezig met het traceren van de route naar service.us.squeezenetwork.com [207.7.15
6.10]
via maximaal 30 hops:

1 47 ms 99 ms 99 ms speedtouch.lan [192.168.1.254]
2 31 ms 32 ms 36 ms 195.190.250.158
3 55 ms 56 ms 56 ms 42.ge-5-0-0.xr1.3d12.xs4all.net [194.109.5.105]
4 60 ms 59 ms 74 ms 0.so-6-0-0.xr1.sara.xs4all.net [194.109.5.2]
5 44 ms 19 ms 8 ms mpr2.ams1.ge8-0.pni.xs4all.above.net [62.93.194.145]
6 93 ms 98 ms 93 ms so-3-0-0.cr1.lga1.us.above.net [64.125.27.185]
7 114 ms 157 ms 160 ms so-3-0-0.cr1.ord2.us.above.net [64.125.27.169]
8 212 ms 218 ms 165 ms so-4-0-0.mpr3.sjc2.us.above.net [64.125.30.213]
9 166 ms 166 ms 211 ms so-4-0-0.mpr1.sfo3.us.above.net [64.125.31.122]
10 211 ms 186 ms 160 ms 64.124.128.128.unitedlayer.com [64.125.128.134]
11 160 ms 159 ms 205 ms GE49.ar04-200p-sfo.unitedlayer.com [207.7.159.142]
12 189 ms 160 ms 159 ms www.squeezenetwork.com [207.7.156.10]

Router:
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 1.029 / 12.004

Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 12,5 / 17,0

Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 16,5 / 26,5

SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 15,0 / 11,0

Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / BDCM

Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 0 / 0

Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 0 / 0

Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / 0

Loss of Link (Remote): 0

Also asked Dutch Telecom (KPN) to do a line check and today they certified it for 16.000 kbs/sec downstream

In my workroom i have WinAmp (whole day on) with exactly the same stations and that never fails

So or the box is defect or it has something to do with your network

J-W
2006-06-28, 11:49
Thanks, AndyG, for your answer. I have no probs with my internet connection. I agree the second hop is long but today I tried and it looks like this:

C:\>ping service.us.squeezenetwork.com

Pingen naar service.us.squeezenetwork.com [207.7.156.10] met 32 byte gegevens:

Antwoord van 207.7.156.10: bytes=32 tijd=164 ms TTL=48
Antwoord van 207.7.156.10: bytes=32 tijd=164 ms TTL=48
Antwoord van 207.7.156.10: bytes=32 tijd=164 ms TTL=48
Antwoord van 207.7.156.10: bytes=32 tijd=163 ms TTL=48

Ping-statistieken voor 207.7.156.10:
Pakketten: verzonden = 4, ontvangen = 4, verloren = 0
(0% verlies).De gemiddelde tijd voor het uitvoeren van één bewerking in milliseconden:
Minimum = 163ms, Maximum = 164ms, Gemiddelde = 163ms

C:\>tracert service.us.squeezenetwork.com

Bezig met het traceren van de route naar service.us.squeezenetwork.com [207.7.156.10]
via maximaal 30 hops:

1 1 ms <1 ms 1 ms 172.19.3.1
2 12 ms 12 ms 12 ms bbned.surfrt.nik-asd.internl.net [217.149.196.54]
3 12 ms 12 ms 12 ms ge2-0.surfrt.nik-asd.internl.net [217.149.196.49]
4 13 ms 13 ms 14 ms 145.145.19.142
5 13 ms 13 ms 14 ms FT-500.XSR03.Amsterdam1A.surf.net [145.145.80.34]
6 13 ms 12 ms 12 ms PNI.Surfnet.ams1.above.net [82.98.247.1]
7 13 ms 12 ms 12 ms so-0-0-0.mpr1.ams5.nl.above.net [64.125.27.182]
8 37 ms 26 ms 26 ms so-2-0-0.mpr1.lhr2.uk.above.net [64.125.27.177]
9 95 ms 94 ms 95 ms so-7-0-0.cr1.dca2.us.above.net [64.125.31.186]
10 112 ms 109 ms 109 ms so-5-1-0.mpr2.atl6.us.above.net [64.125.29.37]
11 106 ms 105 ms 106 ms so-0-0-0.mpr1.atl6.us.above.net [64.125.27.49]
12 128 ms 122 ms 172 ms so-4-0-0.mpr2.iah1.us.above.net [64.125.29.70]
13 124 ms 119 ms 118 ms so-0-0-0.mpr1.iah1.us.above.net [64.125.31.61]
14 148 ms 148 ms 147 ms so-5-1-0.mpr2.lax9.us.above.net [64.125.29.97]
15 153 ms 151 ms 152 ms so-0-0-0.mpr1.lax9.us.above.net [64.125.31.101]
16 162 ms 162 ms 162 ms so-6-0-0.mpr4.sjc2.us.above.net [64.125.30.129]
17 157 ms 158 ms 157 ms so-4-0-0.mpr2.sfo3.us.above.net [64.125.31.214]
18 158 ms 158 ms 159 ms 64.124.128.128.unitedlayer.com [64.125.128.134]
19 165 ms 165 ms 165 ms GE49.ar04-200p-sfo.unitedlayer.com [207.7.159.14
2]
20 165 ms 172 ms 165 ms www.squeezenetwork.com [207.7.156.10]

De trace is voltooid.

Better connection and the large hop is gone. But I don't get connected to SQN at all. not even for a minute. A month ago or so it worked like a dream. Something must be wrong / changed at SQN.

I have 4Mbps down/1mbps up stream.

Thanks again
J-W

rudholm
2006-06-28, 15:35
From So-Cal I don't have any problems with the unitedlayer stuff (squeezenetwork) but Hurricane Electric's routing, at least as seen from Level3, seems to be via the Swedish telephone company. Probably not actually going through Sweden but with that latency, it could be...

$ traceroute www.slimdevices.com
traceroute to web.slimdevices.com (64.71.155.211), 30 hops max, 40 byte packets
1 gw-205-196-208-1.dreamhost.com (205.196.208.1) 0.472 ms 0.495 ms 0.309 ms
2 gw-L3.dreamhost.com (4.78.192.65) 0.626 ms 0.495 ms 0.437 ms
3 ae-13-55.car3.LosAngeles1.Level3.net (4.68.102.142) 0.622 ms ae-13-51.car3.LosAngeles1.Level3.net (4.68.102.14) 1.294 ms ae-23-52.car3.LosAngeles1.Level3.net (4.68.102.46) 0.708 ms
4 4.68.111.174 (4.68.111.174) 0.967 ms las-bb1-link.telia.net (213.248.94.61) 0.833 ms las-bb1-link.telia.net (213.248.94.57) 100.123 ms
5 hurricane-108839-las-bb1.c.telia.net (213.248.94.42) 395.308 ms 412.915 ms 408.583 ms
6 pos3-2.gsr12416.pao.he.net (65.19.129.1) 447.342 ms 459.971 ms 460.601 ms
7 pos5-0.gsr12416.fmt.he.net (216.218.229.33) 447.200 ms 429.142 ms 431.260 ms
8 pos10-0.gsr12012.fmt.he.net (66.220.20.138) 389.732 ms 415.559 ms 364.503 ms
9 web.slimdevices.com (64.71.155.211) 360.733 ms 392.455 ms 404.025 ms

MrSinatra
2006-06-30, 19:20
hi,

i finally figured out how to use squeezenetwork, (and i live in central Pa btw, east coast time) but i have the same problem kind of...

when i use SN to listen to the following 128kbps stream, i can listen for 10min to a half hour, but at some point, it starts stuttering like a red-headed stepchild.

http://146.186.221.181:8000/listen.pls

why does it do this?

if i stop it from playing, then start it again right away, that fixes it, but only for 10min to half hour again.

however, if i don't use SN, and use local slimserver, i have no problems at all. how can that be?

here is my ping and tracert:

Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\MrSinatra>ping service.us.squeezenetwork.com

Pinging service.us.squeezenetwork.com [207.7.156.10] with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 207.7.156.10: bytes=32 time=95ms TTL=47
Reply from 207.7.156.10: bytes=32 time=93ms TTL=47
Reply from 207.7.156.10: bytes=32 time=92ms TTL=47
Reply from 207.7.156.10: bytes=32 time=92ms TTL=47

Ping statistics for 207.7.156.10:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 92ms, Maximum = 95ms, Average = 93ms

C:\Documents and Settings\MrSinatra>tracert service.us.squeezenetwork.com

Tracing route to service.us.squeezenetwork.com [207.7.156.10]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 13 ms 11 ms * 68-233-28-1.stcgpa.adelphia.net [68.233.28.1]
2 16 ms 12 ms * pa-blairsville2b-89.pit.adelphia.net [68.168.184
.89]
3 11 ms 12 ms 11 ms 69.164.171.65
4 20 ms 24 ms * 69.164.171.205
5 15 ms 14 ms * a1-02-00-00.a0.pit75.adelphiacom.net [66.109.14.
89]
6 57 ms 16 ms * a1-00-00-00.c1.pit75.adelphiacom.net [66.109.1.7
7]
7 22 ms 20 ms 22 ms p3-02-01-00.c0.dca91.adelphiacom.net [66.109.0.1
13]
8 27 ms 22 ms 22 ms p3-04-00-00.p0.dca90.adelphiacom.net [66.109.1.1
46]
9 26 ms 23 ms 23 ms so-4-0-0.mpr2.iad5.us.above.net [64.124.11.225]

10 23 ms 23 ms 21 ms so-7-0-0.mpr2.iad1.us.above.net [64.125.28.13]
11 23 ms 22 ms * so-1-0-0.cr2.dca2.us.above.net [64.125.28.129]
12 52 ms 50 ms 51 ms so-6-0-0.cr2.dfw2.us.above.net [64.125.28.70]
13 52 ms 57 ms 49 ms so-1-0-0.cr1.dfw2.us.above.net [64.125.29.189]
14 96 ms 93 ms 99 ms so-3-1-0.mpr4.sjc2.us.above.net [64.125.29.49]
15 96 ms 96 ms 95 ms so-4-0-0.mpr2.sfo3.us.above.net [64.125.31.214]

16 93 ms 93 ms 93 ms 64.124.128.128.unitedlayer.com [64.125.128.134]

17 93 ms 94 ms 94 ms GE49.ar04-200p-sfo.unitedlayer.com [207.7.159.14
2]
18 94 ms 92 ms 93 ms www.squeezenetwork.com [207.7.156.10]

Trace complete.

C:\Documents and Settings\MrSinatra>

Arthur
2006-07-03, 13:35
As you can see a lot of people have the same trouble.

All have identical problems, so why is there no reaction from any of the developers.

I can't believe all the boxes are defect suddenly, or that ping times are not speedy enough (my job is system intergrator).

Is this mayby due to a bad production bunch or ....

Please give as some usefull feedback, and do not let people specify ping an trace logs because that is not the problem.

Hope to get some usefull info

Arthur

Boyington51
2006-07-04, 04:50
Australia calling and just letting you know I'm having the same problem with the SB going "black" and freezing up irregularly when on SN.

I've checked my router, my wireless signal strength and broadband and everything checkout so I'm "glad" to learn it's an SN problem and not from my end!

Let's just all hope it gets fixed soon. My SB with SN get a real workout and downtimes are frustrating!

MrSinatra
2006-07-07, 12:17
any update forthcoming on this?

i can redo any test you'd like, thx, -mdw

J-W
2006-07-10, 04:43
Hi there,

It seems that I have solved my probs. I could not get connected to SQN, see posts above. I was checking the versions of slimserver and my firmware. They were 6.2.2 and 48, resp. In the "information" section in the player I also saw my player was recognised as v2, while I have a v3. I also ran into an item somewhere saying "autoupdate = Off", and it could not be set "On"

Anywayz, I checked the latest version of slimserver, which turned out to be 6.3.0, updated, and then this latter version immediately asked for an update of the player firmware (press brightness button on remote for few secs, etc), and it updated to v. 55! V 6.2.2 had not asked this for a long time, apparently.

So, I could very well turn out to be a moron all the same, but I do not seem to remember that I had switched any options off, like autoupdating. I do not even know where to find such an option if I wanted. I usually do not try to fix a thing when not broken, and tend to leave the player and the server in peace when functioning properly. The SQN log-in worked and my internet radio played at some point in time.

Is there something I've done wrong? Or could it just be that there was something wrong with the software/firmware? If I'm insulting someone, please forgive me.

I can listen to my radio again. Hurray & Hallelujah.

Congrats from Holland to the Italians with their World Cup.