PDA

View Full Version : MusicMagic stopped working



agentsmith
2006-01-19, 07:21
I got MusicMagic working yesterday, and managed to invoke MusicMagic Mix from SB2 when I press and hold "PLAY" on a song with the "mmm"logo.

Somehow it stopped working today, I still see the "mmm" logo, but when I press and hold play, it just plays that song.

Any idea? I was so glad that I finally can untap my library of almost 10K songs, now this ......

Ben Sandee
2006-01-19, 08:56
On 1/19/06, agentsmith <agentsmith.21vynz (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com>
wrote:
>
>
> I got MusicMagic working yesterday, and managed to invoke MusicMagic Mix
> from SB2 when I press and hold "PLAY" on a song with the "mmm"logo.
>
> Somehow it stopped working today, I still see the "mmm" logo, but when
> I press and hold play, it just plays that song.
>
> Any idea? I was so glad that I finally can untap my library of almost
> 10K songs, now this ......


Are you sure that MM is running now and was runnning that last time you
restarted your SlimServer? By running I mean that the services have been
enabled in MM preferences. I've seen this exact behavior and it always was
a case where MM had crashed or become unresponsive and when I restarted
SlimServer it could find it so the behavior was disabled. The MM icons
stayed up for me too -- I suspect because that attribute of a track is only
refreshed upon a rescan.

Ben

kdf
2006-01-19, 10:33
Quoting Ben Sandee <tbsandee (AT) gmail (DOT) com>:

> On 1/19/06, agentsmith <agentsmith.21vynz (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com>
> wrote:
>>
>>
>> I got MusicMagic working yesterday, and managed to invoke MusicMagic Mix
>> from SB2 when I press and hold "PLAY" on a song with the "mmm"logo.
>>
>> Somehow it stopped working today, I still see the "mmm" logo, but when
>> I press and hold play, it just plays that song.
>>
>> Any idea? I was so glad that I finally can untap my library of almost
>> 10K songs, now this ......
>
>
> Are you sure that MM is running now and was runnning that last time you
> restarted your SlimServer? By running I mean that the services have been
> enabled in MM preferences. I've seen this exact behavior and it always was
> a case where MM had crashed or become unresponsive and when I restarted
> SlimServer it could find it so the behavior was disabled. The MM icons
> stayed up for me too -- I suspect because that attribute of a track is only
> refreshed upon a rescan.
>
that's correct. unfrotunately, the info just can't work live. the
mixable flag is in the slimserver database. you can enable
d_musicmagic if you want to have a look at the communication between
server and MMM.
-kdf

agentsmith
2006-01-19, 17:51
Sorry this is a little too technical for me. I tried the following:

1. Reboot Machine
2. Start SlimServer from PC
3. Start MusicMagic from PC start program list
4. Try Mixing from SB2 with no success
5. Try sending a Mix from PC's MusicMagic to SlimServer with success.

Does the above indicate that MusicMagic is running or not?

Could you advice how to make sure that "the services have been
enabled in MM preferences." Is it from MusicMagic preferences, or from Windows Services?


Quoting Ben Sandee <tbsandee (AT) gmail (DOT) com>:

> On 1/19/06, agentsmith <agentsmith.21vynz (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com>
> wrote:
>>
>>
>> I got MusicMagic working yesterday, and managed to invoke MusicMagic Mix
>> from SB2 when I press and hold "PLAY" on a song with the "mmm"logo.
>>
>> Somehow it stopped working today, I still see the "mmm" logo, but when
>> I press and hold play, it just plays that song.
>>
>> Any idea? I was so glad that I finally can untap my library of almost
>> 10K songs, now this ......
>
>
> Are you sure that MM is running now and was runnning that last time you
> restarted your SlimServer? By running I mean that the services have been
> enabled in MM preferences. I've seen this exact behavior and it always was
> a case where MM had crashed or become unresponsive and when I restarted
> SlimServer it could find it so the behavior was disabled. The MM icons
> stayed up for me too -- I suspect because that attribute of a track is only
> refreshed upon a rescan.
>
that's correct. unfrotunately, the info just can't work live. the
mixable flag is in the slimserver database. you can enable
d_musicmagic if you want to have a look at the communication
server and MMM.
-kdf
between

Ben Sandee
2006-01-19, 18:15
On 1/19/06, agentsmith <agentsmith.21wrtz (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com>
wrote:
>
>
> Sorry this is a little too technical for me. I tried the following:
>
> 1. Reboot Machine
> 2. Start SlimServer from PC
> 3. Start MusicMagic from PC start program list
> 4. Try Mixing from SB2 with no success
> 5. Try sending a Mix from PC's MusicMagic to SlimServer with success.
>
> Does the above indicate that MusicMagic is running or not?


MusicMagic is running but you may not have the MusicMagic services running
-- they are different.

Could you advice how to make sure that "the services have been
> enabled in MM preferences." Is it from MusicMagic preferences, or from
> Windows Services?


I don't know how you do it on Windows MusicMagic -- I use Linux. Under
Linux if I go to the File->Preferences menu and then choose the services tab
I see a button item to "Stop" the service. I've had it happen where this
service would stop on its own or would become unresponsive, in which case I
would have to restart it. After starting the service you will need to
restart SlimServer to make SlimServer aware of the fact that MM is back up
and running. It is through this extra service that SlimServer and MM can
communicate.

Rebooting the machine won't necessarily work because depending on the order
in which the various services start, when SlimServer starts the MusicMagic
service might not be responding yet. In that case, until SlimServer is
restarted with MusicMagic responsive you will not be able to generate mixes
from within SlimServer.

Ben

Kyle
2006-01-19, 18:50
Seems like there's almost a fragile alchemy to get these two programs to see each other and work together. Try starting starting MM first and then starting SS. Sometimes you just have to wait a little while until they find each other. If that doesn't work, exit MM and restart it. You may have to refresh the SS browser a few times as well. It truly is magic when it works, but sometimes you have to allow a little time for the programs to connect.

agentsmith
2006-01-20, 03:49
I tried restarting and rebooting a few things with no success. Finally I found that when I browse the music from the PC the "mm" logo is missing from the PC side.

I killed MusicMagic and restarted it and somehow it came back.

You mentioned enabling d_musicmagic to monitor activities, how do I do that? Sorry I am not technical.


Quoting Ben Sandee <tbsandee (AT) gmail (DOT) com>:

> On 1/19/06, agentsmith <agentsmith.21vynz (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com>
> wrote:
>>
>>
>> I got MusicMagic working yesterday, and managed to invoke MusicMagic Mix
>> from SB2 when I press and hold "PLAY" on a song with the "mmm"logo.
>>
>> Somehow it stopped working today, I still see the "mmm" logo, but when
>> I press and hold play, it just plays that song.
>>
>> Any idea? I was so glad that I finally can untap my library of almost
>> 10K songs, now this ......
>
>
> Are you sure that MM is running now and was runnning that last time you
> restarted your SlimServer? By running I mean that the services have been
> enabled in MM preferences. I've seen this exact behavior and it always was
> a case where MM had crashed or become unresponsive and when I restarted
> SlimServer it could find it so the behavior was disabled. The MM icons
> stayed up for me too -- I suspect because that attribute of a track is only
> refreshed upon a rescan.
>
that's correct. unfrotunately, the info just can't work live. the
mixable flag is in the slimserver database. you can enable
d_musicmagic if you want to have a look at the communication between
server and MMM.
-kdf

kdf
2006-01-20, 04:00
agentsmith wrote:
> I tried restarting and rebooting a few things with no success. Finally
> I found that when I browse the music from the PC the "mm" logo is
> missing from the PC side.
>
> I killed MusicMagic and restarted it and somehow it came back.
>
> You mentioned enabling d_musicmagic to monitor activities, how do I do
> that? Sorry I am not technical.
>

server settings->debugging
check d_musicmagic, click change
click on the link provided in the description text at the top to open a
browser window for the log.

or you can stop the server and open a command prompt:
start->programs->accessories->command prompt
c:\program files\slimserver\server\slim.exe --d_musicmagic --logfile
c:\mylog.txt

when you are done, you'll be able to get to the entire log in mylog.txt

-kdf