PDA

View Full Version : WPA2 & Linksys WRT54GS V4



GrahameP
2006-01-10, 07:44
Hi,

I've just had to replace my router due to a failure of the old Linksys WRT54G, and I now have a brand new WRT54GS V4. I would have liked more time to investigate and select the best router and to have avoided PC World, but it was Sunday and I'd lost the internet, etc, etc.

When I had the old WRT54G (v1.0) I tried changing the wireless from WEP 128-bit to WPA, but couldn't make it work with my Squeezebox 2. I've tried again with the new router, and I get the same results. I can configure the SB2 to use WPA2 Personal and set the shared key, but although it sees the network, it fails to connect. After a couple of hours of trying different options in the router setup I gave up and went back to WEP 128-bit and all is well. Does anyone have this working correctly, and if so, how? By the way, both routers are on the supplied Linksys firmware.

Cheers,
Grahame.

Mark Lanctot
2006-01-10, 08:02
Did you try WPA-TKIP? Works fine for me with a
WRT54G v4, running Linksys firmware 4.20.6, 4.20.7
and DD-WRT 23 beta 1 and 23 final.

Should be much better than WEP at least.

WPA2-AES is still very new.

GrahameP wrote:
> Hi,
>
> I've just had to replace my router due to a failure
of the old Linksys
> WRT54G, and I now have a brand new WRT54GS V4. I
would have liked more
> time to investigate and select the best router and
to have avoided PC
> World, but it was Sunday and I'd lost the internet,
etc, etc.
>
> When I had the old WRT54G (v1.0) I tried changing
the wireless from WEP
> 128-bit to WPA, but couldn't make it work with my
Squeezebox 2. I've
> tried again with the new router, and I get the same
results. I can
> configure the SB2 to use WPA2 Personal and set the
shared key, but
> although it sees the network, it fails to connect.
After a couple of
> hours of trying different options in the router
setup I gave up and
> went back to WEP 128-bit and all is well. Does
anyone have this
> working correctly, and if so, how? By the way, both
routers are on the
> supplied Linksys firmware.
>
> Cheers,
> Grahame.
>
>

--
___________________________________


Mark Lanctot
___________________________________

GrahameP
2006-01-10, 08:29
I tried both TKIP and AES, but got the same response from the SB2 with both of them. I am using a mainly Windows network (XP SP2, PocketPC2003 & 2003 SBS), so the authentication solution needs to work in this environment (the server is not on the wireless side of the network, so I suppose it doesn't count).

Cheers,
Grahame.


Did you try WPA-TKIP? Works fine for me with a
WRT54G v4, running Linksys firmware 4.20.6, 4.20.7
and DD-WRT 23 beta 1 and 23 final.

Should be much better than WEP at least.

WPA2-AES is still very new.

--
___________________________________


Mark Lanctot
___________________________________

Mark Lanctot
2006-01-10, 09:52
But did you try *WPA*-TKIP as opposed to *WPA2*?

WPA works fine in my setup. I haven't tried WPA2
yet, but I'll have to upgrade my wireless driver
for my laptop to do that, and the last time I did
that it trashed the laptop and I had to reinstall.

BTW don't try WPA-AES or WPA2-TKIP. Both these
are unofficial and are often unsupported. For
WPA, use TKIP. For WPA2, use AES.

GrahameP wrote:
> I tried both TKIP and AES, but got the same response
from the SB2 with
> both of them. I am using a mainly Windows network
(XP SP2,
> PocketPC2003 & 2003 SBS), so the authentication
solution needs to work
> in this environment (the server is not on the
wireless side of the
> network, so I suppose it doesn't count).
>
> Cheers,
> Grahame.
>
> Mark Lanctot Wrote:
>
>>Did you try WPA-TKIP? Works fine for me with a
>>WRT54G v4, running Linksys firmware 4.20.6, 4.20.7
>>and DD-WRT 23 beta 1 and 23 final.
>>
>>Should be much better than WEP at least.
>>
>>WPA2-AES is still very new.
>>
>>--

--
___________________________________


Mark Lanctot, marklanctot (AT) yahoo (DOT) ca
___________________________________

GrahameP
2006-01-10, 10:04
Hi,

More info: -

Using WEP128 each end & DHCP - all connects OK

Using WPA2 Personal - AES on router, WPA2 Personal on SB2 & DHCP - connects to network but gets a 169. address (should be 192.168.) and fails to connect to slimserver.

Using WPA2 Personal - AES on router, WPA2 Personal on SB2 & fixed (192.168.) address - connects to network and fails to connect to slimserver.

Using WPA2 Personal - TKIP+AES on router, WPA2 Personal on SB2 & fixed (192.168.) address - fails to connect to network.

Hope this is useful.

Cheers,
Grahame.



I tried both TKIP and AES, but got the same response from the SB2 with both of them. I am using a mainly Windows network (XP SP2, PocketPC2003 & 2003 SBS), so the authentication solution needs to work in this environment (the server is not on the wireless side of the network, so I suppose it doesn't count).

Cheers,
Grahame.

Mark Lanctot
2006-01-10, 11:08
Again, try WPA as opposed to WPA2.

GrahameP wrote:
> Hi,
>
> More info: -
>
> Using WEP128 each end & DHCP - all connects OK
>
> Using WPA2 Personal - AES on router, WPA2 Personal
on SB2 & DHCP -
> connects to network but gets a 169. address (should
be 192.168.) and
> fails to connect to slimserver.
>
> Using WPA2 Personal - AES on router, WPA2 Personal
on SB2 & fixed
> (192.168.) address - connects to network and fails
to connect to
> slimserver.
>
> Using WPA2 Personal - TKIP+AES on router, WPA2
Personal on SB2 & fixed
> (192.168.) address - fails to connect to network.
>
> Hope this is useful.
>
> Cheers,
> Grahame.
>
>
> GrahameP Wrote:
>
>>I tried both TKIP and AES, but got the same response
from the SB2 with
>>both of them. I am using a mainly Windows network
(XP SP2,
>>PocketPC2003 & 2003 SBS), so the authentication
solution needs to work
>>in this environment (the server is not on the
wireless side of the
>>network, so I suppose it doesn't count).
>>
>>Cheers,
>>Grahame.
>
>
>

--
___________________________________


Mark Lanctot
___________________________________

GrahameP
2006-01-10, 11:47
Hi Mark,

My last posting was sent before I saw your last reply.

I've just tried WPA-TKIP on the router and WPA Personal on the SB2 and it works fine now, so I've been able to upgrade the security on the wireless network at last. Thanks for your help.

Cheers,
Grahame.


Again, try WPA as opposed to WPA2.

--
___________________________________


Mark Lanctot
___________________________________

Mark Lanctot
2006-01-10, 16:59
Grahame:

Glad it works for you.

WEP is readily and easily crackable.

WPA is not, and TKIP encryption is strong, but not
as strong as AES encryption with WPA2. Therefore
the leap in security between WEP and WPA is huge,
the leap in security between WPA+TKIP and WPA2+AES
isn't nearly as large.

GrahameP wrote:
> Hi Mark,
>
> My last posting was sent before I saw your last
reply.
>
> I've just tried WPA-TKIP on the router and WPA
Personal on the SB2 and
> it works fine now, so I've been able to upgrade the
security on the
> wireless network at last. Thanks for your help.
>
> Cheers,
> Grahame.
>
> Mark Lanctot Wrote:
>
>>Again, try WPA as opposed to WPA2.
>>

--
___________________________________


Mark Lanctot
___________________________________

wei
2006-01-10, 17:42
It seems to be a firmware problem in the Linksys router. Its WPA2 does not seem to function. I tried it with WPA2 configured on an IBM laptop, a Nokia 770 tablet, and a Squeezebox. When WPA2 configured on these devices, there is no connectivity. However, if I keep WPA2 on the Linksys but switch these devices to WPA, Vola! Everything connects. If switching the Linksys to WPA, everything still works. So I speculate that WPA2 on the Linksys does not work.

Mark Lanctot
2006-01-10, 21:39
It would be interesting to see if 3rd party firmware
could do this. I'm on DD-WRT 23 final and it supports
WPA2+AES.

However, typing a 63-character passphrase into the SB3
is pretty trying, but perhaps my curiosity will get
the better of me.

It might reuse the passphrase when switching from WPA
to WPA2 though.

--- wei <wei.21g353 (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com>
wrote:

>
> It seems to be a firmware problem in the Linksys
> router. Its WPA2 does
> not seem to function. I tried it with WPA2
> configured on an IBM
> laptop, a Nokia 770 tablet, and a Squeezebox. When
> WPA2 configured on
> these devices, there is no connectivity. However,
> if I keep WPA2 on
> the Linksys but switch these devices to WPA, Vola!
> Everything connects.
> If switching the Linksys to WPA, everything still
> works. So I
> speculate that WPA2 on the Linksys does not work.
>
>
> --
> wei
>
------------------------------------------------------------------------
> wei's Profile:
> http://forums.slimdevices.com/member.php?userid=2414
> View this thread:
> http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=19906
>
>

dconry
2006-01-11, 08:00
I've seen the same behavior using various flavors of the HyperWRT project firmware on my WRT54G (v1). WPA-TKIP is the only combination that works with Squeezebox at present, though I have successfully tested the WPA2-AES combo with other WPA2 aware devices.