PDA

View Full Version : HELP! SQ3 won't connect to Slimserver



HappyPax
2006-01-13, 08:36
I just took delivery of Squeezebox 3 yesterday and quickly set it up on my WPA encrypted wireless network at home. This was a painless task and within minutes I was able to connect to Squeezenetwork and listen to a variety of radio stations. Unfortunately however, I have been unable to connect to Slimserver which is running on my desktop PC. I see from the forums that others have had similar problems but there doesn't appear to be a clear solution, I have applied all the appropriate firewall settings (although they were done automatically). My set up is as follows; WinXP Pr SP2 with Norton Internet Security rather than Windows Firewall. When I open Slimserver on the desktop using http://localhost:9000 it fails and I have to replace localhost with the IP address of the PC (does this PC need a static IP address?, do I need a personal webserver running?).

I do hope someone is able to give me the answer as I was really looking forward to using the Squeezebox in my living room and I look forward to your response.

ceejay
2006-01-13, 08:58
Well, most people seem to have trouble getting onto the wireless LAN, which you seem to have cracked already.

This suggests to me you may have a firewall problem... I am also using Norton: you may need to add some IP addresses into the "trusted zone" (firewall configuration / networking). I have a range for my normal LAN DHCP range, plus for some reason 127.0.0.1 stated explicitly.

HTH

Ceejay

danco
2006-01-13, 09:32
On 13/1/06 at 07:36 -0800, HappyPax wrote
>When I open Slimserver on the desktop using
>http://localhost:9000 it fails and I have to replace localhost with the
>IP address of the PC (does this PC need a static IP address?, do I need
>a personal webserver running?).

localhost *ought* to workalways but (on a Mac) I have occasionally
had trouble with it.

A statci IP address is not a bad idea, anyway.

Instead of localhos you could try 127.0.0.1, which should always work.
--
Daniel Cohen

Mark Lanctot
2006-01-13, 09:54
Your first problem is related to your firewall
configuration - others have offered suggestions.

But this second problem is puzzling. Since
SlimServer will always try to call up
localhost:9000, you will always have to change it.

Therefore there seems to be something wrong with
the resolution of local names to internal IP
addresses on your PC.

Go to C:\WINDOWS\system32\drivers\etc. Go to
Tools - Folder Options - View - Show hidden files
and folders. You should see a file called HOSTS,
with no extension. Open it using notepad. There
should be a blurb from Microsoft in there, and a
single line:

127.0.0.1 localhost

This tells your PC that "localhost" means
"127.0.0.1", which is a loopback address telling
the PC to look back on itself.

If the HOSTS file is missing or if it does not
contain that line, let me know and I'll send you a
clean HOSTS file. Since this can represent a
security exploit (hackers can redirect common
sites to their own malicious sites) I will take
measures to ensure that it is not altered - for
anyone interested, I'll give the MD5 checksum, and
the content will be nothing more than the
Microsoft notice and the 127.0.0.1 line.

HappyPax wrote:

> Firewall. When I open Slimserver on the desktop
using
> http://localhost:9000 it fails and I have to replace
localhost with the
> IP address of the PC (does this PC need a static IP
address?, do I need
> a personal webserver running?).
>

--
___________________________________


Mark Lanctot
___________________________________

Bennett, Gavin (LDN Int)
2006-01-13, 10:00
Mark,

.....slightly off topic.......

even better than a nice clean hosts file is the one at http://www.mvps.org/winhelp2002/hosts.htm
this contains blocks of lots of spyware and nasty sites as well as the correct loop back

I reccomend this to everyone I know because it speeds up browsing and stops a lot of rubbish getting close to your machine.

Gavin



MAN FINANCIAL LIMITED E-MAIL DISCLAIMER

"This electronic mail message was sent by Man Financial Limited ("MFL") of
Sugar Quay, Lower Thames Street, London, EC3R 6DU, a Company registered in
England no. 1600658. MFL is authorised and regulated by the Financial
Services Authority in the UK and is a member of the Man Group. MFL appear on
the UK Financial Services Authority register under no. 106052. MFL is a
member of the London Stock Exchange.

This electronic mail message is intended only for the personal and
confidential use of the designated recipient(s) named above. If you are not
that person, you are not authorised to view, disseminate, distribute or copy
this message or any part of it without our consent; and you are requested to
return this message to the sender immediately and delete all copies from
your system.

The value of investments and foreign exchange can go up as well as down and
involve the risk of loss. You may lose more than the amount originally
invested and, in respect of products traded on margin, you may have to pay
more later. Opinions, conclusions and other information expressed in this
message are not given or endorsed by MFL unless otherwise indicated by an
authorised representative.

Due to the electronic nature of e-mails, there is a risk that the
information contained in this message has been modified. Consequently MFL
can accept no responsibility or liability as to the completeness or accuracy
of the information.

Whilst efforts are made to safeguard messages and attachments, MFL cannot
guarantee that messages or attachments are virus free, do not contain
malicious code or are compatible with your electronic systems and does not
accept liability in respect of viruses, malicious code or any related
problems that you may experience.

MFL's e-mail system is for business purposes only. All e-mail may be
reviewed by authorised personnel, and may be provided to regulatory
authorities or others with a legal right to access such information.

If you would like to find out more information about Man Financial Limited
please click on the following hyperlink to our web site. "

Web site : http://www.manfinancial.com

Mark Lanctot
2006-01-13, 10:03
Heh heh...great minds think alike...I've been
using the MVPS HOSTS file for years now.

Actually I'm using it in conjunction with their
great HOSTS File Manager app:

http://www.mvps.org/PracticallyNerded/SoftMain.htm

Bennett, Gavin (LDN Int) wrote:
> Mark,
>
> ....slightly off topic.......
>
> even better than a nice clean hosts file is the one
at http://www.mvps.org/winhelp2002/hosts.htm
> this contains blocks of lots of spyware and nasty
sites as well as the correct loop back
>
> I reccomend this to everyone I know because it
speeds up browsing and stops a lot of rubbish getting
close to your machine.
>
> Gavin
>

--
___________________________________


Mark Lanctot
___________________________________

Bennett, Gavin (LDN Int)
2006-01-13, 10:11
Mark,

I haven't tried that but am seriously considering http://www.timdorr.com/syko86/ycsoft/hostssecure.htm which is recommended on the host site. This program holds the file open so that virus/spyware etc cannot change the hosts file themselves.

Gavin

MAN FINANCIAL LIMITED E-MAIL DISCLAIMER

"This electronic mail message was sent by Man Financial Limited ("MFL") of
Sugar Quay, Lower Thames Street, London, EC3R 6DU, a Company registered in
England no. 1600658. MFL is authorised and regulated by the Financial
Services Authority in the UK and is a member of the Man Group. MFL appear on
the UK Financial Services Authority register under no. 106052. MFL is a
member of the London Stock Exchange.

This electronic mail message is intended only for the personal and
confidential use of the designated recipient(s) named above. If you are not
that person, you are not authorised to view, disseminate, distribute or copy
this message or any part of it without our consent; and you are requested to
return this message to the sender immediately and delete all copies from
your system.

The value of investments and foreign exchange can go up as well as down and
involve the risk of loss. You may lose more than the amount originally
invested and, in respect of products traded on margin, you may have to pay
more later. Opinions, conclusions and other information expressed in this
message are not given or endorsed by MFL unless otherwise indicated by an
authorised representative.

Due to the electronic nature of e-mails, there is a risk that the
information contained in this message has been modified. Consequently MFL
can accept no responsibility or liability as to the completeness or accuracy
of the information.

Whilst efforts are made to safeguard messages and attachments, MFL cannot
guarantee that messages or attachments are virus free, do not contain
malicious code or are compatible with your electronic systems and does not
accept liability in respect of viruses, malicious code or any related
problems that you may experience.

MFL's e-mail system is for business purposes only. All e-mail may be
reviewed by authorised personnel, and may be provided to regulatory
authorities or others with a legal right to access such information.

If you would like to find out more information about Man Financial Limited
please click on the following hyperlink to our web site. "

Web site : http://www.manfinancial.com

HappyPax
2006-01-13, 13:54
Thankyou all for your replies but this is getting ridiculous. I got in tonight and went to try your theories and now the thing won't connect to the network!!!

vhs
2006-01-14, 04:53
Most of my networking problems were from using a auto 108mps setting on the Netgear router. Switch it to wireless b/g and the setting becomes reliable.

Hope this is of help.

Viv

Michaelwagner
2006-01-14, 07:24
HappyPax:

Since you can connect to squeezenetwork, you're not having a wireless problem.

So the next thing to try is the firewall. Turn it off for now as a diagnostic step. You can turn it back on in 5 minutes, but turn it off for the moment, and see if it's got it's fingers in the pie.

Tell us what results that yields, and then we'll go from there.

Michaelwagner
2006-01-14, 07:28
HappyPax:

See the last posting in this thread
http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=18914&highlight=norton+firewall
about special requirements of Norton's firewall.
Tell us if that works.

Siduhe
2006-01-14, 08:31
When I open Slimserver on the desktop using http://localhost:9000 it fails and I have to replace localhost with the IP address of the PC (does this PC need a static IP address?, do I need a personal webserver running?).


I'm not quite clear from what you say above whether you can in fact connect to Slimserver by using http://192.168.0.101:9000 or similar (so it's just the localhost address that doesn't work) or whether you can't connect at all ?

If the former, is there a particular reason you want to use the localhost address rather than the IP one ? Localhost doesn't work on my PC because of the way I have my network security set up, so I just use the fixed IP address of the PC.

And in answer to your other question, personally I'm a big fan of static IP's - makes it easier to tell what's trying to do what on the network ! But you shouldn't need to have one.

Sorry if I've misunderstood your problem.