PDA

View Full Version : IRBlaster sony code



Jaap_98
2006-01-14, 08:17
I currently controll all my devices using an IR distribution kit from keene electronics. http://www.keene.co.uk/pages/cat/18rem/18F.html (recommended)
I would now like to link the SB3 to the system, but the only problem I have is how i can get the codes for my amp (SOny str db940) (I do not have an IR port on my pc other that a USB dongle, so I believe the method described by lirc.org wil not work for me). I would prefer not to use the blaster cable i did order, tying into the distribution kit would be much cleaner.
Any ideas how I could get the codes?
Thanks!!

fcm4711
2006-01-14, 11:29
Hi Jaap_98

You could try the sony_rec.conf file included with IR Blaster. This file is for a Sony STR DB 930, but might also work with your receiver. Also what is the name of your remote? Did you already check out the many files on www.lirc.org?

Felix

Jaap_98
2006-01-14, 12:31
I will try this now, thanks for your quick response! I looked on that website but nothing, I found a file on remotecentral also for a similar model, but dont know if the file format is the same.(http://www.remotecentral.com/cgi-bin/codes/sony/str-de945/)
Also would like to automate that the audio source is selected correctly as well as power on and volume when i power on. Could you tell me if this is possible?

Jaap_98
2006-01-16, 10:03
My remote is the RM LJ304. what I am really interested in not only changing volume and on/off, but also the source. If I cannot do his, I still have to move from the couch, which ofcourse is not a good thing ;)
Had a problem with my cables yesterday but will test the setup via the keene electronics distributer and keep you updated.

Jaap_98
2006-01-16, 10:16
I tried the codes available for sony and power on off worked (albeit reversed), but volume did not.
So al least one positive. The connection to the Keene ir distrubutor works fine.

fcm4711
2006-01-16, 15:03
Hi Jaap_98

The following .conf file has been learned from an universal remote. Maybe it works...

Felix


begin remote

name sony_rec_2
bits 11
flags SPACE_ENC|CONST_LENGTH
eps 30
aeps 100

header 2468 537
one 1269 537
zero 669 537
ptrail 1268
gap 44943
min_repeat 2
toggle_bit 0


begin codes
power 0x0000000000000540
Radio 0x0000000000000420
Tape 0x0000000000000620
MD 0x0000000000000310
Video_1 0x0000000000000220
TV 0x00000000000002B0
DVD 0x00000000000005F0
5.1_CH 0x0000000000000270
CD 0x0000000000000520
volup 0x0000000000000240
voldown 0x0000000000000640
mute 0x0000000000000140
end codes

end remote

Jaap_98
2006-01-17, 10:00
Felix,
very greatful for all the time you have put into this.
The codes work. I am having a problem adding several items to one event; when I press on the plus sign behind the line i am getting javascript:void(0) in the status bar of ie explorer and no line is added. It worked once, so was able to add the 2nd line to power on, but not since. will have to play around a bit more. Also Contrary to what I said before; the keene distributer is giving me some troubles, my sky digibox does not listen anymore. Is it possible that the polarity is different or would this not have an effect.
It would be great if the sb3 could learn ir codes!
Thanks again! regards, Jaap

JohnQuirk
2006-01-17, 13:07
Hi Jaap,
The SB3 can kind of learn remote codes. If you install the XPLHAL manager it'll reflect the remote codes in its logs. I use cosed the SB3 doesn't understand to drive Homeseer. More info available if required.

JQ

fcm4711
2006-01-17, 15:00
Hi Jaap_98


very greatful for all the time you have put into this.You're welcome.

The codes work.Great!

I am having a problem adding several items to one event; when I press on the plus sign behind the line i am getting javascript:void(0) in the status bar of ie explorer and no line is added. It worked once, so was able to add the 2nd line to power on, but not since. will have to play around a bit more. Just checked with IE and it seems to work. What skin are you using?

Also Contrary to what I said before; the keene distributer is giving me some troubles, my sky digibox does not listen anymore. Is it possible that the polarity is different or would this not have an effect.Do you mean the polarity of the IR emitter?

Cheers
Felix

Jaap_98
2006-01-18, 06:17
Hi Felix,

your hunch re skin was spot on, I was using handheld, but as soon as I switched to default all worked fine.

Re polarity, yes. I have to get hold of another plug to test if changing it makes a difference.
The input on the ir distributer allows a splitter plug to be used. (have done this in the past with no problem).
The distributor *should* have no issues as long as it does not receive a signal from both inputs at the same time. I have on IR sensor mounted over the TV inside a cupboard witch controlls all the other junk. I have now tried to attach the sb3 to the same input. the sb3 work fine as long as the other is not in line of sight, but the reverse is not working. (ie. my sky remote does not react on the main eye.)
I assume the SB3 does not simply pass ir signals through, but have still to try that. in that case i could just remove the otehr "eye" and use the sb3 as the main sensor for everything. (I have attached the SB3 ir output to the distributor input)

Hope some of this makes sense!

Thanks,

Jaap

Jaap_98
2006-01-18, 06:22
Hi John,
this sounds very interesting, maybe tis could be the basis of something to enable people to learn the ir codes withing ir blaster. I am going to have a look at this, but must confess this is probably more something for the super-guru Felix!

Jaap

JohnQuirk
2006-01-18, 08:03
Hi Jaap,
I have (I hope) attached a picture of the xPLMonitor app displaying incoming IR codes. Basically as long as you have xPLHal installed from http://www.xplhal.org/index.php/Main_Page and have XPL support enabled in server settings - network in your slim server, all incoming IR codes should be reported in the XPLHAL Monitor window.

It's pretty easy really, and is easier to read than the slim IR logs (YMMV).

The beauty of this is that you can then get XPL to execute commands for you when a particular IR code is received. As mentioned earlier, I use this to execute HomeSeer commands to turn lights on and off etc. It's a neat way of routing IR without having to run any additional cables.

HTH

JQ

d_pete
2006-01-18, 12:59
I think that the current SB firmware will only pass on to slimserver IR commands that use either a JVC protocol (as used by the JVC remote) or NEC protocol (as used by slim devices remote)


So for example any RC5 protocol (as used by philips and many others) won't be fowarded on to the slimserver.

If this is the case then it would limit learning ir codes to JVC and NEC protocols