PDA

View Full Version : Contemplating Two SB3ís



joek
2006-01-11, 07:29
Iíve given SB3 a serious look by reading most all of the forum messages here and reviews sprinkled throughout the internet. Iíve looked at other technologies and competitor products and am still drawn to the SB3. However, I must admit I have reservations with making an investment with the SlimDevices SB3.

Iíve configured the SlimServer and am successfully streaming audio to SoftSqueeze. Also, Iíve successfully tested multiple SoftSqueeze clients synchronized together. This was a wonderful way to test drive everything prior to making the purchase.

When I take a step back and reflect on all the information Iíve reviewed there is a concern over the wireless network operation of the SB3. This is one of the unique features of the product Ė to be able to place it anywhere you like within your wireless range. Are the wireless network problems mentioned in these forums only a very small percentage of the overall wireless SB3 users? Iíve read in the forums that SlimDevices acknowledged network issues with the SB3 and they were working on fixes. Hopefully, any issues with the SB3 can be fixed in firmware.

Apparently, all the previous product versions have a good reputation for reliability and stability. IMO, I would not expect to see many new problems with the SB3 since SlimDevices claims they are essentially the same device with new skins. Therefore, I would think the SB3 would just continue with the same success of the SB2.

Please understand I am not here to criticize the company or the product, but rather trying to convince myself that I will not have any problems with using two SB3ís in my environment. I am technically competent to deal with wireless networking issues and most other problems. However, I would like to think that other users (not as technically skilled) can simply use the SB3 and play music trouble free.

SlimDevice seems to be a great company with a great product. The company obviously stands by the SB3 with a 30 day guarantee and 1yr parts and labor warranty. Also, Support appears responsive and helpful in resolving problems.

Still considering two SB3ís for wireless use!

Joe :-)

mherger
2006-01-11, 08:00
> Please understand I am not here to criticize the company or the
> product, but rather trying to convince myself that I will not have any
> problems with using two SB3?s in my environment.

Nobody can give you this guarantee. There are too many variables. And WLAN
just does not seem to be as standardized as producers claim it to be.

> problems. However, I would like to think that other users (not as
> technically skilled) can simply use the SB3 and play music trouble
> free.

They do. There must be thousands of SB users out there. Count the number
of those who report wireless problems. There are, of course, but for most
of us it's just working. I have four SBs wirelessly connected to my
server. And I still consider the SliMP3 (ancestor of today's SB3) I bought
two years ago one of the best investments of this century :-).

> Still considering two SB3?s for wireless use!

Go for it. You've got 30 days.

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------
Help translate SlimServer by using the
SlimString Translation Helper (http://www.herger.net/slim/)

yarrga
2006-01-11, 08:31
For what its worth, I too spent many hours researching the various products available before I finally bought my SB2. I too had many of the same concerns and was wary of departing with £200 for something that might not work as I wanted. However, I eventually took the plunge 6 months ago and bought a wireless SB2 and I have to admit I have had zero problems with the SB2.

I took it out of the box, plugged it in to the exisitng (and sometimes flaky) wireless network that I had up and running and within 10 minutes the device was playing beautifully.

I have subsequently encounted one problem and that was to do with IP addresses on the network. I resolved this simply by allocating the SB2 a permanent IP address. I can honestly say that I have not had a single problem with it AND my wireless network is no longer flaky!

I can play the SB2 in any room in my house (the beauty of a small, easily moveable device) and I can even run the SB2 in the garden which is fantastic for summer parties!

I have upgraded the firmware on a regular basis, I have even built a stand alone server from an old AMD K6 chip and 256Mb of memory and all through the changes the SB2 has worked consistently.

Stop the worrying, buy the product, install and enjoy!!

Oh, and if there are any problems, this excellent forum has plenty of like minded people more than willing to assist.

Yarrga

danco
2006-01-11, 09:01
On 11/1/06 at 16:00 +0100, Michael Herger wrote
>>Please understand I am not here to criticize the company or the
>>product, but rather trying to convince myself that I will not have any
>>problems with using two SB3?s in my environment.
>
>Nobody can give you this guarantee. There are too many variables.
>And WLAN just does not seem to be as standardized as producers claim
>it to be.
>
>>problems. However, I would like to think that other users (not as
>>technically skilled) can simply use the SB3 and play music trouble
>>free.
>
>They do. There must be thousands of SB users out there. Count the
>number of those who report wireless problems. There are, of course,
>but for most of us it's just working. I have four SBs wirelessly
>connected to my server. And I still consider the SliMP3 (ancestor of
>today's SB3) I bought two years ago one of the best investments of
>this century :-).
>
>>Still considering two SB3?s for wireless use!
>
>Go for it. You've got 30 days.

And don't forget that wired and wireless are *not* the only choices.
There's also Homeplug (and its variants) which allows the distance of
wireless but with (so it seems, I haven't tried) more reliable
connectivity.

--
Daniel Cohen

Dave Dewey
2006-01-11, 10:00
Quoting joek (joek.21h5bz (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com):

>
> Iíve given SB3 a serious look by reading most all of the forum messages
> here and reviews sprinkled throughout the internet. Iíve looked at
> other technologies and competitor products and am still drawn to the
> SB3. However, I must admit I have reservations with making an
> investment with the SlimDevices SB3.
>
> Iíve configured the SlimServer and am successfully streaming audio to
> SoftSqueeze. Also, Iíve successfully tested multiple SoftSqueeze
> clients synchronized together. This was a wonderful way to test drive
> everything prior to making the purchase.
>
> When I take a step back and reflect on all the information Iíve
> reviewed there is a concern over the wireless network operation of the
> SB3. This is one of the unique features of the product Ė to be able to
> place it anywhere you like within your wireless range. Are the wireless
> network problems mentioned in these forums only a very small percentage
> of the overall wireless SB3 users? Iíve read in the forums that
> SlimDevices acknowledged network issues with the SB3 and they were
> working on fixes. Hopefully, any issues with the SB3 can be fixed in
> firmware.

As a counterbalance, I have 3 wireless SBs, one each 1st, 2nd and 3rd
generation. I've never had any issues with wireless connectivity, each
worked flawlessly out of the box. I have a very busy, wep-enabled home
wireless network, mixed with both B and G access points (one each) and
clients, plus cordless phones and microwaves. Of course YMMV, but it works
for me.

dave

Mark Lanctot
2006-01-11, 10:07
yarrga:

I have a K6-2 400 lying around gathering dust.
I'm thinking of constructing a dedicated SlimServer.

What OS are you running on it?

How are rescans?

yarrga wrote:
>
> I have upgraded the firmware on a regular basis, I
have even built a
> stand alone server from an old AMD K6 chip and 256Mb
of memory and all
> through the changes the SB2 has worked consistently.

>


--
___________________________________


Mark Lanctot
___________________________________

snarlydwarf
2006-01-11, 11:38
yarrga:

I have a K6-2 400 lying around gathering dust.
I'm thinking of constructing a dedicated SlimServer.

What OS are you running on it?

How are rescans?



I run a p2/400 for a server, currently around 8k tracks or so with 2 SB2's (and softsqueeze when I'm at work), running Debian GNU/Linux.

Rescans aren't often (maybe every week or two when I'm bored I'll do a 'wipe/rescan'), but I don't think they even take an hour.... the only thing that annoys me is that it messes up my random play when I do it.

I'm transcoding for the Softsqueeze at work, and load is sitting around 0.1 right now.

IMHO, K6's are a bit slower, MHz for MHz, than P2's, but it should be fine. Make sure you have 'enough' memory (mine is 256M, which isn't much these days, but was a lot when that system was new!)

Mark Lanctot
2006-01-11, 12:00
I have 192 MB of memory for it right now.

128 + 32 + 32.

PC100 is quite expensive right now, I hope that
will suffice.

I remember reading somewhere that the K6-2 has a
problem with memory higher than 128 and that
performance is actually slower...so buying more
may be a waste anyway.

snarlydwarf wrote:
> Mark Lanctot Wrote:
>
>>yarrga:
>>
>>I have a K6-2 400 lying around gathering dust.
>>I'm thinking of constructing a dedicated SlimServer.
>>
>>What OS are you running on it?
>>
>>How are rescans?
>>
>>
>
>
> I run a p2/400 for a server, currently around 8k
tracks or so with 2
> SB2's (and softsqueeze when I'm at work), running
Debian GNU/Linux.
>
> Rescans aren't often (maybe every week or two when
I'm bored I'll do a
> 'wipe/rescan'), but I don't think they even take an
hour.... the only
> thing that annoys me is that it messes up my random
play when I do it.
>
>
> I'm transcoding for the Softsqueeze at work, and
load is sitting around
> 0.1 right now.
>
> IMHO, K6's are a bit slower, MHz for MHz, than P2's,
but it should be
> fine. Make sure you have 'enough' memory (mine is
256M, which isn't
> much these days, but was a lot when that system was
new!)
>
>

--
___________________________________


Mark Lanctot, marklanctot (AT) yahoo (DOT) ca
___________________________________

dwc
2006-01-11, 15:07
I have 2 wireless sb3's running. No problems with them interfering with each other.
-Dan

yarrga
2006-01-25, 09:39
yarrga:

I have a K6-2 400 lying around gathering dust.
I'm thinking of constructing a dedicated SlimServer.

What OS are you running on it?

How are rescans?


--
___________________________________


Mark Lanctot
___________________________________

Hi, sorry, forgot I'd posted this back at the beginning of January!!!

I run Windows XP Pro (with a load of services turned off)and I have over 200 CDs worth of music in both Flac and MP3 (enough to fill 230Gb of my hard disk!) and I have no problem with re-scans. It takes about an hour at most when I do the rescan, I usually set it off last thing at night as the server is on all the time.

The chip doesn't get particually hot either, I am running in an attic room which is nice and cool and using stock fans on the chip and in the case.

I did fit a PATA-133 controller card and fitted a Maxtor 10 hard disk and it all works beautifully. No problems with play back, no network issues no breakdowns at all (no doubt that will all change now that i have put it in print!!).

yarrga

klausbgva
2006-01-25, 13:50
Wireless can be an issue but that has nothing to do with the Slimbox but with wireless.

Where I live we have 10 inches of concrete wall and that is quiet a big hurdle for wifi.

I have 6 slimboxes
2 wired
2 wireless (no problem)
2 wireless at my neighbour
2 firends accessing the over VPN.

The server has never been a issue so far did a few upgrades to hardware but nothing major.

Wireless for my neighbour has been the major issue. The signal goes from 100% to about 20-30 about 30feet away.

I just ordered a big high gain antenna made for hotels in the hope to improve the signal.

If that does not work I will revert to good old cable.

Beyond that slimbox is the best piece of software and hardware I have seen in years.

I do software evaluation, installation and configuration and honestly if everyting was as easy as a slimbox I would be out of work

4mula1
2006-01-26, 05:05
FWIW-

The SB3 has been my first foray into wireless. Safe to say, I learned a bit on the way! I had a problem initially with interference from our cordless phones, but changing the channel on the AP seems to have solved that. Everything works great and now my wife and I fight over the living room...I want to listen to some music and she wants the TV!

Like somebody else said, people don't post on the forums when it works right, they only post when it doesn't. With a 30 day guarantee how can you go wrong?