PDA

View Full Version : Wep128



WilliamHD
2006-01-25, 13:39
Hi all,

I'ma new SB owner who is trying to get it to connect. It see the network but won't connect. I use WEP128 and have put in the key.
Any ideas?

Many thanks

Mark Lanctot
2006-01-25, 14:55
What router are you using?

Check this page:

http://wiki.slimdevices.com/index.cgi?RouterStatus

....others may have had problems with it.

To start things up, baby steps first. Try connecting
with no encryption (temporarily!) If that works, set
a very simple WEP 128 key - try "1" or "A" or
something simple. Enter it into the Squeezebox,
*making sure there are no leading or trailing spaces*.
The Squeezebox UI makes it easy to accidentally
insert trailing spaces, and will sometimes do this on
its own (I think it likes the length of the previous
key you entered and adds spaces to keep the length the
same). Note just one trailing space will mean a
different key and will cause connection failure. To
remove a space, press the PLAY key while the cursor is
over it.

If you can get it to work with a simple WEP key, then
there's no reason why it won't work with a more
complex key.

By the way, you should strongly consider upgrading to
WPA. WEP can be cracked in as little as 2
seconds...it deters only casual, accidental
connections.

--- WilliamHD
<WilliamHD.227k0z (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com> wrote:

>
> Hi all,
>
> I'ma new SB owner who is trying to get it to
> connect. It see the
> network but won't connect. I use WEP128 and have put
> in the key.
> Any ideas?
>
> Many thanks
>
>
> --
> WilliamHD
>
------------------------------------------------------------------------
> WilliamHD's Profile:
> http://forums.slimdevices.com/member.php?userid=3571
> View this thread:
> http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=20413
>
>

dnighorn
2006-01-25, 15:21
Four suggestions:

Verify that you have the correct key and that you enter it perfectly. I printed mine and then drew pencil marks between each pair of values. That's how I discovered my data entry error.

Do a factory reset and perform the network setup again.

Verify that your MAC address is correct in the machine. You can see this by hitting the down arrow at the 'setup networking' prompt. This takes you to 'Settings'. Scroll through the settings until you get to MAC address. This should match the one printed on the bottom of your SB.

If none of this works, then turn off the WEP and try to connect. If this works then you know that your radio is working properly.

David

WilliamHD
2006-01-26, 01:39
Hi guys,

Many thanks - I'll try these ideas over the weekend and hopefully hear beautiful music.

Alright, some techno rubbish!

Many thanks