PDA

View Full Version : Results with SMCWBR14g router



nicketynick
2006-01-14, 11:06
I now have SB3 running fine with WPA enabled, but run into trouble everytime I try to enable the firewall on the router. Has anybody else managed to get it configured?
I will attempt to update the wiki with my experience in the next day or two.

nicketynick
2006-01-15, 09:50
For some reason the SB3 just loses its connection and powers off. Turning it back on, the only way to get it to reconnect with the server is to go all the way through the network setup, which is easier with the 'manual ip address' vs. DHCP, because it seems to be reluctant to get a proper ip address again. I'm going to try to check the logs, but not sure what to look for where. Any suggestions appreciated!

nicketynick
2006-01-15, 13:25
On further thought, its not actually powering off, it just doesn't have anything to display since it has lost its connection. Checking the router log, the SB3 keeps re-connecting (to the router), but for some reason seems unable to re-establish the connection to the server and resume playing. Also, I don't think the server ever seems to notice that the player is gone.
Any ideas how I can troubleshoot this?
BTW - Slimserver 6.2b1 on XP SP2, SB3 firmware version 21

Mark Lanctot
2006-01-15, 14:36
Most of us just gave up trying to get SMC products
to work with the Squeezebox.

I won't go right out and say "you're on your own"
but you have made it further than anyone else
working with SMC products and you're on the far
end of the diving board right now. :-)

When I was troubleshooting it, there came a point
where it was impossible to go further as
everything should have worked and there was no
indication why things weren't working. In other
words, there was nothing to troubleshoot, it just
wasn't working in any configuration or with any
settings.

nicketynick wrote:
> On further thought, its not actually powering off,
it just doesn't have
> anything to display since it has lost its
connection. Checking the
> router log, the SB3 keeps re-connecting (to the
router), but for some
> reason seems unable to re-establish the connection
to the server and
> resume playing. Also, I don't think the server ever
seems to notice
> that the player is gone.
> Any ideas how I can troubleshoot this?
>
>

--
___________________________________


Mark Lanctot
___________________________________

nicketynick
2006-01-15, 15:09
LOL - thanks Mark, I've been kind of figuring I was pushing my luck.
I just don't see why it should be so flaky - IIRC SMC uses the same chipsets as Linksys, so why so different?
Here's the latest info: the SB3 does reconnect to the router every 20 seconds or so after a failure, but somehow still doesn't reconnect to the server (this is with static ip, so shouldn't it?) If I leave it alone, it will eventually reconnect, but it sometimes takes quite a while. (BTW, slimserver never comes up and says it can't find the player - shouldn't it?)
So I'm stumped - maybe the Slim Devices tech guys have some ideas?

Mark Lanctot
2006-01-15, 15:52
nicketynick wrote:
> LOL - thanks Mark, I've been kind of figuring I was
pushing my luck.
> I just don't see why it should be so flaky - IIRC
SMC uses the same
> chipsets as Linksys, so why so different?

SMC doesn't know how to write firmware?

This isn't as flippant as it sounds. Certain
firmware versions broke some pretty basic
functionality on my SMC2804WBRP-G, and this would
have been discovered by the most basic testing,
i.e. actually running the firmware in a production
unit!

So they put out 20 different firmware versions.
Some worked worked for wireless networking, some
worked for wired networking, some made the USB
print server work, etc. etc. It was like playing
whack-a-mole.

> Here's the latest info: the SB3 does reconnect to
the router every 20
> seconds or so after a failure, but somehow still
doesn't reconnect to
> the server (this is with static ip, so shouldn't
it?) If I leave it
> alone, it will eventually reconnect, but it
sometimes takes quite a
> while. (BTW, slimserver never comes up and says it
can't find the
> player - shouldn't it?)

Perhaps communication is very, very slow - i.e. it
connects and sends enough packets to think it's
connected to SlimServer, but not enough packets to
actually do anything.

> So I'm stumped - maybe the Slim Devices tech guys
have some ideas?
>

That sounds reasonable. I wouldn't hold my breath
if I were you though, the device works perfectly
with a Linksys WRT54G running all firmware
versions under the sun, so there's nothing
inherently wrong with the Squeezebox's wireless
module IMHO, i.e. there's nothing they can do
differently.

--
___________________________________


Mark Lanctot
___________________________________

nicketynick
2006-01-15, 16:21
Well, let's just say I'm pretty sure I've got better chance at getting help from them than the folks at SMC! Funny that the 2804 got 20 firmware updates - the WBR14g hasn't had a single one!
I've seen plenty of complaints of flaky performance with the WRT54g, so I'm not even dead confident on that one either!
I have neglected to mention that slimserver is running wireless from the router - I guess if I wire it in, things will be a lot more stable.

nicketynick
2006-01-16, 07:27
To reiterate, the problems I am seeing are on the above configuration. Note that the firmware is fixed at version 21 to match up with the slimserver version, as advised by kdf.
I have begun thinking that it may be a server problem, as I have observed that the wireless stops transmitting from the laptop (no blinking light, unless I request a url, SB3 screen goes blank as it has stopped receiving the now-playing info, but song continues to play for a while out of the buffer). So I think I'll try updating to 6.2.1 and see what happens, unless some other great ideas come along. We'll see what Dan and the boys and Slim have to say when they get in to work today.

bpa
2006-01-16, 08:06
If your server is on a laptop and the laptop uses wireless to the router - what wireless card is in the laptop ?

nicketynick
2006-01-16, 08:27
It is the SMC WCB-G - I've been pleased with it so far. One thing I like is that it tells you signal strength as well as 'link quality', so it helps with identifying issues. For example, last night the SB actually started 'stuttering' - I currently have the laptop near the unit while I'm troubleshooting - although signal strength was over 50%, link quality for some reason was dropping to 10% (noise/interference somewhere? - neighbours phone?) I switched channels and it seemed to clear up.
Is it possible the laptop card is causing problems?

bpa
2006-01-16, 08:41
I have an Intel 2200BG card which resulted in spurious disconnects to my Linux server - turned out to be power mangement in the laptop reducing wireless signal. I don't know about the SMC card

AFAIK WPA results in a small reduction in bandwidth - since both server and SB3 are connected by wireless,
Is it possible that you are getting bandwidth problems ?
Is there something pulling your network down to 802.11b ?
What is the connection speed between laptop and router ?
Are you sending WAV to the SB3 ?

nicketynick
2006-01-16, 09:10
I have an Intel 2200BG card which resulted in spurious disconnects to my Linux server - turned out to be power mangement in the laptop reducing wireless signal. I don't know about the SMC card
I'll check power management again - maybe there is something in there set for 100 minutes or something.
AFAIK WPA results in a small reduction in bandwidth - since both server and SB3 are connected by wireless,
Is it possible that you are getting bandwidth problems ?
Is there something pulling your network down to 802.11b ?
What is the connection speed between laptop and router ?
Are you sending WAV to the SB3 ?
I'm sending FLAC or mp3, so minimal bandwidth required. Usually the connection speed is really high - I can put lots of other traffic on the connection without stuttering, with the exception of the incident last night, where the 'link quality' degraded and connection speed dropped to less than 1 Mbps, which caused stuttering, but not an outright shutdown.

Mark Lanctot
2006-04-06, 07:32
BTW this problem is resolved 100% with the latest SB firmware, firmware 37.

Works with no encryption and WPA-TKIP. I didn't test WEP.

It even works with "g nitro" enabled!

Thanks Richard!

nicketynick
2006-04-06, 13:27
Thanks, Mark, I'll update tonight and try it out (if the boss lets me have a free minute - she's having a girls-weekend, so guess who has a whack of chores to do!)

Mark Lanctot
2006-04-06, 14:32
Thanks, Mark, I'll update tonight and try it out (if the boss lets me have a free minute - she's having a girls-weekend, so guess who has a whack of chores to do!)

Ah - whoops! I got my models of router confused.

It works fine with the SMC2804WBRP-G router now. I don't have the SMCWBR14G, but it's worth a try.