PDA

View Full Version : Problems since Sunday (2006/01/08) with SqueezeNetwork



Omen
2006-01-11, 09:46
Hi,

I was wondering if anyone else is having problems accessing the SqueezeNetwork? I've been having problems with my 2 SB3's connecting and navigating SqueezeNetwork since last Sunday. I thought it was just me, but my father-in-law (who lives a few miles away from me) is having the same problem with his new SB3 that I bought him for a Christmas present. The problem's worse for him, since he just wants to use the SqueezeNetwork to play radio stations from his Live365 subscription, but he can't. It makes my present to him look really foolish :)

What's happing to us is that either the SB3 can't connect at all to the SqueezeNetwork (it just stays on "Connecting to SqueezeNetwork...", then the SB3 powers down), or the SB3 finally connects, but the selection controls on the remote (i.e. up, down, left, right, etc.) take forever to register (and to make matters worse, they're buffered), making selecting and playing radio stations from the SqueezeNetwork impossible.

Both of us are using wireless access (I'm using a Belkin Pre-N router, he's using a Linksys WRT54GS) with 128-bit WEP security. The signal strength for my 2 SB3's in in the 65-80% range, while his is in the 60% range.

I've tinkered with all the settings, even to go as far as disabling DHCP and setting up static IP's, but nothing seems to work.

Any ideas? Or are my father-in-law and I just unlucky?

Thanks.

Mike

John C
2006-01-11, 10:00
Yes there have been problems. Have a look at the posts in the squeezenetwork forum at http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=19784

Mark Lanctot
2006-01-11, 10:01
There have been load problems with SqueezeNetwork
recently. A byproduct of Slim's success. ;-)

They are installing more servers to cope with the
demand:

http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=19784

Sales must be absolutely exploding. I recall
about a month and a half ago that they had spare
bandwidth to sell!

Sean: I know and can understand that Slim is a
privately-held company that is under no obligation
to release sales figures, but would we be able to
get an idea of sales growth, say in the last few
months, or say after the SB3 launch?

Maybe just a number-of-digits percentage?

It's at least in double-digit percentage growth,
if not triple-digit.

Omen wrote:
> Hi,
>
> I was wondering if anyone else is having problems
accessing the
> SqueezeNetwork? I've been having problems with my 2
SB3's connecting
> and navigating SqueezeNetwork since last Sunday. I
thought it was just
> me, but my father-in-law (who lives a few miles away
from me) is having
> the same problem with his new SB3 that I bought him
for a Christmas
> present. The problem's worse for him, since he just
wants to use the
> SqueezeNetwork to play radio stations from his
Live365 subscription,
> but he can't. It makes my present to him look really
foolish :)
>
> What's happing to us is that either the SB3 can't
connect at all to the
> SqueezeNetwork (it just stays on "Connecting to
SqueezeNetwork...", then
> the SB3 powers down), or the SB3 finally connects,
but the selection
> controls on the remote (i.e. up, down, left, right,
etc.) take forever
> to register (and to make matters worse, they're
buffered), making
> selecting and playing radio stations from the
SqueezeNetwork
> impossible.
>
> Both of us are using wireless access (I'm using a
Belkin Pre-N router,
> he's using a Linksys WRT54GS) with 128-bit WEP
security. The signal
> strength for my 2 SB3's in in the 65-80% range,
while his is in the 60%
> range.
>
> I've tinkered with all the settings, even to go as
far as disabling
> DHCP and setting up static IP's, but nothing seems
to work.
>
> Any ideas? Or are my father-in-law and I just
unlucky?
>
> Thanks.
>
> Mike
>
>

--
___________________________________


Mark Lanctot
___________________________________

Omen
2006-01-11, 10:12
Thanks John. I didn't notice that there was a SqueezeNetwork forum. I'll check it out.

Mike