PDA

View Full Version : File format selection



MikeSB
2006-01-15, 04:33
Just purchased a SB3.

I have my music in FLAC. In the File Format Conversion Setup page there are are a number of options for FLAC (FLAC->FLAC (Built-in), FLAC->MP3, FLAC->WAV).
My question is if all of these are selected which gets used. Clearly I want to use the FLAC-> FLAC built-in under normal circumstances to take advantage of the built in support in the SB3, I don't want to convert to MP3 and lose quality.
However if I am streaming remotely then conversion to MP3 makes sense.
Will Slimserver work this out?

Mike

kdf
2006-01-15, 10:41
MikeSB wrote:
> Just purchased a SB3.
>
> I have my music in FLAC. In the File Format Conversion Setup page there
> are are a number of options for FLAC (FLAC->FLAC (Built-in), FLAC->MP3,
> FLAC->WAV).
> My question is if all of these are selected which gets used. Clearly I
> want to use the FLAC-> FLAC built-in under normal circumstances to take
> advantage of the built in support in the SB3, I don't want to convert to
> MP3 and lose quality.
> However if I am streaming remotely then conversion to MP3 makes sense.
> Will Slimserver work this out?
>
yes, it will. Players accessing remotely are, by default, limited to
320kbps MP3 format. You can reduce the bitrate from the player
settings, or in the url:

http://slimserver:9000/stream.mp3?bitrate=128

-kdf

stoobie-doo
2006-02-09, 15:55
I don't mean to thread-jack, but I just discovered this thread as I start re-ripping my CDs to FLAC (most are currently in 128 or 160 AAC).

I am currently using a Belkin Pre-N router in my config; SB3 usually shows about 60-65% signal strength, and SlimServer reports via Windows connect speed usually at 24-36 MBps; signal strength ~-75-79db.

What should I have in my file format screen of SlimServer for FLAC and AAC? Right now everything is checked and I am not sure now what that means and whether FLAC is streaming as FLAC and whether I can get uncompressed music without dropouts in my config.

One last question - my receiver (Harmon Kardon 8000) can detect and natively decode MP3 signals over digital inputs. Would I be better off having it do that, and can I make the SB3 send the MP3 signal instead of a PCM signal?

Mark Lanctot
2006-02-09, 21:43
I don't mean to thread-jack, but I just discovered this thread as I start re-ripping my CDs to FLAC (most are currently in 128 or 160 AAC).

I am currently using a Belkin Pre-N router in my config; SB3 usually shows about 60-65% signal strength, and SlimServer reports via Windows connect speed usually at 24-36 MBps; signal strength ~-75-79db.

What should I have in my file format screen of SlimServer for FLAC and AAC? Right now everything is checked and I am not sure now what that means and whether FLAC is streaming as FLAC and whether I can get uncompressed music without dropouts in my config.

With the default selections, FLAC gets sent as FLAC. I don't know much about AAC, but SlimServer's default settings ensure that if it cannot be decoded natively by the player, it gets transcoded to an equivalent, i.e. uncompressed lossless to uncompressed lossless, compressed lossless to compressed lossless, and lossy compressed to lossy compressed.

To see if you have enough bandwidth for uncompressed lossless, use the Network Test plugin here: http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=18149 If you can get 2000 kbps at 100% you're fine for WAV. 1500 kbps is fine for FLAC. Under 1000 kbps will be fine for all compressed lossy formats - in fact under 500 kbps should be OK for those.



One last question - my receiver (Harmon Kardon 8000) can detect and natively decode MP3 signals over digital inputs. Would I be better off having it do that, and can I make the SB3 send the MP3 signal instead of a PCM signal?

No, the Squeezebox will always send a PCM signal.

kdf
2006-02-09, 22:26
On 9-Feb-06, at 8:43 PM, Mark Lanctot wrote:

>
> stoobie-doo Wrote:
>> I don't mean to thread-jack, but I just discovered this thread as I
>> start re-ripping my CDs to FLAC (most are currently in 128 or 160
>> AAC).
>>
>> I am currently using a Belkin Pre-N router in my config; SB3 usually
>> shows about 60-65% signal strength, and SlimServer reports via Windows
>> connect speed usually at 24-36 MBps; signal strength ~-75-79db.
>>
>> What should I have in my file format screen of SlimServer for FLAC and
>> AAC? Right now everything is checked and I am not sure now what that
>> means and whether FLAC is streaming as FLAC and whether I can get
>> uncompressed music without dropouts in my config.
>
> With the default selections, FLAC gets sent as FLAC. I don't know much
> about AAC, but SlimServer's default settings ensure that if it cannot
> be
> decoded natively by the player, it gets transcoded to an equivalent,
>
actually, it is transcoded to the preferred format for the player:

SB2/3: Flac
SB1: Wav/Aiff
SliMP3: MP3

If you have bitrate limiting set for a given player, then it will be
forced to mp3 format at that bitrate, unless the file is already mp3 of
a lower bitrate.
-k

stoobie-doo
2006-02-10, 06:46
Ok, so I should uncheck FLAC -> WAV and FLAC -> MP3 if bandwidth permits and also AAC -> AIFF (and probably AAC -> FLAC) on the File and all of the Windows Media transcodings on the File Format screen, right?

radish
2006-02-10, 08:37
Ok, so I should uncheck FLAC -> WAV and FLAC -> MP3 if bandwidth permits and also AAC -> AIFF (and probably AAC -> FLAC) on the File and all of the Windows Media transcodings on the File Format screen, right?

You don't need to change anything. The defaults for an SB3 are to stream flac as flac, which is the best option. The only reason to change would be if there isn't enough bandwidth to do that. If you start getting drop outs, switch on bandwidth limiting for the player and you'll get mp3 instead.