PDA

View Full Version : Erratic display after installing voice adapter



GoCubs
2006-01-13, 07:41
I recently decided to switch to SpeakEasy for a voip phone connection instead of a traditional landline.

After installing their voice adapter my squeeze box displays are acting erratically. This is most visible in the DateTime or SuperDateTime plugin. Basically as the clock is ticking it will at times pause for a few seconds, then display the next second from before it started the pause, and then jump 5 seconds.

For example:
09:15:12 <THREE SECONDS> 09:15:13 09:15:18

The delays are inconsistent in how long they are and their frequency. They're particularly annoying because they can cause my SuperDateTime screensaver to behave crazy when cycling.

TECH INFO:
SpeakEasy gives me 2 static IP's via a DSL line. One for Internet and one for VOIP. The DSL modem connects to a Motorola voice adapter (operating in bridge mode) which connects to a Linksys 54G series wireless router. My server and two squeeze boxes are connected to the router via hardwired connections which receive local IP addresses via DHCP from the router. The router and Motorola are each configured for their individual static IPs.

I tried putting the Linksys before the Motorola and it did not work at all. I'm not sure how (or if it's even possible) to configure the Linksys to use the one static IP for DHCP but allow the Motorola to use a different static IP. I've also tried flashing to the latest Linksys firmware and/or the latest Alchemy firmware replacement.

Any ideas? I really don't understand why putting the Motorola bridged on my WAN impacts my local LAN traffic even when the WAN is not being used at all.

Much thanks
-Greg

Mark Lanctot
2006-01-13, 09:19
Is the DateTime screensaver connected to
SqueezeNetwork or to your SlimServer? If it's to
SlimServer, that's a separate issue, but if it's
to SqueezeNetwork, read on.

At first I composed a lengthy discussion about
getting your DSL modem into bridge mode (as
opposed to router mode) to ensure that your voice
adapter is using one WAN IP and your router
another, but then I realized that separate IPs may
not matter in terms of bandwidth...they are both
going through the same pipe, your DSL connection.
Your total bandwidth likely has not changed,
even though you now have two separate "straws" to
suck bandwidth up the same pipe.

What's probably happening - the Mororola voice
adapter always assures it has service using QoS -
Quality of Service, which reserves a certain
portion of the bandwidth. The intention is to
ensure you do not have a drop out during a phone
call when you're downloading something. QoS will
throttle down other traffic to ensure that the
voice adapter always has bandwidth.

The Squeezebox doesn't use a lot of bandwidth in
standby, but it does use it repeatedly with the
DateTime screensaver. You're probably seeing QoS
interrupting it, although that's not the intention
and it seems over-aggressive. Are there any QoS
parameters you can change? Can SpeakEasy help you
out?

With a download or a SqueezeNetwork stream, QoS
should merely throttle the speed down somewhat to
ensure service. I don't know how the DateTime
screensaver works, but it seems to require a burst
of data every second. Perhaps the process is
sensitive to speed reductions?

Do downloads and SqueezeNetwork streams work OK?

GoCubs wrote:
> I recently decided to switch to SpeakEasy for a voip
phone connection
> instead of a traditional landline.
>
> After installing their voice adapter my squeeze box
displays are acting
> erratically. This is most visible in the DateTime
or SuperDateTime
> plugin. Basically as the clock is ticking it will
at times pause for a
> few seconds, then display the next second from
before it started the
> pause, and then jump 5 seconds.
>
> For example:
> 09:15:12 <THREE SECONDS> 09:15:13 09:15:18
>
> The delays are inconsistent in how long they are and
their frequency.
> They're particularly annoying because they can cause
my SuperDateTime
> screensaver to behave crazy when cycling.
>
> TECH INFO:
> SpeakEasy gives me 2 static IP's via a DSL line.
One for Internet and
> one for VOIP. The DSL modem connects to a Motorola
voice adapter
> (operating in bridge mode) which connects to a
Linksys 54G series
> wireless router. My server and two squeeze boxes
are connected to the
> router via hardwired connections which receive local
IP addresses via
> DHCP from the router. The router and Motorola are
each configured for
> their individual static IPs.
>
> I tried putting the Linksys before the Motorola and
it did not work at
> all. I'm not sure how (or if it's even possible) to
configure the
> Linksys to use the one static IP for DHCP but allow
the Motorola to use
> a different static IP. I've also tried flashing to
the latest Linksys
> firmware and/or the latest Alchemy firmware
replacement.
>
> Any ideas? I really don't understand why putting
the Motorola bridged
> on my WAN impacts my local LAN traffic even when the
WAN is not being
> used at all.
>
> Much thanks
> -Greg
>
>

--
___________________________________


Mark Lanctot
___________________________________

GoCubs
2006-01-13, 11:38
Is the DateTime screensaver connected to
SqueezeNetwork or to your SlimServer? If it's to
SlimServer, that's a separate issue, but if it's
to SqueezeNetwork, read on.

At first I composed a lengthy discussion about
getting your DSL modem into bridge mode (as
opposed to router mode) to ensure that your voice
adapter is using one WAN IP and your router
another, but then I realized that separate IPs may
not matter in terms of bandwidth...they are both
going through the same pipe, your DSL connection.
Your total bandwidth likely has not changed,
even though you now have two separate "straws" to
suck bandwidth up the same pipe.

What's probably happening - the Mororola voice
adapter always assures it has service using QoS -
Quality of Service, which reserves a certain
portion of the bandwidth. The intention is to
ensure you do not have a drop out during a phone
call when you're downloading something. QoS will
throttle down other traffic to ensure that the
voice adapter always has bandwidth.

The Squeezebox doesn't use a lot of bandwidth in
standby, but it does use it repeatedly with the
DateTime screensaver. You're probably seeing QoS
interrupting it, although that's not the intention
and it seems over-aggressive. Are there any QoS
parameters you can change? Can SpeakEasy help you
out?

With a download or a SqueezeNetwork stream, QoS
should merely throttle the speed down somewhat to
ensure service. I don't know how the DateTime
screensaver works, but it seems to require a burst
of data every second. Perhaps the process is
sensitive to speed reductions?

Do downloads and SqueezeNetwork streams work OK?

Mark-
Thanks for the detailed response. I currently have my own dedicated overpowered server connected to the router that I use (I'm not using SqueezeNetwork). The weird thing is this is happening to my local traffic, even when I'm not sending anything over the DSL line. I would think a switch would isolate that traffic. I manually logged into the voice adapter and it is set in bridge mode with a different static ip.

My initial call to SpeakEasy resulted in them telling me to call Linksys. Weak. :(

-Greg

Mark Lanctot
2006-01-13, 12:02
Yes, that is quite bizarre. It should not be even
seeing your LAN traffic!

So it looks like it's doing something upstream to
your Linksys router. What that would be...hard to
say.

Does this behaviour happen when your router is
isolated from the voice adapter? Unplug it from
the voice adapter. If it still does this, we can
limit our investigation to just the router and the
voice adapter is a red herring.

Can you play music on your Squeezebox from your
SlimServer?

I've never used a packet sniffer before, but this
might be a situation where it comes in handy.
Ethereal is the one I see most often recommended:

http://www.ethereal.com/

GoCubs wrote:
> Mark Lanctot Wrote:
>> Is the DateTime screensaver connected to
>> SqueezeNetwork or to your SlimServer? If it's to
>> SlimServer, that's a separate issue, but if it's
>> to SqueezeNetwork, read on.
>>
>> At first I composed a lengthy discussion about
>> getting your DSL modem into bridge mode (as
>> opposed to router mode) to ensure that your voice
>> adapter is using one WAN IP and your router
>> another, but then I realized that separate IPs may
>> not matter in terms of bandwidth...they are both
>> going through the same pipe, your DSL connection.
>> Your total bandwidth likely has not changed,
>> even though you now have two separate "straws" to
>> suck bandwidth up the same pipe.
>>
>> What's probably happening - the Mororola voice
>> adapter always assures it has service using QoS -
>> Quality of Service, which reserves a certain
>> portion of the bandwidth. The intention is to
>> ensure you do not have a drop out during a phone
>> call when you're downloading something. QoS will
>> throttle down other traffic to ensure that the
>> voice adapter always has bandwidth.
>>
>> The Squeezebox doesn't use a lot of bandwidth in
>> standby, but it does use it repeatedly with the
>> DateTime screensaver. You're probably seeing QoS
>> interrupting it, although that's not the intention
>> and it seems over-aggressive. Are there any QoS
>> parameters you can change? Can SpeakEasy help you
>> out?
>>
>> With a download or a SqueezeNetwork stream, QoS
>> should merely throttle the speed down somewhat to
>> ensure service. I don't know how the DateTime
>> screensaver works, but it seems to require a burst
>> of data every second. Perhaps the process is
>> sensitive to speed reductions?
>>
>> Do downloads and SqueezeNetwork streams work OK?
>>
> Mark-
> Thanks for the detailed response. I currently have
my own dedicated
> overpowered server connected to the router that I
use (I'm not using
> SqueezeNetwork). The weird thing is this is
happening to my local
> traffic, even when I'm not sending anything over the
DSL line. I would
> think a switch would isolate that traffic. I
manually logged into the
> voice adapter and it is set in bridge mode with a
different static ip.
>
> My initial call to SpeakEasy resulted in them
telling me to call
> Linksys. Weak. :(
>
> -Greg
>
>

--
___________________________________


Mark Lanctot
___________________________________

GoCubs
2006-01-14, 19:06
Thought I'd post a quick update...

I'm happy to report I've resolved my network problem. Unfortuantly I'm not exactly sure what did the trick. I was trying countless configurations. I had nearly given up when I noticed one of my squeeze boxes was no longer acting weird. I decided to try swapping ports (a working with a nonworking SB) and after a router powercycle everything was working.

Odd, yes. But I'm not going to complain or tinker any more. I'm not sure if it mattered or not, but I also tried another nonLinksys firmware. For those of you with Linksys WRT54G series routers you should check out some of the other firmwares out there. They add quite a few new features that are typically only found on much more expensive routers. It also allows you to telnet into the router (it's actually running Linux!).

Cheers
Greg

Mark Lanctot
2006-01-14, 20:31
Well, which firmware was it?

I'm using DD-WRT v23. Seems to be very Slim-friendly.
:-)

Glad you solved your problems!

--- GoCubs
<GoCubs.21nlqn (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com> wrote:

>
> Odd, yes. But I'm not going to complain or tinker
> any more. I'm not
> sure if it mattered or not, but I also tried another
> nonLinksys
> firmware. For those of you with Linksys WRT54G
> series routers you
> should check out some of the other firmwares out
> there. They add quite
> a few new features that are typically only found on
> much more expensive
> routers. It also allows you to telnet into the
> router (it's actually
> running Linux!).
>

GoCubs
2006-01-16, 08:34
Well, which firmware was it?

I'm using DD-WRT v23. Seems to be very Slim-friendly.
:-)

Glad you solved your problems!


Thanks! Right now I'm sticking with "WRT54GS/GL HyperWRT + Thibor". http://www.thibor.co.uk/ I guess it's a combined version of HyperWRT and Thibor. My friend recommended it after great success using it's QOS functionality with his Vonage VOIP adapter. Unfortunately I have not yet been able to convince him to get a Squeezebox... :(

Thanks again for all your suggestions.
-Greg