PDA

View Full Version : Linksys and SB3



SoundBoy
2006-01-23, 20:32
Hi - I bought a LinksysWRT54 G. I wanted to configure my SB3 so that I can use WPA2 encryption. When trying to connect to the server, I got a strange IP number assigned and SB3 was not able to connect to the server. I switched to WPA and suddenly all is fine? What could be the reason. Looking forward to any ideas.. cheers..

Mark Lanctot
2006-01-23, 20:49
WPA2 support is still very early and WPA isn't broken.

WPA2 just offers stronger encryption.

What firmware are you using in the router and is it a
v5 (serial number starting with CDFB)? The v5s are
still kind of finnicky.

--- SoundBoy
<SoundBoy.224dfz (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com> wrote:

>
> Hi - I bought a LinksysWRT54 G. I wanted to
> configure my SB3 so that I
> can use WPA2 encryption. When trying to connect to
> the server, I got a
> strange IP number assigned and SB3 was not able to
> connect to the
> server. I switched to WPA and suddenly all is fine?
> What could be the
> reason. Looking forward to any ideas.. cheers..
>
>
> --
> SoundBoy
>
> Boy-oh-Boy-what a Sound
>
------------------------------------------------------------------------
> SoundBoy's Profile:
> http://forums.slimdevices.com/member.php?userid=3085
> View this thread:
> http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=20362
>
>

SoundBoy
2006-01-23, 22:52
hi Mark

I am using version v1.001. Just bought it today. The SN is of course CDFB... I had a Airport Express first, but the performance was terrible, so I bought the linksys today. Not to mention that the setup with a Mac is a nightmare. I just had to reset the linksys. Now I can reach my Slimserver just fine, but I can not connect SqueezNetwork anymore?? That's strange... OK, I am no expert in setting up the Linksys.. any help? I am back to WAP and Firewall off.

Cheers Markus

vdorta
2006-01-24, 05:28
Download and install the latest firmware (http://www.linksys.com/servlet/Satellite?childpagename=US%2FLayout&packedargs=c%3DL_Download_C2%26cid%3D1115417109974 %26sku%3D1115416826120&pagename=Linksys%2FCommon%2FVisitorWrapper); it solved all the problems I had with this version.

Mark Lanctot
2006-01-24, 06:47
OK - so you have a version 5 with the very first
firmware made for it. Apparently the subsequent
releases are much better - checking the Linksys
site, it's currently 1.00.6.

Connecting to SqueezeNetwork is not done through
your computer, it's done through your router. So
any changes you make to your computer's firewall
will make no difference, and in fact if you can
connect to SlimServer (which runs on your
computer), your firewall is set properly.

Although some people have reported instability
with the first firmware versions for WRT54G v5s,
you should be able to connect with WPA-TKIP. If
you can't connect to SqueezeNetwork but can
connect to SlimServer that means that everything
is OK between your SB and your router. The only
thing that may be out is your DNS server. When
you try to connect to SqueezeNetwork, do you get a
"Problem: cannot find address for SqueezeNetwork"
message? If so, your DNS server may not be set
properly.

Did you specify "Automatically get IP address" on
setup? If so I think you may get your DNS server
address automatically. I'm not sure as I use a
static IP address.

If on setup it does ask you to specify a DNS
server, you can get this by going on your computer
and pressing Start - Programs - Command Prompt and
typing "ipconfig /all". The DNS server is usually
the last line.

Also if you keep changing encryption, you may find
that the SB seems to "remember" its last settings.
If you are having problems with this, you may
want to power-cycle it (unplug/replug, not the
power button) and press and hold ADD as it starts
up. This will reset the unit to factory default.
You'll have to reenter your passphrase.

SoundBoy wrote:
> hi Mark
>
> I am using version v1.001. Just bought it today. The
SN is of course
> CDFB... I had a Airport Express first, but the
performance was
> terrible, so I bought the linksys today. Not to
mention that the setup
> with a Mac is a nightmare. I just had to reset the
linksys. Now I can
> reach my Slimserver just fine, but I can not connect
SqueezNetwork
> anymore?? That's strange... OK, I am no expert in
setting up the
> Linksys.. any help? I am back to WAP and Firewall
off.
>
> Cheers Markus
>
>

--
___________________________________


Mark Lanctot
___________________________________

Mark Lanctot
2006-01-24, 07:12
Whoa - that's for the WR*V*54G.

I believe his is the WR*T*54G, located here:

http://tinyurl.com/884e9

Firmware 1.00.6 for the v5.

vdorta wrote:
> Download and install the 'latest firmware'
(http://tinyurl.com/c8yfq);
> it solved all the problems I had with this version.
>
>

--
___________________________________


Mark Lanctot
___________________________________

SoundBoy
2006-01-24, 19:09
Yep - DNS was messed up - sound is coming in now just fine - I also uploaded the new firmware version. Thanks for the advice - was most helpful

Cheers