PDA

View Full Version : SoftSqueeze Synchronisation (again!)



kweller
2006-01-20, 03:49
I can't get SoftSqueeze and a Squeezebox to synchronise even with the
latest 2.3 version so I think it's time for plan B. It's a particular
problem in this house as one of the Squeezeboxes is close enough to the
PC that if they are not in sync it creates a cacophony of sound in the
middle of the house but they are far enough apart that two music
sources are required.

Plan B involves replacing SoftSqueeze with a new Squeezebox. It's a bit
disappointing that I'm having to do this but I realise it's always
going to be difficult to synchronise a software player with a piece of
hardware that has a buffer (so please don't take this as a complaint
Richard, I appreciate the work you've put into this). Before I do this
is synchronisation between the two going to be rock solid? I'd hate to
spend another 230UKP and not be any better off (not least as I
originally told SWMBO that it would work with SoftSqueeze and I've now
persuaded her that this is the only way to solve it. If it doesn't I'm
in trouble!).

Perhaps I should wait? I know there's a bug that has been assigned to
put out some sort of timing 'pulse' which should resolve
synchronisation issues (I can't remember the number) but is that likely
to be resolved any time soon?

Thanks.

Kevin

Ken
2006-01-20, 06:57
I have two SB2s that are rock solid so far as synchronisation is concerned. They are both wired (rather than wireless).
I won't say they never lose synch, but it is extremely rare.
On the basis they are in use every day it will be months between them losing synch.

Ken

kweller
2006-01-20, 07:09
In article <Ken.21xrxz (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com>, Ken wrote:
> I have two SB2s that are rock solid so far as synchronisation is
> concerned.

Thanks Ken.

Strangely enough, about 15 minutes after I posted that SoftSqueeze and
the Squeezebox in question (which is wireless) came into sync and have
remained so ever since! I've no idea what caused that but have 2
theories:

1) SoftSqueeze became frightened that I was going to get rid of it so
started to behave, or

2) Music Magic finished analysing tracks thus reducing processor load
and SoftSqueeze was able to work properly.

<shrugs> I guess all I can do is monitor things and see what happens.

Kevin

Michaelwagner
2006-01-20, 07:57
As appealing as explanation 1 is, my money would be on explanation 2. :-)

kweller
2006-01-21, 05:07
In article <Michaelwagner.21xuq0 (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com>,
Michaelwagner wrote:
> As appealing as explanation 1 is, my money would be on explanation 2.
> :-)

I suspect you may be right! :)

Anyway, it held sync for a while then started showing the wrong track
details. Held it again after a reboot but then drifted, stopped
completely a few times and then I gave in and have just ordered a new
Squeezbox. That'll give me one of each - 1,2 and 3.

Kevin

Michaelwagner
2006-01-21, 06:12
You'll have to go to the antiquarian shop to get yourself a SLiMP3 as well. Then you'll truly have one from each generation :-)

kweller
2006-01-24, 07:37
In article <VA.000007fe.005ddf5f (AT) thewellers (DOT) net>, Kevin Weller wrote:
> I gave in and have just ordered a new Squeezbox.

Ah bliss - synchronicity :)

(shame about the crossfading!)

Kevin