PDA

View Full Version : SB1 & SB2 cases interchangeable?



Greg Klanderman
2006-01-12, 10:40
Hi,

I'm considering upgrading to an SB2 before they're all gone, but there
are only silver ones left at this point. Will I be able to swap the
black case from my SB1 (graphical) with the silver SB2 case?

thanks,
Greg

stinkingpig
2006-01-12, 10:47
>
> Hi,
>
> I'm considering upgrading to an SB2 before they're all gone, but there
> are only silver ones left at this point. Will I be able to swap the
> black case from my SB1 (graphical) with the silver SB2 case?
>
> thanks,
> Greg

I think so - externally the cases are the same.

--
Jack Coates At Monkeynoodle Dot Org: It's A Scientific Venture!
"I spent all me tin with the ladies drinking gin, so across the Western
ocean I must wander" - traditional

kdf
2006-01-12, 10:52
Quoting Jack Coates <jack (AT) monkeynoodle (DOT) org>:

>
>>
>> Hi,
>>
>> I'm considering upgrading to an SB2 before they're all gone, but there
>> are only silver ones left at this point. Will I be able to swap the
>> black case from my SB1 (graphical) with the silver SB2 case?
>>
>> thanks,
>> Greg
>
> I think so - externally the cases are the same.

I believe there are a couple tabs that you need to remove to allow room
for the slightly larger display unit. I can't remember if it was the
top or bottom ones. You'll know when you try it. ;)

-kdf

Greg Klanderman
2006-01-12, 11:34
>> I think so - externally the cases are the same.

> I believe there are a couple tabs that you need to remove to allow room for the
> slightly larger display unit. I can't remember if it was the top or bottom
> ones. You'll know when you try it. ;)

Thanks KDF and Jack for your replies. KDF, do you mean tabs on the
inside? I assume the clear window is the same size, just the display
element itself is bigger? Can I assume you have done this?

Only the top is silver, right? so I just swap the tops?

greg

kdf
2006-01-12, 12:05
Quoting Greg Klanderman <gak (AT) klanderman (DOT) net>:

>
>>> I think so - externally the cases are the same.
>
>> I believe there are a couple tabs that you need to remove to allow
>> room for the
>> slightly larger display unit. I can't remember if it was the top or bottom
>> ones. You'll know when you try it. ;)
>
> Thanks KDF and Jack for your replies. KDF, do you mean tabs on the
> inside? I assume the clear window is the same size, just the display
> element itself is bigger? Can I assume you have done this?

yes, they are the inside tabs. the body is slightly larger, but the
front display area will still fit.
I haven't personally, but I have a beta unit that has the new hardware,
old case. I am also recalling an older thread...
http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=13116

>
> Only the top is silver, right? so I just swap the tops?

it is a clamshell, top and bottom.

-kdf

Greg Klanderman
2006-01-12, 15:06
>>>>> kdf <slim-mail (AT) deane-freeman (DOT) com> writes:

> http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=13116

Perfect, thanks KDF!

greg