PDA

View Full Version : Can't stay connected



housedoc
2006-01-24, 11:04
Basic facts: Windows xp home, zone alarm, wired network with netgear rp614 wired router. Set up new Squeezebox and initially had trouble opening host page etc. System was troubleshot, ports were opened, etc until I had a functionining system whereby I was using my sb to play my computer's music.

Now, without any changes, I cannot get my sb to recognize my computer. I do have internet access via sb to slimserver on internet. It is just that my computer and my sb are not syncing up. Any suggestions to troubelshoot?

Thanks,

James

Mark Lanctot
2006-01-24, 12:22
Perhaps it's an IP address assignment issue that
only appeared after a few reboots of the devices.

Do you have DHCP turned on on your router? Check
your SB settings page for its IP address. Is the
SB's IP address in Zone Alarm's Trusted Zone?
(Actually enter the whole DHCP range here.) Do
the ZA logs show repeated connection attempts that
were blocked or that it blacklisted the SB's IP
address?

Can you access SqueezeNetwork from the SB?

BTW you don't need to forward ports in the router
unless you want to access your music streams from
outside your house, i.e. on the Internet.

housedoc wrote:
> Basic facts: Windows xp home, zone alarm, wired
network with netgear
> rp614 wired router. Set up new Squeezebox and
initially had trouble
> opening host page etc. System was troubleshot, ports
were opened, etc
> until I had a functionining system whereby I was
using my sb to play my
> computer's music.
>
> Now, without any changes, I cannot get my sb to
recognize my
> computer. I do have internet access via sb to
slimserver on internet.
> It is just that my computer and my sb are not
syncing up. Any
> suggestions to troubelshoot?
>
> Thanks,
>
> James
>
>

--
___________________________________


Mark Lanctot
___________________________________

billingsgate
2006-01-24, 16:12
I'm having the opposite problem.

When I first set up my SB last month, I got the SlimServer, and also could connect to Squeeze Network. BUT...the performance of Squeeze network was awful. Constant dropouts.

We then had a power outage in my house. Since then, I can connect fine to Slim Server, but I am unable to conenct to Squeeze Network. I have tried everything in the (very thin) manual, but nothing works. Any suggestions?

Connected through a wired network using HomePlug. The computer is a PC running Windows 2000.

snarlydwarf
2006-01-24, 16:25
The two main networking things you need for Squeezenetwork that you wouldn't necessarily need for Slimserver:

1) Gateway
2) DNS

Did those change or get munged?

billingsgate
2006-01-25, 01:09
No idea how or if something got "munged". My home network works for the computers connected to it. And the Squeezebox connects to Slim Server on my computer fine. Only Squeeze Network is not working.

Funny thing is, I didn't set ANYTHING at first, and Squeeze Network connected (though poorly). Now it doesn't work at all, and I have no idea which settings to tamper with.

The instructions for setting up networking for the Squeebox are very sparse. Would someone kindly list all of the settings that I am required to set, and where to obtain those numbers? Such as DNS and Default Gateway.

Mark Lanctot
2006-01-25, 15:30
--- billingsgate
<billingsgate.226l2o (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com>
wrote:

>
> No idea how or if something got "munged". My home
> network works for the
> computers connected to it. And the Squeezebox
> connects to Slim Server
> on my computer fine. Only Squeeze Network is not
> working.
>
> Funny thing is, I didn't set ANYTHING at first, and
> Squeeze Network
> connected (though poorly). Now it doesn't work at
> all, and I have no
> idea which settings to tamper with.
>
> The instructions for setting up networking for the
> Squeebox are very
> sparse. Would someone kindly list all of the
> settings that I am
> required to set, and where to obtain those numbers?
> Such as DNS and
> Default Gateway.

Check your router first. Is DHCP turned on? If it
is, your Squeezebox should work right away, provided
it connected to your router OK. Did you set your
WEP/WPA password OK? Check Settings to confirm you
don't have a 169.xxx.xxx.xxx IP address, which means
"I'm connected to the router but I didn't get an IP
address, this is a fallback address" and that usually
indicates you're connected to your router but
nothing's working.

DHCP should assign your Squeezebox an IP address
without you having to do anything. Your router pages
should list the DHCP address range. Check the
Squeezebox to make sure it's something in this range.

You only need gateway and DNS to access
SqueezeNetwork. To find these out, on your SlimServer
computer, go to Start - Programs - Command Prompt and
type "ipconfig /all". You should see lines for
Default Gateway and DNS Server. Note that the default
gateway will usually be your router's IP address.
Your DNS server may or may not be the same though.
Enter these addresses into the Squeezebox.

billingsgate
2006-01-26, 00:17
Thanks for the above reply. Yes, I did apparently set the Squeezebox IP address to a 192.168... one. So then what? Shall I just reset it to all ZEROs, so that it gets a dynamic IP?

Networking completely baffles me. My family has 4 networked computers and the Squeezebox, and the network works (sort of) purely by luck.

Mark Lanctot
2006-01-26, 09:14
So in Squeezebox setup, did you set the IP address
yourself, or did you choose "Obtain IP address
automatically?"

On setup you're faced with two options: "Obtain IP
address automatically" and "Specify an IP address".
I'm guessing you chose to obtain it automatically.

This address is assigned automatically by a server
process in your router known as DHCP. If you have a
192.168.xxx.xxx address without doing anything, your
DHCP server is working and all the addresses in your
network are unique.

All you need to do to be able to access SqueezeNetwork
is to enter in the gateway and DNS server addresses,
which you can determine through ipconfig /all as I
outlined above.

BTW although I only understand the basics of
networking, you can think of it like a city. Each
home/business residence has to have a unique address.
IP addresses are numerical. Your house has its own
address - what it presents to the rest of the world.
Think of the doorway to your house like your router.
On one side is the big wide world (the Internet) and
on the other side are the rooms in your house - the
"local area network" or "LAN". Each of your rooms are
unique, just like each LAN device has its own address.
Think of 192.168.1.1 as your entranceway, 192.168.1.2
as your kitchen, 192.168.1.3 as one of your bedrooms,
etc. Each has to be unique or there would be
confusion.

Your router is your gateway to the big wide world.
Its IP address, usually the first one in the chain
(often 192.168.1.1 or 192.168.2.1), is your "gateway",
which you enter into your Squeezebox. It tells your
Squeezebox where to go on your LAN to find the way
out.

The Internet ("wide-area network" or "WAN") is like
the rest of the city. There are private homes, there
are small businesses and there are big businesses, and
all have their own address, which is, of course,
different from yours. There's a particularly big
building called "Google" at 216.239.39.99, for
example. But how does your computer or Squeezebox
know how to find Google? If you were to type in
216.239.39.99 into your URL bar in a web browser,
you'd find it, but that's hard to remember and not
convenient. Instead you type in www.google.com. Your
computer (or Squeezebox) then has to find a way to
determine what Google's IP address is from the text.
The solution is a "Domain Name System" or "DNS" server
that, itself, has its own unique address. It's like a
phone book - in it, there's an entry that says "google
= 216.239.39.99".

So you need to know your DNS server address so that
your Squeezebox can translate "www.squeezenetwork.com"
into "64.71.176.34".

Your router could be acting as a DNS server, or your
ISP could have assigned you one which your computer is
picking up automatically (this is the most likely
possibility), or you can assign it yourself if you
know the address of one.

DHCP is a process which hands out LAN IP addresses
automatically when the device boots up. You don't
even have to know them. The danger (which is probably
what happened to the OP) is that after you make a
change or two, the addresses can move around and
suddenly your firewall is blocking what it thinks is
an intruder. The solution is to put your entire DHCP
address range in Zone Alarm as a trusted IP range, so
that anything inside will be trusted and won't be
blocked.

--- billingsgate
<billingsgate.228dfb (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com>
wrote:

>
> Thanks for the above reply. Yes, I did apparently
> set the Squeezebox IP
> address to a 192.168... one. So then what? Shall I
> just reset it to all
> ZEROs, so that it gets a dynamic IP?
>
> Networking completely baffles me. My family has 4
> networked computers
> and the Squeezebox, and the network works (sort of)
> purely by luck.
>
>
> --
> billingsgate
>
------------------------------------------------------------------------
> billingsgate's Profile:
> http://forums.slimdevices.com/member.php?userid=2822
> View this thread:
> http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=20371
>
>